We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$123
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Maples Hotel(Blackpool)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Cliffs Hotel(Blackpool)
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$92
ibis Styles
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kings Hotel(Blackpool)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$102
$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,490)
Filter reviews
3,492 results
Traveler rating
1,258
1,110
613
315
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,258
1,110
613
315
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe palm courtsea viewsteam roomthe general managerleisure facilitieslovely hotelcar parktram stopevening mealshort breakbuffet stylefamily roomenjoyable staynorth piernight breaklovely roombreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,652 - 2,657 of 3,492 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Imperial Hotel on Blackpool's north shore is an imposing building both outside and in: it is large; well situated overlooking the sea and a presented on a grand scale in its lobby, public rooms and restaurant. The staff are unfailingly friendly and helpful. However, the hotel is part of a chain that has recently changed ownership, so there are some glitches due to this. Our experience of the hotel reflected these glitches.

Our room, which was a deluxe double overlooking the sea, lacked the little touches of luxury that might be expected of a four star hotel. There was one accessible plug socket in the room, a disconnected mini bar and a large bathroom heated only by a smallish towel rail. There was little storage in the room and while it was large and did have a view of the sea, it was not of a high standard in its furnishing or decor. For example, while robes were provided, there were no hooks in the bathroom on which to hang them and there were not enough toiletries for my wife and myself. To be fair to the hotel, when we spoke to the duty manager we were provided with a four plug socket and extra toiletries. We were also given a discount on the cost of the room.

But we discovered from the general manager, when we resounded to the hotel's own survey, that the company owning the hotel has a policy of providing a minimum of refreshments, etc. on the hospitality trays in each room. One biscuit each, one sachet of hot chocolate, one bottle of water, etc. for the whole our two night stay, unless we requested more from reception. Not really a four star experience.

Food at the hotel is OK, but not spectacular. We had dinner included on our first evening, which was disappointingly a carvery, because the hotel was busy we were told, and this was well cooked, but unimaginative in its choices. The cost of wine was reasonable.

Overall the Imperial is an OK hotel, but charges four star prices (car parking extra) for a distinctly fewer star experience. There are plenty of hotels in Blackpool and I think that on our next trip my wife and I might try a different one.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view expect to pay over the odds for it.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for posting your review. I have noted the points you have raised, and obvioulsy already covered these from the online survey you completed. As already mentioned the hospitality trays are set according to company standard, but extra supplies are always available from either housekeeping or reception. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

So difficult to rate this. The hotel is old but to be fair relatively well kept up.

It's a Puma Hotel so pay an extra £20 for leisure membership and you get; upgraded room, free newspaper; no supplement for breakfast in room and checkout at 2pm. The late checkout IS worth the twenty quid.

We got upgraded to the Tower suite which was good, a little tired but CLEAN rooms and bathroom although it did smell a little musty. We booked as two adults and one child. The "upstairs" had a double bed with the "downstairs" sofa being a sofa bed. Unfortunately we had NO bedding on the sofa bed and as it was late when we discovered this.......so at midnight we found ourselves all climbing into the double!!!

Restaurant meal was disappointing. The menu looks pretty good but the main course was either overcooked or had been left to keep warm for far too long. Now, here's an annoyance which others might question the validity of............the waiter approached our table at the start of our meal and asked politely "..can I interest you in a bread roll?" ! He then proceeded to ask everyone if he could "INTEREST" them in a bread roll.....NO! Would I like one? YES but be interested in it....not really.

Breakfast, EXCELLENT.

SPA and Pool, good (made use during the extended check-out time)

Games Room, really NOT good; table tennis tables 2 table tennis balls 1, TT bats torn and broken, other equipment broken.

Conveniently located for the illuminations which is what we had come up to see.

We were treated well by staff who seemed willing to help.

Confused, I may come back !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viv k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I was pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. The Games room is a new feature for this year, and has proved a success with our younger guests. I have noted your comments about the waiter service, and will pass these on to the restaurant manager. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a 'Grand Old Lady' who needs a make over. Some of the staff on the front desk need replacing. The bedrooms are not good. To be honest I would not pay anymore that £30 for the rooms (most are over £100). Car parking is limited and bar very expensive

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cuthberrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments. I apologise that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. This is an old building with charcter, which is a feature the majority of our guests appreciate, but it is not to everyones taste. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed over the weekend at the end of August.. Not at all what I was expecting and not like a 4 star hotel!. We had booked 3 rooms for the whole family. As soon as we entered the reception, there was an overpowering alocohol smell. Hotel was very dated and the rooms smelt 'old'. Kids beds were placed near the window and as there was no double glazing, they were ice cold by morning. Furthermore, our room was the last one all the way on the 4th floor. A very long walk through narrow corridors with 3 kids, one as young as 6 months. Lift took absolutely ages to come and was usually very packed. Gettin down in time for breakfast was difficult! The hotel was very far from pleasure beach and other sites. However, breakfast was surprisingly very nice and staff were hospitable. Shame about the rest of the experience. i do not think I will be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms close to reception if travelling with kids!! Ask for double glazed windows..front facing are double glazed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AbzMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Imperial in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A Victorian Hotel - elegant well serviced and rooms well appointed. On seafront past the tower towards the ferry. Food excellent, tasty and well arranged. Speedily served..Menus either 2 or three course. Short walk to the Tower - illuminatisons very striking.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wreford-channelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews