We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here 31-7-11 one night only,booked a few hours before through hotel.com got breakfast included for the price others charge for a room.check in was fast room was very nice clean and spacious,breakfast was lovely sat watching the sea and food was hot and plenty full. Staff were accommodating and courteous.if you want a high end hotel to spoil your loved one check it out.Valentino

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valentino65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Valentino, thanks so much for posting your thoughts. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I have to agree with you, breakfast with a seaview is a great start to the morning! Thanks again for your comments, With kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,982 - 2,988 of 3,427 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We booked two rooms for three nights in July 2011. The hotel was very clean and the breakfast was excellent - well cooked and a goood selection. The Standard Twin was roomy and comfortable - it was adapted for disabled guests so there was probably more space than most Standard Rooms. The Superior Double was not as good as the Standard Room - it was not as big, the fixtures and fittings were 'tired' but the biggest issue with the rooom was it was hot and stuffy. That side of the hotel was south facing and soaked up the heat all day. The window could only open about 3 inches and made little difference. We hasd to buy a fan at a local store to help but even with it the room was still sticky and uncomfortable. To be fair when we complained we were given a £40 discount which helped.

Room Tip: Avoid south facing rooms in warm weather. Disabled adapted rooms have most space. Deluxe rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EddieJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Eddie, thanks for your comments and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your time in Blackpool. We are having new windows fitted as part of our current refurbishment which will make a difference to regulating ventillation. I hope to see you later in the year when you will be able to see the results of our refurbishment. With kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Had a fantastic stay for 2 nights, we were upgraded to a suite with sea view which was great, lots of space for us all. Our family 2 adults and 2 children really enjoyed our stay we used the pool and the breakfast was lovely. Location fine, a bit of a trek to the pier but we enjoy a walk and there are always the trams if you don't fancy walking, there is a stop right outside. The staff were really friendly and helpful we would definately stay again! Don't usually leave reviews but only got back today and we really enjoyed and felt compelled to write. As a travel agent we have stayed in many hotels and this was really lovely a traditional hotel with great staff and service and nice atmosphere, oh and a really comfy bed!!Thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colemanfamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Dear Guest, how lovely to hear from you and thank you so much for taking the time to pop your comments on so soon after you returned. You're right the suites are gorgeous! I hope you enjoyed Blackpool and all that the town is doing to enhance the promenade. It's nearly complete now and I hope you can return later in the year to see the comedy carpet and the full refurbishment which Merlin have done on the Tower! We look forward to seeing you again. With kind regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed at the Barcelo Imperial hotel for 3 nights when I took my 2 children (12 & 16) for a weekend in Blackpool. It is quite a large hotel and sits quite far along the North Promenade - it took us about 15 minutes to walk to the tower. There is also plenty car parking which is charged at £3.50 per night but if your lucky you may be able to park in one of the side streets free of charge.

We arrived at the hotel at 2.10pm (check-in from 2pm) to be told our room wasn't ready so we might aswell go out for the afternoon. After a 4 hour drive I really could have done with freshening up.

The room for a family of four was a bit cramped with a double bed, single bed and fold away Z bed. The paint was flaking off the window sills and there was some rust at the bottom of the taps, the smoke alarm was hanging off the ceiling and there was a hole on the floor inside the wardrobe.

The cleaners came in daily and made the beds, replenished the towel and the tea and coffee and emptied the bins but didn't do much else by the look of it. One of the kids leaked shower gel down the side of the bath and it stayed there for the full three days.

The breakfast was very nice on the first 2 days. It was a buffet and there was the usual cereals, meats and cheeses, fruits, pastries and cooked breakfast. However on the third day we were slightly later in going down due to packing ready to leave and we had to queue to get into the dining room. It was so busy that when you went for your choice of food it had run out and you had to wait a good few minutes for it to be replenished.

There was also a room service menu which had a £4 charge per tray. The menu itself was very expensive with salad sandwiches ranging from £6.50 - £8.50 each. Needless to say we didn't use this service.

There is a gym and indoor swimming pool in the hotel which you can use free during your stay. They are open from very early in the morning till 9pm/10pm at night. The staff there are lovely and the equipment is good.

The staff at this hotel were nice and always had a smile and a good morning for us. I got the hotel at 30% off for booking 3 nights so I feel it was relatively good value for money however if I had paid the full rate for it I would have been disappointed although most of the issues are cosmetic I would expect a higher standard for a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Fortunately we received an upgrade to a suite which was superb and for that alone our 3 night stay was memorable. The rate we paid for a family room was extremelly good value, especially for a four star one with leisure facilities which we used every day and no more than you would pay for a down trodden hotel in the town of which I've unfortunately stayed in a few! The staff were very good, especially those who turned over the room each morning, however the staff in the restaurant could have been a bit more attentive at breakfast. The hotel itself is traditional with plenty of character, like many hotels of this type it is in need of some renovation. I left them with feedback regarding the windows requiring replacing as the high winds experienced in Blackpool over the weekend resulted in a fair degree of noise in the room and was advised (by the exceptionally helpful Alison who is the General Manager) that they are currently undertaking an extensive refurbishment program totalling £800k and where all windows are being replaced. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I'd recommend that anyone planning a trip to Blackpool should check the Barcelo Imperial rates and try and grab yourself a bargain!!!

Room Tip: Request a room with a seaview of which there are many.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gibby9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Guest, thanks so much for writing a report on Trip Advisor, I appreciate all of the feedback and I'm delighted you had such a good time. I've shared your comments with the team today and am delighted the housekeeping ladies and gentelmenn helped make your stay special. Thanks once again, and I look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I have just arrived back from the Imperial Hotel Blackpool and would say overall thoroughly enjoyed our stay both in the Hotel and in Blackpool it'self, definately enhanced by the great location of the hotel.

Before I booked this hotel I read numerous reviews so was prepared for some of the challenges that we would perhaps face when we arrived but we never experienced as much negative as mentioned in some reviews.

Myself and my partner arrived at the hotel for a 4 night midweek break and the outside of the hotel (front) is very grand and so is the reception/lobby area. We were then served by a plesant receptionist whom dealt with us very efficiently and asked us if we required morning paper or wake up call but unfortunately didn't inform us of what time breakfast was or where it was etc as it was included in our room rate (anyway thats nit picking but a fact).

We had requested a sea view room and did not pay for one so when we arrived at the room on the fourth flour and discovered we had one, we were very pleased and what a view it was (Fantastic). The downside to this seaview room was the windows were infact screwed shut and were unable to open at all, the reason we did not complain and request a room change was because we were greatful for the seaview but the room was sweltering hot. The room itself was adequate with bathroom, tea/coffee making facilities, toileteries etc but the room decor/quality as far as a luxerious feel was a bit of a disapointment. I am more that aware that it is a traditional hotel and that modern features may not be pressent but windows opening is a must for a 4 star hotel of this stature.

The halls, dining room and bar were exactly what I was expecting from a hotel of this stature and were a pleasure to use. Breakfast was included in our room rate so we obviously used this service the four mornings and were more than happy with the selection of food on offer, if i were being picky the sausages were cheap/poor in quality but cooked well enough and on four occasions there was always atleast 1 item that people had to wait for as it run out, but overall staff were fantastic at breakfast and food was good, selection was great.

Please remember I am being a tad harsh and these problems particularly come to light because I work for the Hilton Group in a management capacity and we have similiar 4 star properties and unfortunatly this hotel in particular failed in some of the very basic points and would not be tolerated in any hilton hotel. The staff did not seem to have basic meeting or greeting skills as when you arrived in the hotel or departed reception staff would not even look up and aknowledge you, usualy it would be a good morning, evening etc.

Parking is also available at 3.50 per night which I feel is slighly unfair as surely if there are parking available and you are a guest then it should be free.

Finally, sorry to bore you but thought i would try and leave an unbiassed and honest review, we payed £208.00 for a 4 night stay and this hotel offered exceptional value for this money but the original price was apparently £500.00 which i would have been deeply disapointed in my stay if I had payed that amount as it would need to be improved vastly for this value to be achieved in future but well worth what we payed. Remember it all depends on what you pay for it but its easily worth the £200 - £240 for a 4 night stay even in the current state but no where near the £500.00 of the true value.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren_2011Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2011

Dear Guest, thank you for leaving your comments on Trip Advisor, I do appreciate all the feedback and can assure you it's discussed with the whole team. Well done on getting such a fantastic rate. You're right if you're flexible with your dates we've some great deals out there, most are on the internet, but if you're unsure, Vicki my Reservations Supervisor is wonderful and knows everything! Thanks again, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a large Hotel in the 'Grand Manner'. The facilities are excellent, the food good and the staff are a credit to the management, polite and attentive. There is something to be said to relax in in such a grand old Hotel.

Room Tip: At check in ask if there is an upgrade available for the room allocated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Dear Guest, so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you were here during the heatwave last week! It was wonderful! Thanks so much for leaving your comments, I do appreciate it Sir! With regards, Alison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,122 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#15 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $67 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing