We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW......Just like home from home.”
Review of Holmlea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holmlea
Ranked #148 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had a lovely stay here at Holmlea. The family room we stayed in had everything you could wish for and made our stay a really comfortable one. Andy and Irene...well what can I say? They both treat you like one of the family and are so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very cosy. Andy gave me a grand tour of all the rooms and every one of them are spotless. The breakfast in the morning was plentiful with a very good selection of different breakfasts all cooked fresh. Certainly set you up for the day. The location was great. Right near to everything but in a quiet location so we had a nice peaceful sleep. The children are spoilt by Andy and Irene and our little four year old never stopped eating because she got to hand pick her own cooked breakfast. I would highly recommend here to families. We had a fantastic stay. Can't wait to come again. A big thanks. Loved it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Spotlessly clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

What better compliment than to make you feel at home! That's what we want for all our guests.
You deserve to come away and feel special, welcomed, and looked after.
When Andrew found Holmlea earlier this year he thought it was perfect - exactly where families and couples want to be: somewhere ideally located but in the best part of Blackpool (well we think so!) the South Shore.
When you come here you are coming to our home, and every good host/ess wants their guests to have a fabulous time. And as parents (and now grandparents) we love the home-ly atmosphere you get when there are happy families in the house.
So spoiling just comes with the territory!
Come back for more!
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our first time to Blackpool with our young family. Slightly concerned as we have never stayed in a guest house before however we were met by Andy. A lovely warm welcome. The room was clean and comfortable. Lots of space for a travel cot. Breakfast lovely and relaxed with a warm atmosphere. Tea and toast offered frequently.Great rapport built with the kids from the owners.

Hope to visit next year. Thank you for a lovely stay and my birthday breakfast!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galajackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We love having happy families!
We love it even more when guests are new to the B&B experience and leave satisfied and without any hesitations about coming to see us again!
Having a relaxed breakfast where families can feel at ease and welcomed is so important to us, and it really is at the heart of what we do.
You don't need to wait for your birthday to come back!
Make it soon!
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I ended up staying here by default as my son was supposed to go but had been ill so I took his place. What a pleasant suprise and a lovely stay.
The new owners have worked hard to make this a great place to stay and they have achieved it.
The rooms are tastfully decorated with everything you could need, they are clean and comfortable too. We were really impressed as I especially wasn't too keen on staying in central Blackpool but the owners couldn't have made us more welcome or provided for us any better including great value for money.
Parking is an added a bonus as car parks are pricey.
I really hope this place takes off for them as it's a gem and they deserve success for all their efforts.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you have to book the Twin Room, it's spacious and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crabbie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Thank you! And thank you for taking a chance and trying us out!
We think Blackpool is brilliant - something for everyone, and the right start to staying here is the right accommodation for your needs.
So we're thrilled that we ticked all your boxes!
Your room is actually my favourite - I chose the furniture from my favourite place 'Pre-Loved' in Longridge. They are the tops at doing classy chabby chic/french style like we put in your room. And eventually I'd like every room to have individualised furniture like yours has (who knew a humble country chair could look so good in dove grey and professionally upholstered seat?).
So don't hesitate again - whether it's for a theatre break, a show, or just a couples-only weekend, come and see us soon!
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just back from a great stay at Holmlea. Have stayed in a few b&b's in Blackpool over the years and must say this one tops the list.
From the moment we arrived we received the warmest of welcomes. The room was great, plenty space and modern too.
The breakfast was fantastic, plenty choice and it was perfectly cooked.
Would highly recommend Holmlea to anyone thinking of staying.
Thanks once again & we will hopefully see you all again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Owner at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Oh my ! we're blushing but chuffed! We really want to be a 1st class B&B, and it's so exciting to hear that we're heading in the right direction!
Andrew takes great pride in feeding you well - freshly cooked, fresh ingredients, and served with a smile!
Nobody leaves our table hungry - it's against our religion!
And best of all - the friends you sent to us loved it too! Can't get better than that!
We're looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have just arrived back from a weekend staying at Holmlea and what can I say...it was fantastic, the owners were very family friendly, the rooms were beautiful. We have already booked for next year. Would highly recommend Holmlea as the ideal place to stay with children.

The breakfast was amazing too :)

Already looking forward to next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen_j85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Oh yes! Andrew will be so happy you love his breakfast (he does take great pride in them!). And having you coming back is such a great compliment!
We love welcoming families - it makes for such a lovely atmosphere.
Look out for all the extra improvements next year - we're improving the frontage (Holmlea is an elegant old lady but she's been neglected before we came), and we're improving facilities in 2 bathrooms, but better still, we're opening up the final 2 bedrooms as Family rooms for up to 5 children (and not a bunkbed in sight!).
We're looking forward to seeing you again!
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

we had never stayed in a bed /breakfast before and I can honestly say this was a good experience.Andy was very welcoming.The room was clean and the bed comfortable.The breakfast he cooked was lovely and we enjoyed our chats with Irene in the mornings.Holmlea is in a good position between the piers,just minutes from the beach front.Thankyou for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: andy let us view all rooms and they was all a good size and true to photos
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We love exceeding guests' expectations of B&Bs and Blackpool! Thank you so much for appreciating what we're trying to create here - a home-ly experience!
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

stayed here for 1 weekend for my daughters 11th birthday

The room was lovely and modern, very clean, comfy beds. When I told the hotel it was my daughters birthday they made it very special for her, going the extra mile and arranging things that I didnt expect

Very friendly people, lovely brekkie - even made my daughter a sausage sandwich as a take out as she wasnt hungry at breakfast time !

Amazing, especially considering the price !

Thanks again for making our break special - we will be back next year

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shazneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard S, Guest Relations Manager at Holmlea, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

We had great fun making it a special birthday! Fun is what we do, and fun is what we want you to have! We want our guests to feel special, because they are the centre of what we do. We love what we do and we hope it always shows!
We love having a reason to do fun stuff - see our Halloween picture on FB - and look out for our Christmas Turkey and Tinsel breaks - my creative juices are getting going already!
I mean what child doesn't enjoy crafty stuff and decorating; and what parent doesn't enjoy coming away knowing that their children are going to be welcomed? We did when ours were little and we want the same for our guests!
Come and see us soon!
Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#86 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,403 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#134 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmlea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmlea

Address: 21 Alexandra Road, Blackpool FY1 6BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $93 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holmlea 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackpool has a newly re-opened Guesthouse - and already with fab reviews! Look at our pictures and you'll see why - generous and well proportioned rooms, new beds, crisp white sheets, relaxing decor. No beds against walls here! And all our Superior Double rooms have Kingsize beds. Every room is ensuite. Even children get proper beds! You get free access to WiFi, and we give you free off road parking (but book quick - places go fast!)Book direct and get our best deals.Better still - No seasonal increases! And 2 Children under 12 go FREE ALL YEAR in our family rooms. Yes - you heard right. That's why we're quickly becoming very popular! Read our reviews on here, also on our Facebook page - Holmlea Guesthouse Blackpool, and you'll hear just how hard we work to give you what you want: great rooms, great value, and great customer care. At Holmlea you'll be well-fed, well-treated, and well cared for; because we want to make sure that you come back again and again and again..... We're small and family run, so you know you'll get our undivided attention. Re-opened by father and son - Andrew and Rick; they are passionate about making Holmlea a first class Blackpool B&B. They use their experience of running pubs, a restaurant, and a countryside Inn in Wales, as well as large Scout camps! Holmlea is an inviting and traditional Edwardian building, still retaining some of its original features; and located in one of the popular, quieter, and traditional holiday streets based in South Shore - ideally located between the Pleasure beach and Tower, and for the many attractions that range from the Opera House, the Winter Gardens, The Ice Shows, Concerts, the Illuminations ....The list goes on ! Then return and relax in comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms, or in our inviting lounge. All our rooms have ensuite facilities, TV, tea & coffee making facilities, plentiful towels, complementary toiletries, and a hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holmlea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing