We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family day out!”

Blackpool Pleasure Beach
Ranked #9 of 79 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great family day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

You and your family will be treated like you are the first people the staff have seen all day, smiles, friendly and nothing a bother and brilliant with the children. Place is spotless. Rides will take you back 30 years or take you into the future! The older rides like wild mouse, you need to be a certain height, so my 8 year old daughter couldn't get on without an adult accompanying, but then she could on some of the 'white knuckle' rides- all about safety and the way children are secured in.
You will DEFINATELY get soaked to the skin on Valhalla, leave it to the last ride and go straight back home/hotel and change/take a change of clothes.... or invest in a cape!! Worth considering if you are a larger family £1.50 per cape mounts up.
Can be frustrating with a variety of heights in your children, have to stand and watch the fun with the smaller ones and take turns waiting if you are a couple with children. Can be boring if there is a hefty queue.
You will want to go back!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fran1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,348
    2,411
    1,067
    435
    518
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great to take the grnd children for the day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Not everyone likes the idea of paying prior to entrance but believe me, this is the best business decision ever made. the beach is now cleaner and safer than ever before and taking the grandchildren here for a day is the best value. Not too chuffed however about the queues or having to pay for dryers after being drenched in the water canon ride. That should be all in I feel. All that in the childrens' section is enough for most ages.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PnlpKln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Blackpool Pleasure Beach was fantastic fun. We had wristbands through Tesco rewards. We could go on all rides except the go-karts all day. This was a very family friendly place, the rides were great and all fairly close together so not too much walking, a variety of food was available at a reasonable price and queue's were short. We were able to go on the majority of rides as a family, our 5 year old loved it. We would definately go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great with Tesco Vouchers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We usually come to this park once a year during the summer holidays, we came this year in November for my daughters birthday! I always save my Tesco vouchers for this trip as saves so much money.... £9 in Tesco vouchers gives you 1 all day wristband for unlimited rides, great value as we wouldnt be able to afford to go without them! Park was quiet which we expected for the time of year and enjoyed, lovely day although extemely cold, make sure you wrap up very warm as the cold will ruin your day otherwise. A good number of extreme rides...... Tango Ice Blast, Infusion, Pepsi Max (Big One), Revolution Irn Bru, and a number of old favourites... The Grand National, Big Dipper, Steeple Chase. I did find the park looking a little bit tired and in need of a lick of paint and a bit of TLC, it seems to have been left to the elements a little too much, there wasnt much rubbish which was nice to see, although I didnt see many cleaners going around the park, ( I dont know if this is because we had been back to Florida and were comparing the parks to those of Seaworld, Universal etc, but that shouldnt be the case for neglect over here)?? Plenty of eateries, mostly outside, which wasnt good for winter trips.....Fish & chips, burgers, hotdogs which were eat outside, noodle bar was closed for winter clean! Coffee & sandwich bars where you can eat inside, and a Burger King which has lots of seats inside (not the best food though!! Car parks all around the perimeter of the theme park average price is £7 -10 for upto 24 hours. Pizza Hut 100yds outside of the theme park, left out of the gates. The kids had a fantastic day, enjoyed all the rides and is worth the money or vouchers! Would be nice to return next year and see some of the rides and huts brighter and cleaner!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank NessChesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Fallen giant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We live in blackpool but don't visit the pleasure beach much in last few years as they put £5 entry on gates to walk in.

Before then we used to walk through it quite regularly and have burger, beer and go on a few rides by purchasing tokens ,
But as we had guests staying we paid the £28 each and had day on the park

Wow oh wow has it declined since we last went in. Rides looked tired and in need of TLC, how much does a lick of paint cost? Staff look completely uninterested and couldn't give a flying fig if you had fun or not
Stalls all complete rip off and the food outlets are manned by people who can't cook.
Our friends were surprised how poor this whole attraction was and we were embarrassed on their behalf
Oh how a giant has fallen !

Helpful?
5 Thank BlackpoolStevieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackpool Pleasure Beach also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Blackpool Pleasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing