We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Considering their claims on line, this must be the worst hotel in the North -1 Star.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Redditch UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Considering their claims on line, this must be the worst hotel in the North -1 Star.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My stay at this jokingly referred to as a 4 star hotel was as bad as it gets. From the unpleasant reception, to the dirty filthy room and the disgustingly filthy window I would not stay here if my life depended on it - please, if you read this, BOOK SOMEWHERE ELSE.
I expect the pathetic general manager will respond and thank me for my constructive comments and even say - but hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Does he NOT read these reviews and have a selection of auto responses? I wouldn't come back if they paid me. Like the rest of the town, dump.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bobandsash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest, I have just returned after a couple of years away and am very much looking forward to the challenge of managing this wonderful hotel once more. Sir, I was truly sorry to read your comments, especially as you have reviewed us so favourably on a previous stay. You have my assurance that I read every tripadvisor comment but wherever possible, prefer to speak to our guests directly, so that I can investigate exactly where we went wrong. I'm unsure as to whether you did speak to one of my team during your stay, but would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you personally, if you feel able.
With kindest regards, Alison, "new" GM, incidentally, my signature has not yet been updated, so is still appearing as Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    969
    518
    275
    161
See reviews for
740
1,322
78
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent 2 nights here, all the staff right from the start were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble.Breakfast was buffet style,plenty to choose and well cooked (sausages were brill). Room was clean and tidy, although could do with updating, but saying that, it is an old hotel with character. Bar prices were not cheap, but not over priced. Had a 2nd floor suite which was a good size, but a bit noisy on Saturday night due to a function downstairs untill about 1 am. Overall a great stay, and would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigSal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I've just returned to the Hotel after two years away, and am once again looking forward to the challenge of looking after this wonderful building. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your time with us, and sorry for you being disturbed by the noise from the function. We always allocate rooms away from any possible noise for guests not attending the function, but quite obviously on this occasion this was not the case. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next planning to visit Blackpool. Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night as we were in town to see Simple Minds at the Winter Gardens. Check-in was fine but on entering our room (216) we were disappointed to say the least. Dirty room with tatty furniture most of which was covered in a layer of dust. Drew back the net curtain to reveal a filthy windowsill on the inside with a nesting pigeon sitting on its young amidst piles of bird droppings on the outside which was all over the window as well. Bathroom was an utter disgrace, broken toilet seat, rusty taps not to mention discoloured silicone around the sink, bath and tiles which looked like a 5 year old had done it. The sheet on the bed hadn't even been put on properly and the base of the bed had stains of god knows what on it. We immediately went back to reception to ask for an upgrade and were given room 201 at no extra cost which is a damn good job too as this room wasn't much better. Again, filthy windows with piles of droppings everywhere but it didnt really spoil the view immediately below us of a skip containing 2 bed bases and mattresses. On a lighter note, the public areas are pleasant and we had a couple of drinks in the No. 10 bar which was nice. Our stomachs were rumbling but I'm sad to say that there was no way we'd consider eating at this hotel purely because of the state of the filthy rooms, we even left the next morning without having breakfast, we couldn't wait to get out. No way in a million years is this a 4 star hotel and we wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kerryjane104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here. The front desk staff was very friendly and allowed us to check in early. Our room had two twin beds. You have to go up a couple of steps to get to a dressing area and the bathroom. There is an electrical outlet in the dressing area. There is another electrical outlet near the desk area. There is not an electrical outlet next to the beds. We were not on the side with a view of the sea, instead we had a view of a roof. The breakfast was good. It was a buffet style and then they cook the hot items to order. There was plenty of parking available. We had a pleasant stay at the hotel.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TallyWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for leaving your review. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again when you are next planning a trip to the area. Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

just spent the weekend at the imperial hotel, on arrival we found the staff very helpful and friendly, our room 239 was clean comfy with a large bathroom with bath and shower, downside to this room is it is at the rear of the hotel on a corner and was very noisey at times, Breakfast was very good there was a vast choice to choose from both english and continental all of very good quality, I only have one small problem with this hotel is that they charge you for parking only a small charge £3.50 per day but in my opinion this is not necesery, We will return to this hotel again in the future all in all good value.

Room Tip: go for a sea view room quieter than at rear!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alkaz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. The reason for charging for the car park is to deter non residents from using the facility. I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here last month, only stayed the one evening had a lovely continental breakfast in the hotel reception on arrival and a fantastic evening meal in the restaurant. We had a sea view room on the first floor which was very comfy,

Room Tip: Try to book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and the team looked after you well. I've just returned to the Hotel after two years away, and am once again looking forward to the challenge of looking after this wonderful building. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel when you are next in the area. Kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great food as always, restaurant staff are the most friendliest & politest i have met so far.
Great choice at breakfast, maybe should have a little more for evening menu. No rush when eating & sometimes we take coffee in the lounge.
Love the leisure facilities. Didn't get chance to use the beauty rooms, couldn't find a sign with the times & days of opening, or if there is one, i missed it.

Room Tip: As you face the hotel, the rooms at the side have better sized bedrooms & bathrooms, this visit...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JANETK433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing