We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An ok night we made the most of it”
Review of Sands Venue

Sands Venue
Ranked #22 of 80 things to do in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Sands Venue, Blackpool, offers a unique and sophisticated blend of first class live entertainment in Blackpool and top quality cuisine! This sensational gem located on Blackpool Promenade (just seconds from The Blackpool Tower) recreates the feel of the forties and fifties with starlit ceiling, candlelit tables and stylish décor. Taking you back to those wonderful variety nights with outstanding service and exquisite food. Prepared to be indulged! The Venue also boasts a wonderful Champagne Bar and Fine Dining Restaurant on the top floor featuring magnificent sea views and a special seafood and sushi bar! Also a licensed Wild West Diner on the ground floor.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
115 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“An ok night we made the most of it”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We went to sands last night for our works Xmas do and there was just 8 of us. The place is lovely and the layout is very good. Nice toilets etc. However the food was pretty average and typical catering for a mass market. I had garlic mushrooms (which were nice) but you cant go far woring with a few mushrroms on a bit of toast with garlic and butter); Turkey Dinner which was ok; Iced Lemon Parfait was nice. The band were good and got the party going on the second set it was an 80's band. However the big dissapointment was the lack of a DJ. Once the band finished we just had music playing and the party atmosphere diminished rapidly. It would be much better if there was a DJ that entertained you before and after the band to get the mood going and then keep the party going! Not sure we will be returning and from experience I have had a better night at Viva!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborinaBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    94
    35
    20
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Terrible queen tribute act, food even worse,customer service non existent.”
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

What a disappointment this tribute act was, I have seen better queen singers at a karaoke bar, too loud and out of tune, the food was diabolical, pre heated gunk, I have heard of good revues for the legends show, but this Queen show avoid at all costs. The drinks are extortionate, wine list prices are unreal, a half decent £6.99 bottle from a supermarket was being touted for over £30 and £85 bottle of Dom Perignon for £250.00 !!!!
GET REAL Sands Venue!!!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Needs to get there act in gear.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Booked for the Sands last night the food was o.k. but that's All, the Act again was o.k. if you don't mind musicians past there best in ill fitting 80s gear on entry we were told you cannot get drinks at the bar only at the table we found this to be slow but tried to be patience but noticed in the end that people were being served at the bar so we reverted to that, early on in the evening one of the staff dropped food on to the dance floor and despite the lead singer pointing it our several times nobody cleaned it up and as the evening went on it was spread around by the dancers we made the best of the evening because it cost us almost £100 to get in and drinks on top " doubt if we would return "

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant show but not great seating”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Legends show was superb. Elvis, Blues Brothers, Robbie and Adele were all brilliant. We booked seats on the first tier, with a meal before the show. The food was OK and the view of the stage was great, other than the fact that tables for two people are situated on a walkway, so staff and people going to and from the bar are passing in front of you all through the show, which is really annoying and distracting when you are trying to watch the artists. Also, there was a really noisy group quite close to us, who were laughing and talking loudly throughout, so perhaps staff need to be aware of this.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“LEGENDS 100% GREAT VALUE”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was my first time at the new venue. Brilliant place,. From booking seats online to leaving after the show was absolutely wonderful. The Show itself is outstanding and if you go watch out for the brilliant vocalist Leanne Fury she i superb.

Want a good night out then this is the show for you,

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaZtott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands Venue also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Sands Venue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing