We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
28
20
10
5
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
20
10
5
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmoores hotelstayed hereplenty of storagevery pleasant staylocation is greatper nightfunny girlswould stay here againtoastweekend breakother guestsnothing too much troublelovely hotelcannot faultcooked breakfastiansuite
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 81 of 81 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Being a party of straight people, we were a bit alarmed to find this hotel was in the heart of the gay community.
No need, it was one of the best hotels we have stayed at, and we travel all over the country.
The hosts were great, the food excellent and the rooms delightful.
Straight, gay or transsexual, we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Having read the first review of the Moore's I had to add my comments.
A agree wholeheartedly that Iain and Terry work hard to give the Moore's a very welcoming feel.
I've stayed there numerous times and would say that it is definitely a great value place to stay.
For the trans-community, it is a god-send!
I, and my friends who visit Blackpool for our fun girls' nights out, stay at the Moores for its reasonable prices, yummy breakfasts, well-appointed rooms plus its convenient location - just a short totter from all the bars and restaurants (so no money wasted on taxis etc).
However, I do remember, when starting out as a t-girl, how nerve wracking the whole process was! Checking in can be embarrassing, then being dressed for meals, in the bar etc was even worse!
If that is you, then relax! At the Moores you can really be yourself, be dressed in the bar or in the lounge, take those photos etc, even if you are not up to venturing out...yet!!
Of course, there is a mixed clientele but the atmosphere is 100% respectful and welcoming.
So, if planning a t-visit to Blackpool, this hotel really does give you Moore!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michelle_tgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

The Moore's is a traditional B&B type building, with plenty of character. The rooms are comfortable and clean and it is excellent value for money.

The Moore's is located in the 'gay' area of Blackpool. While some hotels market themselves as 'gay friendly' and a few are specifically 'trans-friendly' or simply aimed at the 'straight' market, The Moore's stands out because it is simply 'everyone friendly'! As a crossdresser, on my first stay there, I rather nervously went down to their bar. While there I met a straight couple who visit The Moore's regularly. We got chatting and they took me out, it's that type of place. Friendly is the word that keeps coming back to mind when thinking about how to write this review. For example, I told them I was a t-girl when I booked, so Iain made sure there was a full length mirror available for me, it's little things like that, that make the difference. Incidentally, neither Terry or Iain crossdress.

From a crossdresser point of view, whether 'out and about' (Flying Handbag bar/night club literally two minutes walk away), just ready to test the water by going to the hotel bar or simply want to have some privacy and be left in your own room, Iain & Terry will go out of their way to make sure that you have a pleasant stay.

If you are offended by gay people or crossdressers, then you probably would be happier somewhere else. But if you are comfortable with a wide range of people, then this is a really nice place to stay, regardless of whether you are straight, gay or trans.

MY RATINGS: I've given ratings in terms of comparing 'like with like', that is to say other B&B type places that are in a similar price range. This is a very nice 'cheap & cheerful' place that compares extremely well with other establishments that are sometimes almost twice the price (I paid £25 per night B&B, evening meal extra). The rooms (for example) would receive a lower rating if being compared to a £100+ per night hotel so don't interpret a 5* rating as being equivalent to The Ritz!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KathAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Acceso al piso de las habitaciones por escalera.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews