We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless Service”
Review of The Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Imperial Hotel
Ranked #26 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Faultless Service”
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Staying for an entire week in one of the better rooms of the hotel we had high expectations.

This classic victorian hotel is full of character and nostalgia but with a modern twist. The facilities and common areas are of an excellent standard and the room we stayed in had a superb sea view on the front of the hotel. The only complaint is the council digging up the tram tracks outside, but we can't really blame the hotel for that now can we.

Overall it was the level of customer service that impressed us the most - from the General Manager down all the way everyone was focused on making sure we had a great time, and we did - in my experience no one is ever perfect its simply how they deal with the problems which sets them apart and they certainly excelled on that element and were on the ball.

To give one example - we missed dinner on the Wednesday evening and the local Indian was closed. The bar staff then set up a private dining area, laid silver service for just the four of us - I've never had a bar menu servered so well :-)

So if you are looking for a hotel with character, a hotel with a great view slightly away from the noise of the pleasure beach then you won't go far wrong with the Imperial Hotel, Blackpool - please pass on my best wishes to the staff.

Room Tip: Book early and be nice to them at check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manners958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks so much for your kind words, I'm delighted you had such a great time and that the team looked after you well. I've found out who was on the bar that night and have passed on your kind comments directly to Andrew and the boys! I'll be using your comments in our meeting tomorrow so thanks for making it a very happy one! Best wishes, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,084
    986
    537
    285
    168
See reviews for
758
1,357
83
237
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (774)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We came to The Imperial for a Round Table & Ladies Circle weekend. We thought the staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The newly trained waiters and waitresses on Saturday night were absolutely brilliant. We were very lucky with the weather, being able to sit on the terrace on Friday afternoon soaking up the sun. Yes the Hotel is a little tired in areas but the overall effect is majestic and the staff more than make up for it. We had a fantastic weekend, the food was superb and I would recommend it to all my friends. Many thanks

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harobed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest, I've mentioned in a few responses that we thoroughly enjoyed having your event at the hotel, so I'm delighted you felt the same. I wish you a great one in 2012, and we hope to have you back at some stage in the future! with kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We visited The Imperial in March for Sunday lunch in the Palm Court Restaurant . We were very impressed by the staff who were all very attentive and pleasant. We were celebrating a couple of family birthdays and couldn't have asked for better service. It made our day very enjoyable.

We called ahead to alert the staff that one of our party has Coeliac Disease and were very grateful that the lady taking the booking (Alison) took the time to call us back to assure us that this could be catered for by your chefs. This was confirmed by her colleague Hayley, who greeted us warmly on arrival and explained the variety of menu choices available, providing a delicious gluten free roll and gravy, which were much appreciated.

The meal was lovely, the waiting staff were very pleasant and the setting was beautiful. We all enjoyed ourselves and really appreciated the care and attention that we were shown.

It is often the case that, even with prior notice, venues don't cater too well for the gluten free diet. This was not the case at the Imperial and we would have no hesitation in returning and recommending the restaurant to our friends and fellow coeliacs!

Will be back soon...only sorry we don't live further away, then we could justify a stay over!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest, how lovely to read your comments about Sunday lunch last week! I've passed on your kind words to Alison and Hayley and am delighted that they looked after you so well. I look forward to meeting you and your family personally next time you're in for lunch. With sincere thanks and kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We stayed at the Imperial as part of a group, the hotel is tired and trading on past glories, quite obviously it was the destination hotel of its day and unfortunately its day was probably 30 or 40 years ago. Its four star rating seems generous. The staff are polite and encouragingly speak English but it is the detail that continually let this hotel down at every level over a long weekend.

Our room was tucked away on the fourth floor and probably not used very often [fair enough we were a very big group taking the whole hotel] but that does not excuse someone else’s hair and hairpin on the floor when we arrived, a kettle that was physically broken, a shower set on scalding, a broken room telephone and a room key that 50% of the time didn't work. The corridor doors bang. Incidentally a review below notes the electrical safety stickers on the lights with a comment from the manager that they would be removed "straight away" - still there in my room. The bed is good for a bad back, I didn't have one beofre my stay and I have now, and why do hotels provide three [poor quality] pillows for two guests in a double? Do management never stay in these rooms?

The fourth floor is accessed by its own lift that is clearly also used as the service lift, please please do not place laundry basket trolleys right outside the lift so you cannot get in or out of the lift. The used food / room service plate left next to lift on Saturday morning was still there at midnight.

On arrival we had arranged a package to be delivered and the front desk swore blind it wasn't there, turns out it had been delivered to the kitchen [!] but the kitchen hadn't sent it up to the desk, come on this is basic stuff.

On arrival no credit card imprint was taken so no drinks could be charged to the room, this wasn't just us but lots of people. We ordered room service [using a mobile via the hotel switchboard because the room phone was broken]. Burger and chips usually comes with mayo and tomato ketchup, not mustard, brown sauce and inexplicably tartare sauce - obviously no-one checked the tray before it left. There was then of course the problem of payment because no card had been pre authorised, the room service steward was a bit miffed that I wouldn’t let him walk away with my credit card to charge it at reception. Still not to worry because half an hour later the receptionist herself arrived [third visit after food delivery to get payment]. I'm booked into the hotel for a there night stay, they have my details and I'm being hassled, so I apologise if she got rather short shrift.

After authorising a credit card all was well until check out when it was cheerfully announced that everything had been charged to my card. No explanation of what had been charged to my card, no invoice, no check whether I wanted the card to be used [I prefer to pay cash on check out]. Poor

Finally we attended a gala dinner on the Saturday, as a veteran of probably 200 gala dinners this was amongst the worst. The tables were so close together the serving staff could not get through, there were a wholly inadequate number of serving staff, they were ill trained, each course arrived at tables haphazardly over a 5 to 10 minute period and plates were almost thrown on the table, one of my fellow diners narrowly avoided a gravy on the lap incident when the plate was half put on a napkin, fortunately the table cloth soaked it all up! The bread rolls had run out by the time they got to our table [I had to ask for them] - three rolls for ten diners? The whole meal took several hours to arrive, was badly served and was poor. A hotel of this quality should be able to deal with a 300+ person gala with ease. On my experience as a guest if you are interested in banqueting then avoid. The shining star was the drinks waitress working the front left hand corner who deserves much praise.

Breakfast is a redeeming feature although when I order tea I usually expect to get milk and not be told to go and get it myself from another table.

The cracks in service and the hotel [don't look up in the large function room or too hard on the outside] are very clear, it’s not a bad place to stay but they desperately need to get on top of the detail, building maintenance and customer service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steven_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to register your comments on Trip Advisor. I'd be naive to think that we cannot and do not make mistakes and will be discussing your comments about your experience in my Head of Department meeting tomorrow. Thank you again for your thorough review, with kindest regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Traditional hotel with loads of character & impressive architecture.Does need a re-furb although bearing in mind the size of the place it won't be cheap. Service is good & staff are friendly & courteous. Bedrooms are clean & tidy but sound proofing is not too good & so you can hear everything going on in the corridors particularly the squeaky floorboards.
My main gripe though was the smoked salmon sandwich off the bar menu. When you're being charged £9 you expect something better than a cheap margarine type spread which frankly tasted horrible.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caterpillar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for your time in leaving your thoughts on Trip Advisor, we are about to embark on a project which will see the whole of the outside of the building upgraded. The programme includes refurbishment and/or replacement of windows, re-pointing, painting and cleaning of all fixtures and brickwork. The hotel is going to look fabulous. I was sorry to hear the spread spoiled your enjoyment of your sandwich and have passed your comments onto my Head Chef. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on the spring 2011 offer so thought it was good value for money. The room overall was fine. The only downside to the room was the bathroom, very dated and nothing matched. The bath had lots of silicone around it which was old/discoloured. The breakfast was excellent with lots of choice. The staff were very attentive and polite. We had dinner one night and again it was just lovely. We used the leisure facilities whilst we were there. The spa was the best we have been in, very hot and the pool was nice and warm. Overall this hotel was great to stay in. I think the problem with The Imperial , although in some areas its very nice, in others it is in need of some updating and refurbishment.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carrotsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taknig the time to post your comments, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I've passed on your kind words to the restauant team. Barcelo is continuing with it's investment in the Imperial and we are about to embark on a refurbishment of the outside of the building. We are also starting work on 22 bathrooms this week. I look forward to meeting you personally next visit. Thank you, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Came to stay for one night at The Imperial - unfortunately was disappointed with what we got. Accepting the hotel cannot be liable for all of the traffic disruption in Blackpool we found the hotel no problem - but parking? If parking is limited then please do say.
Given our room key and up to the fourth floor - should have really asked to change but decided that for one night it would be OK but the room wasn't clean (especially the window sill) and the bathroom left a lot to be desired (broken tiles, lights not working).
A terrible night's sleep made worse by the constant banging of the fire door opening and closing behind my head!
This should be a hotel proud of its name. There is no excuse for lack of cleanliness or attention to small details.
There won't be a next time....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldblend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpoolimperial_gm, General Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor, I appreciate the feedback, and sincerely hope that you also spoke with one of my colleagues whilst you were here so that they could respond immediately. I consider myself lucky to be surrounded by a team who I believe genuinely care about our guests comfort and enjoyment but would be naive to think we cannot make mistakes. I will of course be investigating your comments as much as I can. I can assure you this is unusual, and I sincerely hope that you will try us out again at some point in the future. With kind regards, Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
2.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cliffs Hotel
The Cliffs Hotel
#22 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,867 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Property: The Imperial Hotel
Address: North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
#4 Luxury Hotel in Blackpool
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
#20 Family Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Imperial Hotel Blackpool dominates the North Promenade and was one of the first hotels the Victorians built in the new seaside resort of Blackpool.Everything Blackpool has to offer is right on your doorstep and it’s a great base for exploring the surrounding region. Venture out to discover unspoilt beaches on the Fylde Coast and Cumbria’s picturesque lakes and mountains.This stunning Victorian Blackpool hotel boasts 180 modern bedrooms, 9 of which are stunning suites with sea views, it also has an indoor pool and the No.10 bar, which has served drinks to many British Prime Ministers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Blackpool
Barcelo Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing