We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great budget B&B”
Review of Franklyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franklyn Hotel
Ranked #253 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great budget B&B”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent value for money, great friendly hosts and lovely English breakfast. Recommended. Bar is great value for money. Shame the Wi-fi only really worked in the bedrooms and not in the bar area. Quiet location and parking was a bonus. We would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWFC-OWLS1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen w, Manager at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks for your review, we appreciate you taking time out to do so.

Alas my technical prowess does not cover wi-fi and can only apologize for the glitch.
All I can assume is, we had 17 kids in the night you stayed who were all using wi-fi so this may have had an effect on your daughters reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    31
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
25
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Got booked into this hotel literally within 2 hours of arrival. Phoned from Southwaite and got booked in. Very friendly staff who can't do enough for you. Can't wait to go back again. Highly recommended.
David, Elaine and Amy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Computerjunkie1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen w, Manager at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks for you review.
We are glad you had a good time and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Found the Franklyn by combining the cheapest B&B i could find in Blackpool with the best tripadvisor reviews.

If you are looking for a "budget" Bed and Breakfast, then the Franklyn is perfect - clean, safe and in a great "central" location. Tiook my son to visit the sea-life centre, tower, circus, piers and illuminations - the Franklyn could not be better placed for all.

We stayed in an en-suite family room, which was large, spotlessly clean, warm and with a comfortable bed.

The hosts were also great - welcoming, accomodating and providing a 1st class breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights to see the Illuminations its a lovely b&b, owners are very friendly and will do anything for you, very clean and breakfast perfect. Beds are very comfy Would definatly go again next year and stay longer. Thanks again from The Beetlestones :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulzNPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here on Thursday night (20 Sep) and it was all very last minute. We didn't end up arriving in Blackpool until 00:30 am and we were still greeted with a smille even at that time! We have a 17 month old and they even made sure that we didn't want them to provide us with a travel cot. Breakfast was a good standard and, again, there were a lot of friendly faces to greet us! The only problem we had was with the room price (last minute had messed up the confirmations so we thought it should have been less) and this was sorted very quickly, we were advised that they would take the pricing issue up with Last Minute so we were not out of pocket. Overall a very good 2* hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpacker1Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen w, Owner at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Sorry for the mix up with laterooms but everything was sorted out in the end.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your break at your forward destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Franklyn is a family run b&b.They offer an English breakfast to die for.Ian Karen and Paula are a lovely family who take time out for there guests.the rooms are clean and well kept.I have stayed at this hotel a number of times and have never been disappointed.It is in a good location 5 mins from the winter garden and central to the shops oh yeh and pubs.I would definately recommend...

Room Tip: make sure you get en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen w, Owner at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks Maz for your comments, we look forward to your pre -christmas shopping break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at your hotel. Great hospitality and breakfast was lovely. Would highly recommend the Franklyn and hope to be back in the near future. Again thank you very much for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karen w, Owner at Franklyn Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I hope next year doesn't fly around so quick because each time we see you the kids are grown up even more and I have an extra hole on my belt.
see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The Miramar
The Miramar
#622 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Delamere Hotel
The Delamere Hotel
#141 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Darfield Hotel
The Darfield Hotel
#540 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Charnley Gold Hotel
Charnley Gold Hotel
#80 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheers Hotel Blackpool
Cheers Hotel Blackpool
#288 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lawton Hotel
The Lawton Hotel
#262 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklyn Hotel

Property: Franklyn Hotel
Address: 33 Charnley Road | Central Blackpool, Blackpool FY1 4PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Franklyn Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franklyn Hotel, B&B, Guest House makes an ideal base for your break as we are ideally situated right in the centre of our world famous resort and within a couple of minutes walk from Blackpool's key attractions such as The Winter Gardens, The Tower Complex, Funny Girls, The Theatres and Shops. We are also only a short walk from the Promenade and central pier where trams and buses run every few minutes to whisk you off down to the Pleasure Beach. All at budget prices. All our rooms are equipped with TVs, hospitality tray offering Tea, Coffee and Hot Chocolate and are freshened on a daily basis. We now have 4 family rooms which can cater for up to 5 people. If you are looking for a budget break ring us for a cheap break. We even offer a 'Free' Train/Bus station pick up & drop off service. We have limited free parking but there is a secure car park next to us at a reasonable cost. Prices are from 2.50 for 2 hours £8.00 for 12 hours and £12.00 for 24 hours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Franklyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing