We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of The Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #742 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2013

John the landlord was friendly and he was available if needed. Rooms was clean and fresh. Couldn't work how to get the channels on the TV. Didn't appear to work. But overall a great place to stay. Very close to bars and coach drop off. We enjoyed our stay. Thanks John.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheridstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Thanks for your review,its appreciated...as for the tv,all you had to do was ask me,some people find them a bit ackward to work,come back,your welcome :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 86 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

Booked this hotel as a last min as the hotel I had been going to went into administration and we choose this hotel as I knew it was central to the bars.John the owner was a friendly and welcoming man he couldn't do enough for us .Breakfast was the best I have had in blackpool and as john hasn't had this hotel long he tried his hardest to make us welcome.thanks John we will be returning back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thanks Lynn....it was a pleasure having you & your 9 friends as guests,look forward to seeing you again next year....regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Came to this hotel at short notice. Thank you John for all your personal attention. The food was brilliant ..... the hotel was comfortable ..... John is a brilliant host, cannot do enough for you .... hotel is in a great location being close to all the main attractions and the beach. John only been in this hotel since July and it is going to cost a small fortune to make the hotel how he wants it. Only one complaint, room we had was a bit on the small side for two people. John and Jeanette

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0hn1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thank-you both (Jeanette & John ),i enjoyed having you both as guests & hope you return,regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Thankyou john for a brilliant stay, the food was great the rooms was very nice and spacious, we had no faults on anything. We will definitley be seeing you next year and recommened you to friends and family. Adrian and emma morse and kids

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniellemason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Adrian & Emma,you are the perfect family,it was a pleasure to have you all as guests.I look forward to your next visit...you are very welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

came to this hotel with 13 girls ..we had an amazing time .......hotel clean and comfortable ......breakfast nice and john the host was great .........defo be returning ...........its in the centre near coral island ..................this man cant do enough for you

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misssharon28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank-you for your response Sharon,couple of little hic-ups,but overall a pleasure to have you all as guests,come back anytime,there"s a welcome here for you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

“The hotel has an excellent location, within walking distance to the Town attractions. The room was very nice, comfortable and clean. Very good breakfast. The Landlord (John) was very friendly, helpful and efficient. It´s a place to go back. We must say that john has only been in this hotel since July and it is costing him a fortune after the last people let the place go down hill he is doing a great job good luck to him. we would go back anytime. Dave & Lynn.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dave53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dave & Lynn,i look forward to seeing you both next visit,you are a credit to the Isle of Man,thank-you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel owner was very attentive, and looked after us very well. Emptied bins daily. On our arrival we was asked what we would want for breakfast every day. The second day i changed my mind, and he didn't mind at all. Only criticisms would be the size of room. Very small considering there was two of us, and a baby. Also had very noisy neighbours upstairs, keeping us all awake all night. The hotel itself needs some changes, but manager said he was in proccess of doing this.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreCCo, Manager at The Shanklin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

I appreciate your honesty,the policy here is changing,over the winter this place is being transformed.....no more rowdy lads.My apprenticeship is over,come back,you and your family are the type of guests needed here,you"ll see the change...thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#49 of 73 in Blackpool
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
414 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#12 of 73 in Blackpool
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Stonehouse Hotel
Stonehouse Hotel
#691 of 861 in Blackpool
74 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#98 of 133 in Blackpool
149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#104 of 861 in Blackpool
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shanklin Hotel

Address: 17 Vance Road, Blackpool FY1 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #742 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $42 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Shanklin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel with a personal touch. Scots couple Tracy and Wullie make everyone feel at home. Close to the centre of town with all the attractions that Blackpool has to offer only 2 minutes away. Come as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your The Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing