We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”
Review of The Shanklin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Shanklin Hotel
Ranked #740 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived late on a Friday after an horrendous trip up the M6 to be told that they thought we had cancelled our booking! Fortunately they still had rooms waiting and after a complimentary (and very welcome!) drink in the bar we were sorted.

The rooms are basic and the en suites are very cosy!!

The breakfast was fab and set you up for the day. Unlimited toast and tea/coffee.

All in all good but could do with a good lick of paint and freshening up

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alizda174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    2
    6
    15
See reviews for
14
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We have to say for the price you get what you paid for and was very good, I have stopped in numerous places in blackpool and this is good, the hotel is in a prime location, car park not too far away, the hotels was clean, but the couple running it are leaving, shame as i think if they could they could make the place better. the room was small, but we wasnt stopping in blackpool to stop in our room, somewhere to sleep thats it. wehave a 10 month old son and they provided a cot for us and he slept well in it, the breakfast was good and plenty and they couldnt do enough for us, a nice little bar. only downside and it wasnt the owners fault was our neighbours.
other than that i would like to wish the couple running it all the best for the future

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petejknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Arrived Friday, earlier than expected, allowed to leave luggage, which was taken to our room for us. Had specifically requested lower floor due to health problems, Wullie and Tracy duly obliged. This was not your run of the mill bed and breakfast, we were made to feel like one of the family and nothing was too much trouble, Room was spacious,comfortable and spotless. Breakfast was also top class with service to match. Overall the position of the hotel ( virtually town centre ) the hospitality and the price means we are certain to return hopefully on many occasions,thanks Wullie and Tracy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian_and_Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We arrived at the shanklin on the thursday and straight away we was welcomed by the owners, Tracey and william. They made us feel so welcomed. we went the room and they had provided us with enough space in the room for our new born baby. the room was reall nice and it kept us warm. the breakfast in the morning are perfect and so filling. would recommend to anyone who is traveling to blackpool as this is a great place to stay. the hotel is based in a great location 2mins from the promoanade and seconds away from the tower and the action in blackpool. will be back again soon and we wish the owners all the best for the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyANDLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

this was our second time this year at Shanklin and our stay was every bit enjoyable as the first time.Wullie and Tracy are great hosts and they are always making sure you enjoy your stay .We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greysurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, Uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Myself, my two friends and my two children stayed here for weekend just gone and i honestly can't say enough good things about it. We were made to feel at home and i can assure you we did just that. We didn't feel like we had to be quiet and to be fair obviously we didn't take the micky either screaming or shouting, rooms are big enough with us having the family room which is a double bed, and a bunk bed with a double and a single on top. There is a spare bathroom on the landing which came in useful for us when getting ready to go out. The bar is well equiped and bargain prices from what is on offer in the pubs just round the corner. This hotel is in a prime location to all the pubs, just behind the tower. Breakfast was lovely with a choice of cereal, tea/coffee, fresh orange juice and a full english so all in all an excellent price for an over excellent weekend to remember. We are defo going back this year. I do just want to add that when we were checking out and upon us returning to our car to take to the hotel to collect our things, my car battery was dead as i had left my lights on (and i was sober at that point), but not to fear the management at the hotel came to our rescue - what a life saver :). If you want to ask any questions please email me and i will be happy to help.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoltonBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Shanklin is possibly the best place in Blackpool to stay. Its a hotel and a non-stop party rolled into one. The owners will treat you like family and no matter what you're after they can provide it. If you want to have a quiet night in then you can relax in one of their stunning bedrooms and if you want to party they will keep the bar open until the last person drops, not to mention Willy's amazing cocktails that you've got to try!!!!

My friends and me left our deposits there because we know we will be back =D

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan_Whiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Stonehouse Hotel
Stonehouse Hotel
#673 of 856 in Blackpool
70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#95 of 128 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#230 of 856 in Blackpool
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#210 of 856 in Blackpool
131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shanklin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shanklin Hotel

Property: The Shanklin Hotel
Address: 17 Vance Road, Blackpool FY1 4QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #740 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Shanklin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family run hotel with a personal touch. Scots couple Tracy and Wullie make everyone feel at home. Close to the centre of town with all the attractions that Blackpool has to offer only 2 minutes away. Come as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Shanklin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing