We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY OVERPRICED!!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed June 18, 2007

My wife and i stayed at The Imperial Hotel to attend a friends wedding which was held at the Imperial. We searched on the net for the cheapest price and were quite impressed with the £125 bed and breakfasy rate we found. (every other website quoted £150 plus) Our first impressions of the hotel from the front were that it is in serious need of a makeover. The paint is shabby and tired looking and it didnt look impressive. We were given room number 342. Our view over looked a petrol station which had been knocked down and is now used as an unofficial taxi rank- lots of noise during the night. The iron in the room didnt work however the staff quickly brought us another one to our room. The room is very very small however it looked quite newly decorated. The bathroom was the smallest we had ever seen. No room at all to move about and you had to wedge yourself onto the toilet as the bath and the wall left you the smallest gap to get through. All in all i would not stay at this hotel again. Very overpriced however staff were pleasant and the breakfast was good. Make sure you get bed and Breakfast rate as otherwise its £15.95 er person.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mince963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,295 - 3,301 of 3,403 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2007

We stayed for 2 nights in the Imperial and got the feeling that the hotel is living on it's past glories.

I specifically asked for a no smoking room and got allocated a smoking room. To be fair we were moved to better smelling room within a few minutes, however the bathroom was tiny which was a bit disappointing.

The spa treatments I had were lovely and Simone did a great job pampering me.

I agree with another reviewer around the prices in the bar - 2 cups of tea and a coke £6.50 ! Once we got the tea - I was orginally told in the bar that there was no tea. I did remind the barman that it was a hotel...

The room rate was reasonable, however breakfast, in line with other hotels was £13.50 so advise booking a B&B rate if possible.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McCloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2007

I had to stay for business. The room was good and access reasonable, but the dining room was cold, drafty and because it was Christmas poor selection of food and they were concentrating on their large parties, so this would be good at other times given that the staff were very helpful in the main, but I would not recommend it to a lone travellor in the festive season. Business facilities were good and reception staff very helpful. They had a portable ramp to the dining area and this was blocked by the disco people, and staff did not seem to be aware of access needs however this could have been due to the fact that several large gatherings were being held that evening.
Also in the morning the dining room was too smokey and stale smelling for my liking

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HMTcassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2007

I am writing to tell you how much we enjoyed our stay at the Paramount Imperial, Blackpool recently.
We could only stayed one night, and therefore took advantage of the special one night rate website offer which included free afternoon tea.
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
As we are Paramount Leisure Club members, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room, which was lovely.
We have stayed at some of their other hotels in the South, and they were also of the same high standard, in fact we are travelling to our daughter's wedding later this year, and have booked the family to stay at the Paramount at Brighton, taking advantage of their two and three night stay offer.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank elvisDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I would have marked this as excellent but it was let down by a shambles of a fire alarm in the early hours of the morning. It wasnt the fact that the alarm went off merely the handling thereon that let them down. They mustered everyone outside then called everyone back into the hotel to shout out room numbers!! thankfully there was no fire or we would have been in trouble - however we had the excitement of men in uniform and a free cuppa. All in all though the room was immaculate, the bathroom luxurious, the staff very friendly and the food scrumptious. The leisure facilities were A1 with a swimming pool, jaccuzzi, gym etc and were free to use even till 10pm. The hotel was quiet at night and very child friendly for a 4star. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank looby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed at the Imperial hotel for 4 nights (2 adults and 2 children). On arrival, the first thing that hits when you walk into the hotel is the stifling heat. At the best of times, I am quite a cold creature but the heat in the hotel and the room - even with the heat off was very uncomfortable. I found the hotel itself had a very oldy worldy feel to it and if you are into contempoary clean cut designs, stay well away from this hotel. Checking in and out was fine and the staff accomodated us with our early arrival and also let us keep our room on until the late afternoon on check out as we had a late flight. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy - a little on the small side for a family room but we made do. The prices in the hotel were extortionate - I thought the prices in Dublin for a drink were expensive but it was little in comparison to what the Imperial hotel charges. Also, as we had 2 children with us that were in buggies, we found accessability very difficult. There were steps to get into the hotel which we had to lift the buggies up and down. The lift was small and only allowed 1 buggy in so there was a lot of coming and going on that front. Overall, we had our share of problems but it was more to do with the hotel and not the staff. One thing I would like to point out is that my sister and her family were staying in the hotel and she had booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children (aged 12 and 13). She was allocated a double room with 2 camp beds and when she got it changed, at check out, the hotel charged her £40.00 per night. Needless to say, it was not a good experience for her but I will let her write her own review. It would take too long for me to write....

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CriticIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Booked this hotel threw the hotel website and found it to be cheaper than going threw a booking agency.

Paid just under £100 for a family room 2x adults 2xchildren for one night, breakfast was included thankfully! The room was very nice but it had BIG bay windows .. which the children thought were fascinating.. (sheltered lifes) luckily though they had locks on them.
The facilities were excellent :-) The swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and not to mention the steam room were very refreshing.
The food was great and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Baybeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
909 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,116 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $58 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing