We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stinky visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
A TripAdvisor Member
“A stinky visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2004

As we arrived there were no staff on reception so we had to walk around to find someone to book us in. our room was right at the end of the castle in one of the towers. As you were walking up the stairs in the tower it was very cold because most of the windows were smashed and they hadn't been fixed. Also there was a very strong smell that lingered all over the hotel. The stairways was where the smell was at its strongest. It smelt like a sewer. The room i was staying in was dirty and the wall paper was peeling off. There were damp marks on the ceiling and the wardrobe was pushed up against the window so there was no light or access to the window.There was one flat pillow on the bed with stains on it and instead of a quilt on the bed it was just a thin sheet. As i went to leave the room to go out the door didn't lock properly. The bathroom didn't have no soap or shampoo sachets and there wasn't any toilet roll. There weren't any towels either for when you have a shower only a small hand towel. As i went down for breakfast there weren't any tabels. There were to many people in the dinning room at once. Staff were asking people to eat there breakfast on the benches out side and on the seating around the bar. It was all self service but there was no staff coming to clean the tables after people had finished. It was a total mess and kaos. When we finally got a table it was covered in the previous peoples dished and there were no knife and forks anywhere because they had ran out. I had to put my breakfast in a bowl because there weren't any clean plates. I hated every minute of my stay at Norbreck Castle. The whole hotel stinks and i mean that literally!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    789
    1,125
    870
    2,367
See reviews for
1,722
1,834
120
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,475)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2004

Dont be too alarmed when you read all these bad reviews. I was very worried about my stay but when I arrived I got a very pleasant surprise. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom spotless. Breakfast was delicious and very filling. It did look a bit tacky but doesn't all of Blackpool? I wouldn't recommend this place for a holiday but for a stag weekend and for just having somewhere to sleep it was perfectly acceptable. It is gay-friendly too which suited me right down to the ground.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2004

we (me ,mother,sister,grandam,grandad) stayed at the Norbreck in august 2003 .we booked with national holidays .The hotel was ok but not great the food was awful thought i didnt eat any so therefore had to eat after going to pleasure beach at the night .Also its ages and ages away from the centre you have to get a tram or bus to get there.The rooms were slighty OK but quite dirty and sheets stained !.But the bathroom was to a reasonable standard .The best bit was the pool area .Please could any body help me and tell me what its like know as im revisting with friends in august for a birthday for 2 days .will building have finished?? will it be awful .email me please to tell me .thankz

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2004

I have just returned from a fabulous stay at The Norbreck Castle Hotel, Blackpool. Despite having a major refurbishment going on, hotel is still being managed by a very professional management. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotels facilities were really good, especially the leisure facilities.I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a short break in Blackpool I will certainly be going back myself

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2004

I stayed for 1 night in May. The warnings about this hotel are very accurate. There are weird smells and the rooms are filthy. If you get lucky and stay in the newly built rooms then although they are much cleaner they still are very small and basic. You can hear all conversations going on above and beside you. You can make out everything they say and do!!! They charge way too much for something so basic. I wouldn't even go near the food so I can't comment on that but I did check out early as I could not get to sleep because of the noise.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2004

I booked the holiday with national hoildays yes it does look run down from the outside but it is the look of a castle after all, the wood was great the bar was great and the whole hotel was great. Even the work going on didnt put us off it ment that when i go again in august its going to be better

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2004

I have never stayed at a hotel anything like this. The toast for Breakfast had green mold on it - when we pointed this out, they didn't even remove it!! - The room was damp, dirty, cold - no central heating.We complained several times and the response was 'What do you want us to do about it'.The bathroom was dirty, with used toilet paper screwed up on the floor.The bed sheets were dirty, with stains on, and the carpet was filthy.I recommend you try ANY hotel but this one - It couldn't be anywhere near as bad !!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank djb2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,808 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing