We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's one of the best hotels in Blackpool that accepts pets - dogs”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed in that hotel 4 times because of a business trips
Each time for about 6 days I enjoyed the hotel over all.
Service at the reception is very good.very polite and helpful
It's spacious hotel but old style indeed .... Ok for uk
Bigger rooms than any other hotel in blackpool
I have been in a few hotels there
Breakfast is a buffet ... English style breakfast but I liked it
Every day was the same
Had fruits too
Rooms are big with huge windows but the windows do not open
Ac was not there looked like
I did not like the room service
Every year the same many ... Not much choice
And it was not delicious the tuna sandwich ....
Gym is small but ok
Pool also
They have tanning booth
I recommend the hotel
Suits are big and decor is like for the taste of the Queen of England -old fashion I can say

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the water it's much better feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delyan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are delighted that once again you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 3,311 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

This hotel really does pretend to be something that it can not achieve. The exterior to the hotel looks grand and welcoming, however inside the hotel portrays a very different image and persona. On first glance the hotel inside looks grand and its fixtures and fittings I am sure at one time in the past would upheld this level of grandeur. It is such a shame that the level of maintenance needed in this hotel does affect the feeling of it being grand and boarders on unkempt and tired. Having booked a premium room it was disappointing to find curtains hanging off the rail, a broken bed base, lamps not working, draughty windows, stains on fabrics, kettle dirty and needed immediate replacement. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and were able to rectify some of the problems without concern. We were most disappointed with breakfast. Again such a shame that the hotel uses such poor ingredients in their cooked breakfast menu, something I had not expected being a four star hotel. Having stayed at the Hilton Blackpool many times, breakfast is excellent and they use good quality products. In conclusion the stay was comfortable in tired surroundings. We would not stay here again purely on the basis that although the stay was bearable it does not offer what it states or attempts to achieve. The modest room price per night certainly does not reflect what is offered from this hotel. There are many other hotels in Blackpool that charge the similar rates yet offer so much more. Such a shame that this hotel can not be brought back to it's once level of splendour.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank michaelandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have already responded to your directly, and hopefully covered all your concerns. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend and was quite surprised having stayed in some of the world best hotels and also quite a few hotels in Blackpool, the imperial is steeped in English history and tradition, no tack or kiss me quick hats no Rab C Nesbit string vests, the architecture inside the building is very grandeur and the staff are as you would expect in a four star hotel, this hotel would stand up to many in any major city in the world, although a little more time spent on up keeping the maintenance a lick of paint on the windows or brasso on the extravagant chandeliers wouldn't go a miss. Also as a couple one small bottle of shampoo and small bar of soap between us for three days could be addressed. Overall though would stay again rather than anywhere else I've stayed in Blackpool

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheBoardmans11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time with us. With regards to the toiletries in the room, extra supplies are always available from either the housekeeping office or reception. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel, in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a pleasant surprise, had a good few bad experiences with Blackpool hotels over the years, but this was top drawer old school class, the foyer sets the tone for a truly memorable experience and the public bar and facilities do not disappoint either. very "posh" but not pretentious, friendly efficient staff, big room with high ceilings and modern facilities. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigGwynRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was delighted that the team looked after you well, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here from Sunday 6th January until Friday 11th January. I had originally only planned to stay for 2 nights just the Sunday and Monday. When I arrived at the Hotel reception I was greeted by the receptionist Louise with a big beautiful smile. She was extremly helpful and allocated me a seaview room and as soon as I saw the room I decided to extend my stay. The bathroom was a great size and very bright, the bed was very large and really comfortable and I had peaceful sleeps. The room also had two easy chairs in it and was very good to be able to complete my reports on my laptop. I can definatley stay there again and hopefully get a seaview room the next time around. I have to again give a special mention to Louise as she made my stay all the more pleasant with her wonderful,wonderful polite and helpful manners.

Room Tip: Obviously try to get a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinH001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool, part of the Puma Hotels collection. I was delighted to read that Louise looked after you well, and have personally passed your comments on to her. I am a proud Hotel Manager and consider myself very fortunate to be surrounded by a team who, I believe, genuinely care about our guests' comfort and enjoyment. I very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and were very disappointed with the quality of the room. The price of the room was over £150 per night for a twin room, which is great deal more than I would usually spend in the UK even in London. I assumed for this price and having seen photos of the exterior of the hotel I would be in for a real treat. The exterior of the hotel is quite impressive and the lobby is old fashioned but reasonably grand. The room itself was pretty terrible. The carpet was dirty and dusty. There were actually dust bunnies in the corners, which I've never even seen before! There were stains on the wall paper, the wallpaper was coming away around the radiator, the wooden window panes were mouldy and desperately needed to be replaced. The room was pokey with a dirty net curtain over the window which looked out over a brick wall. We actually laughed with disbelief when we saw the view. One saving grace was the bathroom, which was quite large and clean. The sheets were also clean. For the price I was completely shocked and felt totally ripped off. Thankfully the wedding I attended at the hotel was lovely and the ballroom was great. However, had I not been a guest at the wedding I would have been massively disturbed by the noise from the ballroom. My partner returned to the room earlier than me and said the music was so loud in the room the walls were shaking. We did not get to sleep until after the reception had finished at around 2AM. If I had not been a guest at the wedding I would have definitely complained. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, with great choices and the food was really good quality. The breakfast room looked out over the sea. I would not stay here again and would not recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pjbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. Firstly please accept my sincere apologies for the cleanliness issues in the bedroom, please be assured that I will pass your comments on to the housekeeping team. With regards to the noise issue in the room, we always allocate bedrooms away from any possible disturbance, if not attending the function, but on this occasion as you were with the wedding party, it was thought OK to allocate over the area. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Alison Gilmore, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was my mum's 70th birthday this week, so as a special treat we took her for a pamper day here with a groupon voucher for a girly spa day including manicure, pedicure and full use of the pool, Jacuzzi etc...

When we arrived, we were informed that one of the beauty therapists phoned in sick so we would have to go one after the other instead of both together, which was fine :) we also requested to not get the pedicure done so we were offered a better quality manicure instead which was really nice :)

The facilities look lovely, the changing rooms were so clean and tidy, the gym looked small but enough for what you'd need. The swimming pool area was lovely and tidy. It was the start of January so too cold for us to use this so we just had our nails done then went for a nice day in Blackpool, the hotel is right on the front of the beach so it is in an ideal location.

Our therapist was Debra and she was lovely, very easy to chat to and did a lovely job on our nails :) This place really made our stay special.

If we ever go to blackpool again we are likely to come back :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dramaqueen86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Thank you for your positive review. I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant day with us and the Beauty girls looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Imperial in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,172 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#40 of 73 in Blackpool
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,067 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $62 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing