We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay will stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #66 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
A TripAdvisor Member
“great stay will stay again”
Reviewed August 31, 2005

just got back from the norbreck castle hotel, what a fab weekend we all had
the food albeit basic was hot and plentiful, breakfast far too much to choose from and the room just been redecorated and re furnished. we paid £40.00 per person dinner bed and breakfast what a bargain the hotel was huge though and i would say if you dont like kids then avoid the school holidays. We went for a girls weekend and had an absolute fab time
well done norbreck

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    812
    1,160
    907
    2,444
See reviews for
1,793
1,883
135
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,520)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2005

Do not stay here, it looks like a prison from the front, it stunk of smoke and stale beer on entrance, and the staff were very poor. We booked through Last Minuite.com and got it cheep, and I can see why. We overlooked the aircondioning units at the back, but we expected not to get a sea view due to the price we paid. The room was very poor, damaged wall paper, dirty floors and broken units. The bathroom was just horrible, dirty towels and brown water from the taps.

It is miles away from outdated Blackpool. So we had to put up with the onsite entertainment in the evening which was OK, the lady that tried to do her best singing modern songs was boo-ed off, and Managment were called to take her off. We sat and played cards and had a few vodkas, we are only 26-30 but we had to do something together, and the room was to horrible for anything else!!

The Pleasure Beach was great and well worth a visit.

Not what I expected for a romantic weekend for two!

  • Stayed April 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 01OctWedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 19, 2005

I found the Norbreck hotel to be very welcoming with great staff. I enjoyed every part of my stay from the cinema to the food. Although during meal times i found that the heat was overbearing, the food was always of very high standard and i still cannot see how they managed to serve food of this standard on a budget. My only other complaint is of the disabled/wheelchaire/prams or luggage access. I found myself helping numerous people with their luggage,prams of wheelchairs. the access for these could be made easier to allow for a better stay. i give this hotel 8/10, because there is always room for improvement, and i just have to add that the entertainment could be better but i would DEFINATELY go back again yearly and witness the hotel's changes.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 18, 2005

The Norbreck castle hotel was fantastic! We liked magic malky and aunty Christine (childrens entertainers) who did their show every evening between 7.30pm and 8.30pm. Magic malky was very funny. The Norbreck castle hotel was one of the best hotels in Blackpool. We found out that the Norbreck castle hotel was the biggest hotel in Blackpool. We all enjoyed our week at the Norbreck castle hotel, good food, excellent rooms, brilliant facilities. We would like to stay their again!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2005

Stayed at the Norbreck Castle for two nights (15th & 16th) with my husband and stepson.
Firstly....it truly is 3 miles from the Blackpool Tower, but it seems a hell of a lot longer when you are driving along at 30 mph. There is no bars or shops nearby, so at night we found we just stayed in the hotel where the entertainment is geared towards the kids for about an hour, then it seems to be for the old folk (nothing for teens to 40s).
Our room was small, cramped, very hot and we had a wonderful view of what I think was the large boiler-house at the back, along with all the rubbish lying around. The rooms were very outdated and the bathroom was old, bland and dirty floored.
The walls may be paper-thin....but it's the noise from the floors above you that is the worst. Both mornings we were woken-up just after 6am by an herd of elephants and intermittent 'plumbing' noises. Couple this with the fact that the room was roasting even with the windows open, we were lucky to get about 5 hours sleep a night!
Worst of all was on our last night when around 00:45am we were subject to this large Irish family running up and down the corridor, knocking on and slamming doors....and shouting at each other! I opened the door and asked this girl, who looked about 15 with a fag in her mouth to "please keep the noise down", but just got a funny look. After another 5 mins of them carrying on and arguing with the woman in the next room (who also told them to keep quiet), we phoned reception to complain. 10 mins later we heard security outside their room on his walkie-talkie mentioning their room number (but he diidn't knock at their door!). They obviously heard him as they went quiet, but 5 mins later the door was opening and closing again and we could still hear a little boy shouting. After about half hour it quietened down a bit.
As I write this I am exhausted through lack of sleep for one thing.

My stepson had his own room next door and said he couldn't sleep for the noise (and he can sleep for britain!).

The other end of the hotel (right at reception) looks nice, so they must be refurbishing right to left.

On a plus point....The food was very good for the price and you could eat as much as you like.

But overall I couldn't recommend the place and will definitely not stay there again. Next time we are going to go to a smaller family run hotel closer to the centre, where we hope there will be a bit of pride in their establishment and respect from a smaller number of guests.

p.s. If you are planning to go to the Pleasure Beach, log on to the Lancashire Tourism website where you can download a voucher that gets you 3 wristbands for the price of 2....a saving of £30 for a party of three people over 12yrs old.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank miacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotchland
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2005

Just back from 5 nights stay at the Norbreck. The hotel is ok but does have an odour throughout. We were miles from the reception area and with having only one lift in the hotel made getting to and from our room a bit of a safari.
I had 3 kids with me so we took in the children's evening entertainment at 7:30. Hilarious. The women compere touts herself as a ventriliquist - I couldn't stop laughing "goys and girls"! Will someone tell her to stop singing "all things gright and gootiful' please!
Magic Malky is UK Children's Entertainer of the Year - yeah right!

The Adult entertainment at night is pretty awful - very Phoenix Nights!

To be honest Blackpool itself is pretty rough.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jockthecock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 13, 2005

first of all ,classing this hotel in Blackpool is very loose.approx 3 miles past the Tower,it is closer to Fleetwood.
Check-in was at 3.30...try 6.30.
The rooms are very old fashioned in appearence.furniture all deep red mahogany.our room had lights hanging off walls,handles on drawers loosely fitted and a lovely view of the lane at the rear of the hotel.
The set-up for booking a seat at the restaurant is complicated.When asking in the morning what the menu would be,I was told to check later.But to guarantee a seat I would have to book now.My wife is a vegetarian,so prior knowledge before I booked would have been helpful.
The entertainment is ok.On our break they had a childrens entertainer between 7.30 and 8.30 in one part of the hotel,then told to move to another hall in the hotel where the rest of the entertainment took place.This involved 'child' friendly disco music and cabaret acts.
The breakfast that was served was excellent.This was a buffet service with plenty on offer and despite the numbers,the staff coped superbly with keeping everthing topped up.
To end, I would say that for the money (£198 for 2 nights), the 'Norbreck' is overpriced for what it offers.It reminds me of what Blackpool would have been like in the 50s and 60s and probably is happy to cater for that market.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,973 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,138 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 69 in Blackpool
3,543 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Hotel and Spa
Rose Hotel and Spa
#61 of 69 in Blackpool
12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 69 in Blackpool
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 69 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing