We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, old fashioned charm”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good quality, old fashioned charm”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I stayed here in February 2011 for just one night in a twin room. The room itself was spacious, very nice in a classic way, not massively modern but clean, spacious (much more than modern hotels) and with everything required. Check in was quick and efficient, parking was right outside (though charged out at £2.50 which was a little cheeky). Breakfast was a buffet with plenty of choice. Other reviews suggested the hotel was faded, I don't agree, it is certainly old fashioned but that adds to the charm of the place, history and class. The No 10 bar was cool, every British Prime Minister has drunk here, the only thing I would change is a wider choice of cocktails.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkMYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Mark, thank you so much for your comments, I'm really glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel, albeit only for 1 night. I agree with your sentiments on the No 10 Bar, it's a great space with so much history! If you like this side, ask next time for a showround of the Churchill Room and the Washington Suite - gorgeous rooms with so many stories to tell! And we've taken you up on your suggestion, we're introducing a new cocktail every week and as time goes on, we'll have a great selection. Look forward to seeing you when you're next in town. Best wishes, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    1,019
    566
    296
    175
See reviews for
796
1,414
91
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (806)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2011

We are a a four family, when we checked into our first room it was too small as it had child camp beds which were no good. We told the staff and they immediantly put us into another room on the third floor, which was no big deal because there was a lift although it was sometimes broken. The rooms were 2bedded so we had two, even better! They were enormous and had a sea veiw. The dining was delicous with loads of variety. The pool was relaxing. The hotel is right next to good attractions. Three peirs (have to be honest only one of them was good), pleasure beach, and blackpool tower
the only down point was there was a wedding on one day so there was hardly any parking
no wonder we extented our break!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer12350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for your kind comments and more so, for letting the team know your thoughts while you were at the hotel, as you pointed out, it's so important to tell us if things are not as you hoped, everyone's expectations are different and in almost all cases we can put things right. I smiled when I read that you'd extended your stay which is so great to hear! I hope you enjoyed all the sights and sounds Blackpool has to offer, and you will pop back later in the year to see the results of the towns stunning refurbishment works. With kindest regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Nice hotel with an obviously fantastic history, but our room was a part of the history. It felt old and outdated by more modern offerings. The corridors are tired, the room felt dingy due to the small (wooden sash style) window. the shower dribbled at you rather than refreshed you. However the bars and restaurant were great. Good food and great service on the evening, but on the downside, breakfast was chaotic, and gave the impression that the young team were under pressure. We were shown a table and sat there whilst they found someone to clean the breakfast left by the previous people. I would hope it was more an off-day than the norm, there was a large group in who were demanding! I would stay again, but request a lower roomed floor, overall i would recommend it

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HambletonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, we really apprecaite it and it helps us improve where we're going wrong. I was sorry to hear that you felt breakfast was chaotic - there was a weekend in January where we did have a very large group who all arrived at the same time unexpectedly and I suspect this was it. And you're right it is unusual! As aprt of Barcelo's investment some of our older rooms are about to benefit from new showers and shower screens and I beleive the room you're describing is one of these. We are also about to embark on an external redecoration project which will give the whole building facelift and includes repar and/or replacement of all windows. I hope you'll return in the future to see the fruits of our labour! Thanks again, with best wishes, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Hotel was lovely and enjoyed using the pool,gym and sauna. Staff were great, very helpful and friendly. Only complaint is that there was a lot of noise (air con unit and a disco) at night and even though it was close to 1 am when I went to bed it was still impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire6782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Claire, thanks so much for posting your thoughts on Trip Advisor, I'm so glad that youu enjoyed your hotel and only sorry that you could hear the disco in your room. We try always to allocate guests away from any parties and am so sorry that this was not the case on this occasion. I hope to get the opportunity of meeting you on a future visit, with kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

The bed was really comfortable and the desk staff were great. We had a terrible view of a manky car park but for what we paid didn't expect a sea view. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snoopnuttynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for your comments, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and that you got a great deal! Look forward to meeting you on a future occasion, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

we booked this hotel for a special new years eve, and were very disappointed, we booked in early as we were going to see a show, but obviously had not seen the room as it was still being cleaned. we arrived back at the hotel at 5pm, upon entering our room i was dismayed to see it was rather grim and very cold. we were duly given a heater by reception (not what i would expect from this standard of hotel) this did nothing to eleviate the problem. reception then asked someone to look at our heating who then began work in our room, it was an hour later when reception realised someone had 'accidently' switched the heating off for this part of the hotel. all in all this wasnt what we would expect from a 4 star hotel, i would say the hotel is overpriced and the average room like we had is grim. unless you are stopping in a suite i would save your money...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newleywed09Stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you very much for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, it's apprecaited and it really helps us to know when things go well and more importantly, when it doesn't. I'm so sorry to learn that you had some to-ing and fro-ing before we got this right but sincerely hope the room was in the end warm and cosy. I hope you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the show and hope that you will try us out again in the future - let me know when you're next planning a visit and I'll make the neccessary arrangements on your behalf. With kind regards and renewed apologies, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehuddstribe
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

this was our 3rd new year break at the imperial we stayed 4 nights from 30th dec,

Firstly I have to say the reception staff are wonderful..when we checked in 3 coaches had just arrived but check in was quick and easy. Did have a little prob with the room been very hot but Donna and Emma on reception sorted this out straight away where always friendly and could not do enough for you..Cant remember other reception staff names but they where just as good..

The pool area is by far the best in Blackpool, nice size pool hot tub sauna and steam room chairs/loungers to sit on gym didnt go in but have before and has everything you could want.

The palm court restaurant is nice breakfast has so much choice and is mostly self service we where told the hotel was quiet on our last morning so we selected cereal and our breakfast was brought out..you could still have as much as you wanted which is great as we had 3 kids with us and we dont let them fill there plate all at once they have to eat before getting more and when we asked for more breakfast if was brought straight out..I actually think its harder to serve breakfast this way and the staff did well..evening was a mix of carvery and waiter service and we had no problems what so ever food was always hot with plenty choice..for both adults and kids.

we attened the family party on new years eve which again was run by Tazz who is just fantastic he kept everyone entertained all night with a real mix of things going on from games and dances for the kids and then the adults..

I did have minor complaints and filled out the comment card on monday morning when we left..Tues afternoon I recieved a call from the manager whos talked over my comments and really did listen to what I had said and thanked me for raising them...

Tiny problems aside we loved our stay we where very well fed, watered and entertained over the 4 days..If you are thinking of visiting Blackpool and want a relaxing time visit the imperial please dont read the bad comments go with an open mind and im sure you will enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehuddstribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for popping your comments on the Trip Advisor website, I really do appreciate it. With kindest regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,038 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
478 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing