We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE GYNWAY”
Review of The Gynway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Gynway
Ranked #503 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE GYNWAY”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

me and my partner stayed at the gynway for 2nights/3days on arrival both lynda and petra were very welcoming chatty and friendly.first and foremost our room was superb we were treat like family all the time the cooked breakfast the next morning was delicious we spent an eveing in the egyptian themed bar and again neither mysely or my partner have any complaints the hotel is in a great location a stone throw from beach and a 5 minute walk from north train station we took are dog with us and it is an ideal place to stay and relax. it was our first time there but it will not be our last..thankyou petra & lynda

Room Tip: the family room was superb and had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Owner at The Gynway, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi ,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and many thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here gore one night was not impressed was asked to pay when first got in didn't even see room. Was shown to the room straightway could smell smoke i don't smoke but my partner does but he went outside to smoke as we don't like smoking indoors the room was very drab needed new carpet ect.. Beds not very comfy not ensuit the shower i used needed cleaning. but as it was for one night we thought we could stick it out.price is cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazzlybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Owner at The Gynway, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I too am a non-smoker and even when someone has smoked outside, when they walk upstairs they leave a smokey trail which lasts for some time...... If you had spoken to us at the time we would have probably been able to move you to another room.
We have at this time renewed 5 of the 6 rooms including carpets, but of course beds are a personal choice, some like soft and some prefer hard and you must understand it is very difficult to please everybody.

We have changed our pay up front policy, but if you have a problem with the rooms we would like to know so that we have a chance to resolve the situation, rather than read it here after you have left.

Thank you for reading.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Situated on main road, so some traffic noise if you are at the front. Access to hotel was with five very steep steps,not suitable for elderly or disabled. Greeted by the ladies who run the hotel, payment had to be made upfront, before seeing room.
Room 4 was up 3 flights of stairs and was situated in the attic.The window was that high up, I couldn't see out of it being 5'2'', this gave a very claustrophobic atmosphere. Very shabby room, bedding was all very faded as were the once pink towels, no bath towels.None of the furniture matched and the bedside tables were dirty and stained. Smoking allowed in all bedrooms, so strong smell of cigarettes all the time, not nice for non smokers.
Rooms not en suite, separate toilet and showers dated and tired, but reasonably clean.
Breakfast not so wonderful, cheapest ingredients, very greasy,very minimal. The weakest tea possible,cheapest quality.
All in all a very dated and old fashioned guest house, needing a lot of updating to compete with better quality rooms in Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dentrav63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Owner at The Gynway, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Some traffic noise is unavoidable as we are on a main road in a busy town even, with our double glazing, and yes we do have step up too front down, which can be seen clearly on our picture.
We do not though advertise ourselves as disabled friendly, as we also do not have any ground floor bedrooms rooms either.
As for the room, I think you are referring to our room 5 which has slightly higher windows being in a room that was part of the attic before being converted some years ago.
This is the first time we have had complaints about the window height, which without major construction work would be hard to alter.
The room has since been revamped including carpet and towels to match new decor [although the pink towels were actually that colour when purchased] The bedside cabinets did have small marks [caused by previous guests but have also been replaced.

Our breakfasts…
We purchase our bacon, eggs and sausages from a very reputable high quality butchers who also serve some of the larger hotel in the local area, the bacon and sausages are grilled and the eggs are fried in frying pan with a minimum of rapeseed oil. Plus you do have the choice from our menu [it is not a set meal]. Most of our guests find this an ample amount, and of you could have had asked for more.....
The tea we use come from The Garden Tea Company based in Preston and provide quality products.
Thank you for taking the time to read
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

On entering this hotel we was asked to pay first if we had gone to the room first we would have left. The room was dirty hairs everywhere IN the bed and drawers . The shower was filthy and also full of hairs . We was awoke early in morning to someone kicking the car mirror off.
We paid for 2 days but left that morning . worst place we have ever stayed

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lindal699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra C, Owner at The Gynway, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Firstly, if you had talked to us, we could have either re-serviced the room or moved you to another or, re-in versed you your money.

We were sorry that someone had damaged your vehicle, but you cannot put this down to our Guest House and hold us responsible.

And as you have only seen one of our rooms, to say there are no good rooms seems a bit hard.

I understand you leaving upset but feel your review is based on that anger...... hope your vehicle was not to badly damaged
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.6 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,973 reviews
1.7 mi away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#219 of 858 in Blackpool
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#314 of 858 in Blackpool
119 reviews
2.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#239 of 858 in Blackpool
146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gynway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gynway

Property: The Gynway
Address: 205 Dickson Road, Blackpool FY1 2HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been updating our rooms to improve our standard and along with this we have taken the step to make all of our bedrooms Non Smoking... We do have a nice seating area to the rear of our property in which smoking is allowed, open most days..... We are very homely and comfortable and have many returnees who come back again and again, a lot of these do not use or post on Tripadvisor. So why not give us a try, families and pets are more than welcome here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing