We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rip off if your not going on rides”

Blackpool Pleasure Beach
Ranked #8 of 80 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“rip off if your not going on rides”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband & I ( both pensioners ) went to go into the Pleasure Beach, just for a nostalgig walk round. But we were expected to pay for this...
How they expect people to pay if they arenot intending togo on rides is unbeliveable..No, they didnt get any money from us...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank nananx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,442
    2,439
    1,086
    439
    524
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Disapointed with Pleasure Beach, paid £20 for our 7yr old grandson to go on rides a lot of them he was not tall enough the ones he could go on we were queuing for half an hour or more Rhys really got fed up, so most of our day was spent in queues, next time we give the Pleasure Beach a miss and go on the rides on the piers, you can buy tickets that last for 2 days

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank vanessa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwfc1234
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“blackpool absolutly love it”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Ive read alot of the comments on here i have seen enough im sick of seeing things like expensivee waste of time, take it from someone who has been there every year since they were born this place is amazing, the rides are great and depsite alot of comments its cheap compared to places like drayton mannor and alton towers where you have ques a mile long. Its also better value for money than alot of theme parks because its open longer and the ques are not as long. Also you have to pay the 5 pound to get in because people used to cheat them out of money by buying one wristband between 4 or 5 people, can you really blame them for not wanting that to continue. I can honestly say that this is my favorate theme park in the uk!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank bfc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Book online/not quite what it says on the tin”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We went to Blackpool two weeks ago for a long weekend,after seeing 'Nicklodeon Land' advertised on t.v and our 3 year old getting excited about it we thought we'd give it a try,definitley book online!Much cheaper!It was £15 per person online whether an adult or child but it's not quite the 'land' it's made out to be,it's just a small section of the pleasure beach in the middle of everything else if i'd known this i'd have paid the extra £5 each to get full access to the park(online),there are around 12 rides but there are height restrictions so there were a couple that we couldn't take our daughter on,the others are very good though and themed with different characters,rides don't last long though so be prepared to queue for a short ride!Take some waterproofs aswell as there are a couple of water rides but they are great fun:-)Dora,Diego and spongebob are there but you have to have your photo taken with them,you don't have to buy,they are quite expensive!we paid £10 for 2 magnets with our photo's in but they are very weaj and fall off the fridge..All in all a good day esp if your little ones are Nick Jr fans,but i would def recommend spending the little extra for full access to get a full day out of it,a couple of people have moaned about the security but i found then friendly and it's nice to know you are safe!

Helpful?
Thank jodiejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Fantastic day but...”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Had a really good day here on Sunday. BUT! Before going we looked online to see what the opening times were. Saturday was 9.30am until 8pm. Sunday was 10am until 7pm. We decided to go on the Sunday. We got to the park about 11ish. Around 4pm we left to go and get some Sunday lunch knowing that we could go back and go on the rides we hadn't done afterwards. We got back to the park about 5.45pm thinking we had another hour and 15 minutes left. Went to go on a ride and got told the ride was closing. Then we were told ALL rides were closing at 6PM. If the website said they were closed from 6, we would of made sure we got on all the rides and gone for dinner afterwards :/

Another thing is..... If you buy tickets online with Madame Tussauds, Tower, Dungeons, Sealife (Or whatever pack to you pick), you skip all queues. We got to Pleasurebeach and were told to queue with everyone else.

The rides were good. Queues weren't bad for them. Not much of a wait.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Natasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blackpool Pleasure Beach also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Blackpool Pleasure Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing