We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Skegness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

reception staff poor need more training in customer service the room was not very good not enough light in room to read in bed asked for a bedside light and the girl on reception looked at me if i was crazy and told me not possible 4 star hotel and no bedside light television on the blink noisey with banging doors the whole place looks like it wants a good clean dirty brasses and paintwork had sunday lunch the waiter asked if it was good i said not really and he said think yourself lucky you didnt have to cook it.O M G i was just glad to get away

Room Tip: have a good look at the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 42alfie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my apologies that your break did not live up to expectation. Please be assured I will be speaking with the team in the restaurant. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,099
    996
    544
    288
    170
See reviews for
766
1,370
88
242
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (783)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

recentley stayed there for 3days,and what a great hotel,food ,staff top notch,we stayed in the churchill suite and wowowowowowow,great sea views,would def go back there......ps swimming pool and spa excellent

Room Tip: pay that little bit extra for a sea view suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbosurreySurreyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. Delighted that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your break with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, wales
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

OK so the hotel is old and there are some period features in the reception area which are worth seeing.
But our party had two bedrooms - one was OK as a bed to sleep in but the view was of a brick wall and the window was covered in pigeon droppings, the other room was in the attic with the wind whistling through the windows and smelt strongly of damp (described as a family room it was not very nice for the children to be put in that situation). Ghastly and expensive. Very poor value for money.
So be careful with your room choice as this hotel really is a joke. We would never stay here. There must be better in Blackpool....?

Room Tip: facing the sea but not top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barneybear66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am sorry that you felt let down by the room allocated. All our rooms are of differing shapes and sizes, which is a characteristic of the Hotel many of our guests appreciate. I am aware that we have a problem with the birds at the rear of the Hotel and am in the process of having spikes fitted to the window sills to try to alleviate the problem, and also having a new netting system installed. I do hope that you will consider re-visiting the future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I love staying at Imperial Hotel, Blackpool and have been staying here the last 12 years. I've stayed in a variety of rooms ranging from suites, seaview rooms, non-seaview rooms and single rooms, all are lovely and I particularly like the suites and seaview rooms as it's great being able to see the sea from your room and also see some of the illuminations when they are on! The breakfast is excellent and a good choice of cooked and also fruit selection and Danish pastries which are delicious! They do a lovely apple and cinnamon crumble with custard in the bar, it's delicious! The building itself is lovely and very charming with it's chandeliers and wide staircase and big reception area. Rooms are always lovely and clean. I like the location up north just a bit away from the busy centre but also handy for the Tower etc. Staff are very friendly, polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If you want a seaview room then some have more than one window which is good. All suites are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royaltraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. It is always a pleasure to welcome returning guests, and quite obviously you like Blackpool and the Hotel. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you like period hotels (Charles Dickens was a guest once), then the Imperial is for you. It's grand facade gives way to a lobby which is tastefully decorated with friendly reception staff. Our stay for was one night (to watch the World Firework Championships which were cancelled owing to high winds), so we booked into the restaurant for our evening meal. Staff were attentive and friendly, especially Judy who was our server. The food was good and reasonably priced, and the location is of the dining room is perfect, affording us a view over the sea and we watched as the sun set and the illuminations came on. Drinks in the Number 10 bar (so called as many Prime Ministers have drank there during party conferences) were a little expensive, but well worth it as again the staff are helpful and the atmosphere of the hotel is good. Room was a standard double, but this had ample room, and a good sized bath/shower with piping hot water all the time.

Room was quiet, apart from the noise of the howling wind outside, which is part of the fun of staying at Blackpool.

Buffet breakfast on Saturday morning was excellent, with a huge choice of fruit, cereals, pastries and traditional "full English" fare. Once again this is served in the restaurant, affording good views of the sea.

We didn't get chance to use the leisure facilities on this occasion, but we have used them in the past and they are good, with my bf especially liking the swimming pool. If swimming isn't for you and you prefer a brisk walk, then just across the road there is an expansive part of Blackpool's North Shore, allowing walks by the sea with good views of the North Pier and Tower.

Transport links are excellent with the hotel, there is a tram stop just across the road, and the new modern tram network is great to ride.

I'm already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaffle1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. What a shame the fireworks were cancelled, but that is Blackpool weather for you!. Delighted that despite this you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wybunbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for one night to walk through Illuminations and to relax for 24 hours. Hotel was lovely, very grand and plush inside, with fantastic staff. I've always wanted to stay at The Imperial - and wasn't disappointed with the stay. Hotel room was lovely - felt very luxurious. Value for money was brilliant - I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 239 had a side sea view without extra cost for a sea view room, and is at the end of the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to wrtie your review. I am so pleased that we lived up to expectation for you. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This magnificent old hotel once offered the well heeled guests all the opulence expected in those times. Today it has to compete with many other establishments and is obliged to offer low cost accommodation. Anyone can now stay to enjoy and admire, so take the time to wander around and see some of the huge delightful public rooms as I did.
Reception and all members of staff throughout the hotel offered an excellent friendly service.
Our bedroom was clean, comfortable and totally satisfactory in every respect.
Dinner was rather expensive and just about met our expectations. (Sadly today any type of attire may be worn in the dinning room and consequently any sense of occasion is lost).
Breakfast was satisfactory.

Room Tip: Any front facing room will give a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller635920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you took the time to explore some of the hidden gems of the Hotel. I have a good team behind me and glad they looked after you well. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards, Nick Testa, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 69 in Blackpool
987 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 69 in Blackpool
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing