We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tired but the staff make up for that. First room we had was inadequate, the bathroom was minute. They moved us without a problem and were very helpful to a much better room.
breakfast is great, bar staff good, nothing to complain about.... it IS Blackpool not Nice.

Room Tip: Do not settle for the pokey rooms on the 3rd floor, same price rooms vary in size and outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wrighty-Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

I was delighed to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels Collection.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

with kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,365 - 2,371 of 3,401 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is very grand from the outside and has have ample free parking, which is off and gives you the feeling it's safe and well lit of a evening.As other comments have stated the staff are very friendly and eager to please.the décor inside is that of a grand old building with lots of great features , such as the bar and many reception room a around the place. The bar has a great mosaic doomed roof and the high back chairs make you want to sit there in peace all afternoon.The room we stayed in was a upgraded sea view , which was a little dated but served us well ,great beds , clean , quite.The food was very good ,as we had breakfast and it was buffet with a good selection , and i ate to much to be honest it was that good. I would also like to say we had the Sunday carvery which was 5 courses and for 13:95 a steal .would i stay here again , for sure enjoyed it

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool and that you appreciated the charm of the building.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next planning a visit to the area.

with kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I booked the Imperial, via puma hotels' own website and was thoroughly pleased with the deal i received. A very good quality, (if a tad old fashioned), large family bedroom, double bed and two single beds, with an amazing sea view, on a dinner, bed and breakfast rate of under £100, in July!
The meal in the evening itself was worth staying here for. The choice from the children's menu is superb, although my two boys loved the range from the adult menu, settling on rib eye and sirloin steaks! Large portions, although charged children's prices, beautiful starters and desserts, and very high quality waiter service. Breakfast also was a delight, nothing was too much trouble for the catering staff. There was a teenager's room with up to date techno games and consoles, although we were too busy to try it out. We enjoyed a dip in the hotel pool and jacuzzi, a quick drink on the outdoor terrace in the sunshine, and would definitely use the Imperial again. Close proximity to both bus and tram stops, but far enough away from the 'hen/stag' end of the resort to be able to enjoy a proper family break. Give it a go.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

I was absolutely delighted to read your comments. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels Collection.

I was delighted that all my team looked after you well and you were able to enjoy the facilities we have on offer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial when you are next planning a visit to the area.

with kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked 3 nights at the hotel and we checked out after 2 as it was an inferno in the room due to the lack of air con.. ( apparently they cant have one as it is a listed building but during a heat wave it is hell to be anywhere in that place)
The staff at the reception and restaurant is very friendly and the kids room is brilliant.
The room itself was really spacious but lots of dogs air everywhere on the carpet and furniture.. we saw a few guests checking with dogs and some of the dogs pooed on the lobby carpet ( so you can imagine what they could do in the rooms.. dont walk barefoot)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back in case of a heatwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAETICOSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read that overall you had a pleasant stay with us, and my team looked after you well.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were booked in here via a coach trip to Blackpool.
Our room had a filthy bath looking like it had not been cleaned after its last use, a broken toilet seat, filthy net curtains hanging on dirty windows and a partly collapsing bed.

Maybe corporate/conference customers get better rooms and a better experience, but we found it very poor. Unfriendly and we felt we were treated like second-class guests.

A former 'posh' hotel now suffering from decay and neglect. We will never go there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your thoughts.

I was perturbed to read your comments, and would appreciate it if you could contact us with the issues, so that we may investigate further.

I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

Kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

a.gilmore@pumahotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay at the Imperial. It does have a sense of faded grandeur but we were happy with our room (amazing views, nice size for 3 of us + cot), it's opposite a tram stop, fab breakfast, play room for the kids, a pool and a gym, pleasant and helpful staff... What more could you ask for? We would stay again, despite it being a little bit 'old fashioned' in its decor.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments.

I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel, in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Here for a conference with about 150 others. Works well for a conference, my room is very good with sea views. The food is bit mass-produced but serving these numbers at one sitting is bound to deliver that. Bar prices very high, more than £4 for a beer!

The beach front location is very good - 10 minute walk to the North Pier.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison G, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

I was delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and the team looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel, in the not too distant future.

with kind regards

Alison Gilmore
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,114 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
908 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#18 of 73 in Blackpool
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $58 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing