We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cliffs Hotel(Blackpool)
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kings Hotel(Blackpool)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$102
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,492)
Filter reviews
3,492 results
Traveler rating
1,258
1,110
613
315
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,258
1,110
613
315
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtsea viewsteam roomthe general managerleisure facilitieslovely hotelcar parktram stopevening mealshort breakbuffet stylefamily roomenjoyable staynorth piernight breaklovely roombreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,586 - 2,591 of 3,492 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. I had been promised an upgrade due to the debacle on my first visit but, my own fault, I left it too late to request one. The room was supposed to be a double - it was so small, the bed was more like a 4ft one and very uncomfortable, along with the pillows. Worst of all though was the fact that the radiator couldn't be switched on due to the fact the cable from the tv was over it and could not be moved! It did not really matter, with the room being so small and stuffy but what on earth will happen when someone DOES want the heating on??? Disgraceful for the price we paid.

No, never bothered to complain as last time I stayed, I was concerned there was water dripping from the ceiling. Reception kept telling me it was condensation and fobbing me off until I found a puddle of wateron the floor - they had to get us out of the room quickly as the person upstairs had left the bath overflowing! Nice move to a room with no heating and surrounded by scaffolding as it was being refurbed. Complained, got nowhere except promise of a free upgrade next time.

If we were not tied to having to stay at this hotel periodally, we wouldn't, and I would NOT recommend to anyone.

Shame for a majority of the staff who are wonderful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nylorac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear Guest, I'm truly embarrassed to read that you were unhappy with your room. I have just returned to the Imperial as General Manager 2 weeks ago and feel sure I could restore your faith in my hotel. I hope that you will consider contacting me personally to discuss your concerns directly, and I look forward to hearing from you. With kindest regards, Alison Gilmore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is an hotel which needs money spending to bring it up to speed. It was absolutely packed. The staff are brilliant and I wish the new GM all the best. We had a few little hiccups but they were resolved with good humour. The hotel is steeped in history but it badly needs remedial work. I hope they receive investment from Puma as it is obviously a very popular location. We hosted 12 people for our eldest's 21st in the restaurant and the food was very good. I've a couple of issues with the bill now I have scrutinised it, we've ended up with someone else's extras from the wedding party. I am confident it will be resolved.

Room Tip: Upgrade from standard and ask for a sea view. We stayed in The Churchill Suite.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MRSTOFFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Guest, thanks so much for your kind comments about the team here, I consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by people who truly care about our guests comfort and enjoyment. I'm delighted to be back in the seat here with a new company who love the Imperial as much as I do! I can assure you that both Puma and I will be doing our utmost to ensure we exceed our guests expectations. I will personally look into your bill query and very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial in the future. With kindest regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband booked this as a surprise birthday treat. it was a surprise but for all the wrong reasons. He expected a hotel of some standard given its 4 star rating and what we got was anything but. He did book a standard double - same as we have been booking for years and this was honestly the 1st time we have ever had such issues. The room in my mind was a single room with a double bed squeezed in. There was only a single wardrop and no drawers. Most of our clothes stayed in the case. The bathroom was so tiny that you could not even fully open the door and had to shuffle in sideways. To put the shower on you had to reach over the toilet. not easy to do for a small lady. whilst using the facilities I had a choice of scrapping my leg on the bath of touching the cold wall - honestly it was that small. The heating in the rooms is on a timmer - also something I had never came across before. I complained twice that my room was cold. heating only comes on at 5pm so dont expect to get cosy at this hotel in winter. We stayed for two nights and I honestly wanted to go home after one. The second night I awoke from sleep freezing. there was a very cold draught coming from the windows and no way to heat up the room. I ended up putting on socks and a jumper to keep warm. When i complained in the morning i was told i should have phoned down but what were they going to do at 2am. I had a romantic notion of waking up on my birthday, full of the joys but instead I was up at 6am , looking like a bag lady who slept rough. the hotel looks nice from the outside and is very pleasant inside. breakfast was also of a very good qulaity and was piping hot. If you do stay at this hotel avoid room 304. Pay extra and go for the upgrade or better still, stay somewhere else and just come here for breakfast.

Room Tip: avoid room 304 like the plague- pay extra to upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsACrolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for tripadvisor. I am truly sorry that you did not find the standard of accommodation met your expectation. All of our rooms are of differing shape and size and this is a characteristic of the Hotel the majority of our guests appreciate. I apologise that your birthday weekend was not the special occasion it should have been. I've just returned to this Hotel after two years away, and am looking forward to the challenge once more, of looking after this wonderful building. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Always been one of my favorite Blackpool hotels but have to agree with the others here, its looking tired these days and its slipped baldy since the Puma takeover, think of the Grand in Scarbourgh and you will get the idea.
How it has retained its 4 star status is beyond me and its certainly not worth the 150 per night they ask in season, best look for a late deal at around 60 quid and then its well worth considering.
We had breakfast at table 43 (I think) and the window frame was filthy, I could have written my name in the grime!
The one good thing about here is the staff who are superb and work hard to ensure a good stay but the parking charge leaves a sour taste.
We will probally stay at the Cliffs or Metropole next time we stay in Blackpool as this hotel is no longer worth the huge premium they charge over the others

Room Tip: One in the Cliffs or Metropole would be a good idea
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Boltonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my sincere apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. I have only just recently returned to the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool after a 2 year absence, but please be assured that the issues you have raised will be noted and rectified. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. However, I would be naive to think that we cannot and do not make mistakes. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I stayed here for one night B&B through booking.com. I got an advance purchase no refund booking for a double room for single use. The room was very basic and tiny and seemed like a half-mile trek from the lift. The bed wasn't firm and a bit uncomfortable. The bathroom was small and basic with a shower over bath. It took a while to get the right flow of hot and cold water from the shower and even then it was running hot and cold. There was a lot of noise from the long corridor; door slammers and what have you. One of the walls in the room was a plasterboard wall with the room next door. I was expecting a sea view room, but was given a room on the side of the hotel overlooking the guesthouses in the street opposite. I might as well have been in Timbuktu than Blackpool. There's no point in going to Blackpool if you don't get a room that has a sea view, but when I enquired at reception was informed that 'standard' rooms are all to the rear or side of the hotel. The hotel may have had its heyday in the years of the political conferences, but no more. It's drab and dated in my view. It's a bit like entering a timewarp from the 70's. It's overpriced for what you get and just how it got 4 stars is beyond me. Perhaps it's because they have 24-hour room service, but bear in mind there's a "tray charge" of £5 if you order from room service. The long corridor leading from reception to the restaurant is dull and poorly lit. Hardly an invitation. The whole place is sorely in need of updating and renovation in my view. They are living on past glories. Positive points: The staff are friendly if not business like. The hot buffet English breakfast was decent, but then you're paying for this in their hiked charges. Check in and check out was fast and efficient and simple enough. Car parking comes at a premium of £3.50 per day. I won't be staying there again and would choose the Hilton, which is 25 steps northward along the promenade.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, but these come at a premium.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kevinjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guest's comfort and enjoyment. However, I would be naive to think that we cannot and do not make mistakes. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews