We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant and affordable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
A TripAdvisor Member
“pleasant and affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2004

We've just got back from 3 nights at norbreck castle and after reading the reviews i was dreading it. However, i had no complaints once we arrived. The room was abit grim but clean and the bathroom was very nice.The entertainment could have been better as im only 18 so it didn't really appeal to me but the breakfast was excellent. Would definately go again!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    782
    1,109
    859
    2,336
See reviews for
1,698
1,812
116
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2004

Okay, I went here last weekend (02/10/04) for a couple of nights and was initially horrified to read the posts about it here. However, to be fair it's not really as bad as some people make out. Not great, not terrible either.
Here's my thoughts...
the outside appearance is 'weathered' but then where isn't in Blackpool?
I suspect that the hotel is geared up for coach loads of people as a queue has to be formed for most things depending if your timing is right or not. The staff are friendly and as helpful as possible.
The rooms in the far left wing are old and a bit worn but clean and functional. We complained as we were led to believe from the photos available that we had a refurbished room (which are very nice). Don't be fooled. We got a substantial refund which made the rooms acceptable in my opinion. The damp smell that people talk about is there in certain corridors from time to time.
Meal times are a little strange and can be best described as school meals. The waiters are helpful but you have to queue and serve yourself. The surroundings are nice and the food, though crap, is served up in plentiful amounts.. which is nice for the human dustbins who have all four options on one plate. Breakfasts are a lot nicer as you can't really go wrong with traditional English can you? However, make sure you go before the popular 9am slot as the feeling that you're cattle is worst then.
One more moan before the good bits.. the resident MC is a complete git. He runs the entertainment on stage and angles his act at the kids. His 'act' consists of him leading daft dances while catawauling along to the cds he plays. High point of his 'act' was when he and his lovely assistant stopped and warned a parent that videoing his 'copyrighted' act was not allowed and that he would not continue til they stopped. Then, in total seriousness, he said in his condescending Play School presenter voice that 'and children, I won't be continuing until that mister stops.. or I will sue him' - I kid you not, we were in stitches.

Good bits?
The Norbreck is well out of the steadily worsening Blackpool (or Soddom & Gamorrah as we now refer to it).
The bar and entertaiment area are well kept and comfortable with plenty of room. A pint of Smiths is £1.50 in the day and £2.20 at night (not bad for a hotel).
The swimming pool / gym / solarium / sauna are surprisingly well kept and readily available.
The entertainment was enjoyable - a comedian/juggler who kept the kids and the adults entertained followed by a Queen tribute band who, though a bit too loud for the abundant pensioners, suited me down to the ground (as long as the nugget who fronted them realises he really isn't Freddie Mercury stood in front of 100,000 fans). The following night we had a Britney Spears tribute mime act (sorry love, I noticed) who the little girls LOVED, so therefore was worth it.

Anyone who can afford to stay in Blackpool at these prices, for a week, really ought to look at a decent holiday abroad. Blackpool is descending into a seedy mire and I suspect that the Norbreck is as 'luxurious' as you'll get at the price.

Helpful?
7 Thank WaveyDaveSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2004

I have just returned back from this hotel with my husband and 2 son's 10yrs & 14yrs to which I was dreading going after reading the reviews, but I am pleased that we went. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights ( 22nd/ 24th Sept 2004 ). We were delighted with our accomodation and had a wonderful time, we wished that we had booked for a longer stay.
We are used to staying in 4 or 5 star accomodation and we could not fault this hotel.
The staff were very friendly and the entertainment was good.
We will be back next year.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2004

My friend and our two 12 year old sons recently stayed at the Norbreck Castle Hotel on a 3 nights DB&B package. All the staff were courteous, our family room was acceptable with TV, hairdryer and plenty of towels in the bathroom, food was OK and provided you get to breakfast before 8.30am there are no queues. The hotel is frequented by bus parties so best to book a table for dinner. The evening entertainment was good, leisure facilities are excellent and the changing rooms are clean with hot showers and hairdryers. The hotel is a fair bit away from the centre of Blackpool but there is a tram stop directly opposite the main entrance of the hotel with trams running every 10 mins.
The refurbishment works are ongoing and there is a major amount of work required - some of the plaster, paintwork and carpeting in the bedroom corridors & stairways are fairly unpleasant but all in all we enjoyed our stay & considered it value for money. You are expected to pay, in full, on arrival, therefore ask to view the room before paying so that if its not up to standard you can always request an alternative room.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
march cambridgeshire england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2004

i stopped in hotel 17.9.04 for 2 nights the room had 3 beds one double and single in the windsor wing of hotel.as i opened the door the state of the carpet got me it was dirty beyond description.however the beds ok to sleep in.the hotel is very large with building work in progress refiting rooms etc.i paid 532 for 5 people dinner bed breakfast for 2 nights.i was totally ripped off buffet dinner and breakfast with people standing in lines awaiting to collect their own food from buffet.the entertainment was fine queen tribute band, britney tribute a member of staff said the hotel had been left for neglet but new owners britannia doing improvements which was the case.so i believe i was charged far to much for a rundown in the middle of a revamp hotel which has potential but not yet.

Helpful?
3 Thank blakecolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2004

Well i have just come back from 4 nights in the hotel. I was very discussed when i entered my room (148). the window was screwed shut, this made the room boiling. me or my mum couldnt breath. we were given about 10 reasons why it couldnt be opened. Then the bath was pure black and moldy. not to mention the bathroom's door handle was loose and i cut my finger on it because screws were ticking out. we demanded a change of room it was unbareable!. We were put in to another room (90) which was miles away from the recpetion, it was a good walk. after that i couldnt falt the gym or juczzie facilties they were brill!!. but the pool was poor, the rails were wobble it wasnt safe at all!. then to top it off on our last night we went to dinner, usually we could pick up pots of tea an cofee to put on our table. as soon as we walked in the pots were grab off us and we told to prove who we were. it was pure discrimination. other nights we could walk in and do the same. he only asked people to prove who they were if they didnt fit in!!. one thing that did please me was one particular waiter, he is italian. he was always helpful getting 1st courses for you and having a friendly attitude. must say was dissapointed overall!! we paid £250 each for 4 nights and 5 days. not worth a penny i reckon!

Helpful?
4 Thank Ange_Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2004

Booked in April for a weekend in August, we paid almost £300 for a family of four for two nights. When booking, over the phone we asked for a sea-view but were told no guarantee could be given but that arriving early would improve our chances. We arrived at 2:30 on the Friday, paid the balance and were told to wait, as the rooms weren’t ready. Finally at 3:30 we went to the room we were given, this was totally unacceptable. This was definitely not a family room, the double and two single beds just fit in. We’d have had to take turns standing up, that’s all the floor space we had. The room overlooked a building site at the rear. On returning to reception we were told by the manager that we could have a different room but if we didn’t like it we couldn’t have a refund, Basically a threat.
We carried our two cases up the lift, behind reception, one floor and then down a corridor through a set of double doors then another set, down a ramp and round a bend. In fear of what we might find, we had walked about 60 metres. The carpet and wallpaper were getting worse and the air musty, around the next bend was a bucket with water in it, there were some views of the sea across the roof from windows along this corridor. The roof had broken ladders, pools of water, smashed lamps, bits of rubble etc – a great view! Walking on, the corridor turned again, this time the view through the window was of scaffolding and broken roof tiles. In front of the window was a green wheelie bin, open with water in it. Damp filled the air. Next through another set of doors and along a dark corridor, another 20 metre walk. Another door and then two flights of stairs. The handrail supports had seen better days, some were missing. On the half-landing a service room door was open, the lock missing, this room had probably seen some heavy water damage, no wallpaper, broken plaster, ancient floorboards with service items just thrown in. Then to the room (some 150metre walk), yes it had the correct number of beds and yes there was floor space. But that’s all the good points. Through the small window was scaffolding which was netted brown on the outside, we could just make out a derelict building across the road through the netting. This made our room so dark we had to put the light on during the day. Some kind builder had used our outside ledge to store empty cans of pop. The room was basic to say the least, the bathroom was quite large, the tin bath looked lost against the far wall however the plaster falling into it from the window surround kept it company. The bath had to be cleaned before use, each time.
Concerned for our safety I checked the fire escape route, this took me down some dark, bare wooden stairs, passed some half empty pint glasses, through a door and into a derelict night club foyer, with more glass only this time broken. The escape doors here lead outside, I could hear cars passing the doors where fitted with an alarm, some security this far from the hotel proper then! Just acceptable as an escape route if needed.
Back at reception we where told they’d refund one child, for one night £30. So far this hasn’t happened.

Other issues
 45 minute queue at breakfast. – not enough tables or staff.
 Tressel tables out front, wobbly, unsafe but covered with table cloths to look good from outside.
 The Scramble to see the artistes in the “Conservatory” – three hundred people blocking each others view to see the stage, whilst the proper staged function rooms are hired out.
 Sea-view’s reserved for Coach parties – Arriving after us and paying much less coach party booking get the best rooms. Well why upset a coach company when you can upset individual families, if we don’t go back they won’t loose much custom. But they didn’t say “No you can’t have a sea view in April”.

To sum up we could have paid £50 per night and got a similar room in a guest house but with probably better food, service and a shorter walk to the room. The staff who service the building site we stayed in admitted they thought we’d been ripped off “These rooms haven’t been used for ages” they told us.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,729 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing