We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abismal”

The Blackpool Tower
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Blackpool Tower Eye and solid-glass SKYWALK offer the best views across the North West of England from the top of the iconic Blackpool Tower.Begin your journey to the top with a visit to the incredible 4D cinema. Let the special sensory effects and incredible filming bring the history of the Blackpool Tower to life in front of your eyes.Then take a trip 380ft into the sky to the top of The Blackpool Tower and experience the thrilling SKYWALK. Walk out if you dare onto the five centimetre thick glass viewing platform, where you can look out into the Irish Sea and see the famous Blackpool Promenade below you.See the North West of England spread out before you with views over Bowland, up to the Lake District and on a clear day down to Liverpool and across to the Isle of Man from the top of the iconic Blackpool Tower.
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Abismal”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

After a 120 mile journey with our 5 year old Granddaughter we were so disappointed. The Tower was our first port of call with a very excited little girl looking forward to going to the top. We were told that it was closed until later in the year. So on to the trams - again disappointment as the trams advertised were the old style and double deckers. It seems that only the new ones run until later on in the year! Oh dear, where can we take an excited but disappointed little girl now? The Sea Life Centre - only to be told that the one thing she really wanted to see, the underwater tunnel - was closed for building work!! Amazingly there was no reduction in price, just a half price voucher for - guess when? LATER ON IN THE YEAR.
Our lasting impression of Blackpool - a dump. It's dirty, vomit stains on the pavements, dog mess everywhere and miserable people (probably we were guilty of that).
Will we return - NO.
Our Granddaughters report to Mummy and Daddy on the telephone - "Blackpool was disappointing, disappointing, disappointing!" Out of the mouths of babes...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rotersm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,062
    2,019
    908
    366
    278
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Below my expectation.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

Not as funny as the Scott Monument. 4D was not so interesting as I expected. I am especially disappointed by some staff in the souvenir shop. Bad attitude indeed! I don't know why she was there cuz she was standing in front of a cashier (not sure) and did nothing. No sign of politeness when answering my questions. She even gossiped about my nationality with her colleague. I really don't like it! And how come should we go through that unfriendly shop to exit! It's like we were forced to do something only benefited them! Yet we were not respected!

Helpful?
2 Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome views and fun 4D experience.”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We all liked the 4D experience and the glass floor at the top of the tower was a lot of fun. We also walked up the stairs at the top and spent a lot of time seeing the sights. You have to visit the tower if you're in Blackpool.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlech, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great fun :-)”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great British attraction for anyone from families to couples to solo travellers.
The first day we visited we couldn't go to the top of the tower as it was too windy. So on that day we had a walk around the lower part of the tower including the ballroom which was lovely. We didn't go into the ballroom itself but sat up in the seating area and watched the dancers which was nice. The beautiful old building was as much a sight to behold as the dancing - in fact more!
We also had a look at the gift shop which was just a generic attraction gift shop. Had some nice things available.
There is also a circus at the tower but we didn't visit that.
The following day we were able to take the lift to the top of the tower which was a better experience than it used to be - you now go through a very entertaining 4D experience on your way to the lift which was nice, and the lift operator is friendly and chatty on the way up the lift to the top of the tower. At the top it's possible to walk right around the glass enclosure, which also has a glass floor section - be brave and have a look down!
Then you're able to continue on up to the oustide platforms - another three outdoor floors I think it was until you reach the top one.
A great experience and a chance to take some good photos!
I would recommend this to anyone visiting Blackpool. Must say though, Blackpool itself isn't what it used to be!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelingChick30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little tired”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Could do with a bit of renovation. Rather dated now, really belongs in the 1960s. A pleasant enough day out but there are better things to do.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackpool Tower also viewed

 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to The Blackpool Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing