We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine friendly staff, beautiful even with kids!!!”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed May 11, 2007

I would have marked this as excellent but it was let down by a shambles of a fire alarm in the early hours of the morning. It wasnt the fact that the alarm went off merely the handling thereon that let them down. They mustered everyone outside then called everyone back into the hotel to shout out room numbers!! thankfully there was no fire or we would have been in trouble - however we had the excitement of men in uniform and a free cuppa. All in all though the room was immaculate, the bathroom luxurious, the staff very friendly and the food scrumptious. The leisure facilities were A1 with a swimming pool, jaccuzzi, gym etc and were free to use even till 10pm. The hotel was quiet at night and very child friendly for a 4star. Would definately go again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank looby00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,259)
There are newer reviews for The Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,156 - 3,162 of 3,260 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2007

We stayed at the Imperial hotel for 4 nights (2 adults and 2 children). On arrival, the first thing that hits when you walk into the hotel is the stifling heat. At the best of times, I am quite a cold creature but the heat in the hotel and the room - even with the heat off was very uncomfortable. I found the hotel itself had a very oldy worldy feel to it and if you are into contempoary clean cut designs, stay well away from this hotel. Checking in and out was fine and the staff accomodated us with our early arrival and also let us keep our room on until the late afternoon on check out as we had a late flight. The staff were all very friendly and the rooms were clean and tidy - a little on the small side for a family room but we made do. The prices in the hotel were extortionate - I thought the prices in Dublin for a drink were expensive but it was little in comparison to what the Imperial hotel charges. Also, as we had 2 children with us that were in buggies, we found accessability very difficult. There were steps to get into the hotel which we had to lift the buggies up and down. The lift was small and only allowed 1 buggy in so there was a lot of coming and going on that front. Overall, we had our share of problems but it was more to do with the hotel and not the staff. One thing I would like to point out is that my sister and her family were staying in the hotel and she had booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children (aged 12 and 13). She was allocated a double room with 2 camp beds and when she got it changed, at check out, the hotel charged her £40.00 per night. Needless to say, it was not a good experience for her but I will let her write her own review. It would take too long for me to write....

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CriticIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

Booked this hotel threw the hotel website and found it to be cheaper than going threw a booking agency.

Paid just under £100 for a family room 2x adults 2xchildren for one night, breakfast was included thankfully! The room was very nice but it had BIG bay windows .. which the children thought were fascinating.. (sheltered lifes) luckily though they had locks on them.
The facilities were excellent :-) The swimming pool, Jacuzzi, and not to mention the steam room were very refreshing.
The food was great and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Baybeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

I've stayed here before about 5 years ago and found the place awful. The staff couldn't care less and the place needed a bomb spending on it, We had to stay overnight in Blackpool in March 2007 and it was a question of the devil you know. I was determined to hate the stay but they did their best to stop me. The greeting was professional and friendly in a non forced way. The room had obviously been upgraded since last I stayed and was clean and comfortable. We had a drink in the bar which could have been improved by having a non smoking policy but again the staff were excellent. Everytime we passed a member of staff they greeted us warmly and even opened doors for us. But..... we decided to have dinner in the hotel! We expected the worst but, a word to the chef, get out and get your own restaurant! A fantastic meal with excellent service. Beautifully presented and well cooked, the meal was the best hotel dinner I had eaten in years and I have experienced meals in the best! We couldn't believe it and then we looked around. When has anyone seen a full hotel restaurant? This one was full with outsiders!
The breakfast was also excellent and the staff were truly concerned you enjoyed it.
Still hate Blackpool but if I have to go, the Imperial is the one. Well done for turning it around.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank AUGUSTA19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2007

It was my birthday and my boyfriend wanted to treat me to a romantic weekend away in a nice hotel. After searchin and searching on the internet, we noticed The Imperial Hotel. It looked lovely on the web site, but we thought it was going to be too expensive. My boyfriend phoned the hotel direct and the receptionist was extremely helpful. He informed us of the 'Romantic Weekend' deal that they offered. It was very good all inclusive price. On arrival at the hotel, we were given a free upgrade to a superior room, which was beautiul (the bed was amazingly comfortable). There was a bottle of champagne, chocolates and a snuggly bath robe to indulge in too. The facilities of the hotel were good, though the only regret was that they didn't have any evening entertainment provided. All the staff in the hotel resteraunt were particularly friendly and courteous and the food was plentiful and yummy. We had breakfast in bed both mornings, included in the romantic package and it was piping hot. All in all we would highly recommend The Imperial Hotel and we will certainly be staying there ourselves again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank candyCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

My wife and i booked a [romantic weekend offer] at the Imperial to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We have been to the hotel once before, a couple of years ago,but were realy impressed by the inprovements.
The room we were allocated had been refurbished to a high standard whilst retaining the original features. i.e. coving and windows etc.
The food in the restaurant was excellent, but most impressive was the service from the staff at all levels thruought the hotel.
The standard of service in at reception, in the bar,and roomservice was helpful and friendly but in the restaurant ,outstanding. They made our stay quite special .
We will certainly be back.

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank guinness091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

on a return visit to the Imperial hotel,we were yet again reminded of why we staying in this beautiful impressive hotel. The stunning light fixtures and covings lead the way to lovely decorated peaceful sitting rooms that overlook the seafront where you can sit with a book and take afternoon tea and watch the world go by.
Our room was a bit on the small side but very clean with a lovely comfortable bed,and well heated with all we needed for a weekend leisure break although would of liked bigger for a longer stay. gym and pool facilities great . We booked a leisure package which included a 3 course evening meal as well as breakfast that you could personally choose from a huge choice with a real jolly chef to help! The restaurant itself is like something from a period drama, very elegant! Great head waitress who was very attentive,serving delicious HOT food with a lovely choice. Not blackpools biggest fan the hotel is situated minutes from the centre so is easy to forget in such an atmosphere where your actually staying!
Will definately return,great stay thanks to all hardworking staff.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank lifesabeachCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,102 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
497 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#34 of 73 in Blackpool
1,038 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $65 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing