We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not advisable .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not advisable .”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Just came back from weekend in Blackpool , The Hotel is falling appart at the seams,the net in the bedroom had some digusting stains on it the room was dated the windows filthy .the bed had seen better days We paid for bed & breakfast , the food was awful so we eat out . Would not recommend to anyone !

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wooody2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    815
    1,162
    909
    2,455
See reviews for
1,802
1,888
135
193
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,528)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Read the reviews before we booked but thought... Make up my own mind.To be honest the breakfast, food, and bar areas are quite nice and the staff are smashing. The rooms are in very much need of renovation and are outdated to be kind!. The corridors to the rooms smelt of cigarettes and quite often after being out of room there was very often smell so drains or even sewers in the room. The noise at night in the corridors was absolutely disgraceful with doors banging and stag and hen parties coming in late.By the way.... watch out for dodgy electric sockets!!! When we charged our phones the TV went all fuzzy and the sound altered.. Not a good sign ! It has obviously seen better days and it's a great shame .....! PS one of the local cab drivers said it is known as "Colditz" .....need I say more!.... I don't think we will return!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A fantastic 4 night stay, staff very helpfull, room clean and cosy with a sea view, food fantastic with breakfast and a 3 course evening meal all perfectly cooked. Can't fault it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of holidaying at Blackpool, bus and tram stops just outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We booked a one night stay and we were really disappointed with the room we received. We got room 221 which was supposed to be a family room. When we got in there was a large central heating pipe or hot water pipe running through the room. This concerned us as we have a toddler that likes walking around and were concerned for her welfare.

Access to the room was a nightmare. We had to go up in a lift, down a ramp, down a flight of stairs then up two flights to get to the room. This would have been a struggle for most but we had a toddler, a 4 year old, 3 large bags, travel cot and a pram and I am 34 weeks pregnant.

We decided that this was not suitable for us and we went back to the reception (approx 10 mins after receiving our key) we asked for another room and they said it was not possible as the hotel was too busy and no rooms were available. We asked for a refund and compensation as we had just travelled over 45 mile to get there. They basically said they won't refund or compensate us and we had to apply to the management company for the hotel for a refund and there was no guarantee that we would get our money back as it was non refundable on one night stays. Wanting to stay in Blackpool and not wanting to loose the £60 we paid 10 mins earlier, we asked could we be assisted in carrying our stuff to our rooms. The duty manager obliged and assisted us. They stated if we require assistance in the morning then they will come and help us carry our bags back. They did apologise for the room and understood our concerns but they left it at that. We wanted to go for the evening entertainment with the kids but having to carry the children back to the room later on with the pram, this was impossible. We just felt like it was here's your room, take it or leave it, thats all we want to see of you and we will help you out in the morning also we've got your money and there's nothing you can do about it.

We have visited before and this will be the last

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The first allocated room was filthy, having read some critics on the hotel, I decided to view the room first, before checking in. Which was the right decision. it was flithy. Walls were covered in coffee spills, the table wash´t wiped, nor was the bathroom clean. The staff at reception was very helpful and gave us a new room. Which was better, but not to the standard I would expect. The shower was not usable, either boiling hot water or freezing cold. The furniture was well worn off.
The main areas were run down, the elevator hand´t been cleaned for a while.
The evening show was really OK, it was a pleasant add-on.
The food was appalling - the presentation more than not appetizing, we had one evening dinner there - never again. The meals were of the cheapest ingredients, the management was more interested in taking their own dinner. Overall - never eat there !!

Room Tip: get an upgrade, whenever possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bombaygin65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay with my 6 years old grandaughter.
Our room was a standard twin,I broke the golden rule of not checking online reviews before booking and then when I did afterwards I was a bit unsure I'd done the right thing.
There were quite a few negative comments about room cleanliness and I set off thinking oh dear!
I have to say though that our room was clean although bedroom looked a bit tired and the room furniture somewhat dated.
I spoke to another young family there who gave the hotel a second chance after their first visit resulted in a dirty room allocated, though they were satisfied on this occasion.
The hotel have obviously had problems with this in the past although the hotel reception crew were very courteous on arrival and I was told if there were any problems with the room to go back and see them.
I have to say though that guests should not have to do this,inspection of rooms before allocation should be done by a supervisor.
Overall I would go back and give It another go.This is a very large hotel witj lots of public rooms although the children's entertainment programme was not as good as the rival Cliiffs hotel about 2 miles away.unfortunately they were full,they just need to work on the issues they have.
There is a nice enough pool (£2 per adult) children free,36 seat cinema showing various films,games arcade etc.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to go back and ask for another room if there are problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DERBYSTEVE24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Was more than a little worried when I read the reviews.
Overall we enjoyed our 2 night stay here and I feel many of the negative comments on here are unfair.
Yes the hotel decor is old and tired, the evening entertainment was not mine or my wife's cup of tea. A bit cheesy, but our son loved it.
Our room was clean with crisp white bedding and towels. Windows were dirty though. The swimming pool was very nice, even though the cast of cocoon invaded it for a 45 min aqua aerobics session - much to the amusement of our 9 year old son.
The buffet breakfast was well presented with plenty of choice and the dining room was clean, with tables regularly cleared.
The staff were all smartly dressed and polite, nothing seemed too much trouble for them.
I don't think the hotel was anywhere near capacity during our visit, so the experience at peak times maybe different.
Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend to families travelling on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRayboulds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,984 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 70 in Blackpool
3,147 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#30 of 70 in Blackpool
3,559 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rose Hotel and Spa
Rose Hotel and Spa
#62 of 70 in Blackpool
12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing