We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and friendly hotel”
Review of Melrose Hotel

Melrose Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melrose Hotel
Ranked #725 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice clean and friendly hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Nice hotel, very clean and well cared for. Owners are really friendly and accomodating, even let us leave our car at the hotel for a while after we had checked out. Situated between the pleasure beach and Blackpool Tower, it is pretty central and the sea front is only one street away. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howsoonisnow07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
21
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

As a veteran of many visits to Blackpool I've stayed in every sort of accomodation from the bigger chain hotel's to the truly grim Blackpool B&Bs of legend. How refreshing to find this hotel.

We were greeted warmly on arrival by Mick and Sara who took over the hotel just a few months ago and shown to our room.

With our four year old daughter with us, we booked a triple room which was excellent. Instead of the child bed being in the main room it was tucked away in a snug area just off the main room. Our little one loved it and it gives parents that little bit of privacy when the little one is asleep. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable.

The dining room is very pleasant and breakfast was available from 8.30-9.30. I'm pleased to report that the Melrose Hotel does black pudding with its Full English breakfast. Big thumbs up! Unfortunately, in the three days we were there it seemed that I was only guest who actually wanted it but I really appreciated it being on offer.

The bar is small and cosy with comfy sofas and it's this very cosiness that encourages interaction with other guests. It's very easy to get chatting with your fellow holiday makers which adds to the friendly ambience of the hotel.

So what makes The Melrose hotel stand out from the many other B&B hotels I've stayed at in Blackpool?

Location - So many hotels describe themselves as a stones throw from the beach but omit to mention that you'll need a medieval trebuchet to get the stone that far. The Melrose is literally less than sixty seconds walk to the sea front.

Free front of hotel parking. - As anyone who has stayed in Blackpool knows, parking is at a premium. Usually you end up paying a small fortune to park in one of the municipal car parks and carting your cases miles to your hotel or in back to back parking where several people have to be located to move their cars so you can get yours out. Not at the Melrose. There's a parking space for every room at the front of the hotel. A big plus!

Finally - Sara and Mick themselves. The perfect hosts. Happy to leave you to get on with your holiday if that's what you want but equally happy to spend time with you in the bar chatting. You won't find a nicer couple and in just the short time we were there we saw first hand how they go that extra mile for their guests and help with any problems they might have. On arrival my partner had mentioned to Sara that it was my birthday and we returned at the end of the day to find a bottle of champagne and two glasses propped up against our pillows, which was a lovely surprise. An elderly lady was staying there with her grandson and had travelled by coach to Blackpool and we learned that on hearing she was coming by bus, Mick had arranged to collect her and take her to the bus station on her day of departure at no cost to her. A guest arrived in the bar on our final evening having lost his wallet. In no time Mick and Sara had found the numbers he needed on the internet and made the hotel phone available to him to make the necessary phone calls.

It perhaps speaks for itself that in over 30 years of visiting Blackpool I've never stayed at the same place twice but will definitely be staying at The Melrose from now on. Don't search any further, just get booked up. You won't be disappointed.

NB. This review is for the Melrose Hotel, Alexandra Rd, Blackpool, not the Melrose Hotel on Hornby Rd. Don't confuse the two.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJPlowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I cannot belive the great hospitality of the hotel mick and sara was great i have never known hotel hosts as great as them and the rooms were great too i hope to be back again
10 out 10

Room Tip: book early dont just drop in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashmellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We wanted a nice place to stay while in Blackpool.
I had stayed here before, wasn't bad laste year.
The Melrose hotel is now under new management, so much better. Young couple taken over the management.
If you want a nice place to stay, then this is your place. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morpheus7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.9 mi away
Melrose Hotel
Melrose Hotel
#718 of 860 in Blackpool
12 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#755 of 860 in Blackpool
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Haven Guest House
Haven Guest House
#67 of 860 in Blackpool
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#5 of 860 in Blackpool
774 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wilton Hotel
Wilton Hotel
#151 of 860 in Blackpool
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holmlea
Holmlea
#104 of 860 in Blackpool
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose Hotel

Property: Melrose Hotel
Address: 52 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #725 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Melrose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing