We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand national break value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Norbreck Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
durham
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Grand national break value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed from Friday to Sunday travelling to grand national (Liverpool) on the Saturday morning at nine. We drove from north east but most of people in hotel came from Scotland in busses. Think there was 1200 people stopping over weekend with majority going to national . We arrived at noon on the Friday and had pick of the car park ( free and huge). No one waiting to check so we were dealt with in no time. Room was ready. Dated room but clean enough although needed a proper dust( room was 531). Telly with four channels, team and coffee, hair dryer, twin beds and plenty of drawers. Bathroom was clean enough and hot water at all times. Towels changed on the Saturday. Lift to room but we used stairs as it was quicker but its a good climb so get a room near the bottom if you can't manage. Bar was open early morning and late night, pub attached which was very busy on evening. Ballroom was used for our dinner on Friday but main restaurant on the Saturday and for breakfasts. There is a swimming pool which looked decent size and no one seemed to use ( most people there for the racing). Very busy at meal times and shared table in the ballroom ( table for ten). Help yourself bar the soup and tea/coffee. Food was ok although catering for that many it was pretty bland. Breakfast was good. Prices at bar very cheap. Shops round corner (mcolls (cash machine) and an off licence) tram and bus stop just outside. Ten minute walk to fish and chip type places, small
arcade and bank (rbs). 15 minute walk to first pub on the front (towards south) after that there is another couple of pubs and a casino which you can get in as a non member for meal / drink if you don't care for a gamble. Then the rest of hotels begin towards the north pier. It's around three mile to north pier and around 5 mile to south pier. Some of staff were poor but some spot on . I guess because of the numbers some will only be working there certain times so maybe not as committed. Bingo and entertainment on both nights but didn't go so can't say if its any good or not. There was also a small cinema which had fairly recent films on four times a day. Place is huge and needs an update. Some areas a bit dirty and smelly but mostly not too bad. Decent value for what we paid but if you like typical Blackpool hotel then you probably need to go further south . It was basically get em in and get em out as regards meals but that suited us as we really only needed a bed and a quick eat. Might be very good when it's not full. Easy to get to and get out as its so far north. Would consider going again for races but not for Blackpool only.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paul155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    782
    1,109
    859
    2,334
See reviews for
1,698
1,810
116
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,456)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just got back from a weekend at the Norbreck which we used as a base for the Grand National. I really don't know what people are whinging about. I'd read a few reviews before we travelled and was expecting a lot worse that we got.

The room wasn't brilliant but we had a bed, bog and a shower which is all we wanted, it could have been cleaner and maybe decorated a bit better but it was ok - and I didn't get bitten by anything.

The food was okay again not brilliant but if you get what you pay for and my breakfast was fine, I didn't try the evening meals as I was on the thrash in Blackpool centre.

My only gripe was there weren't enough bar staff, loads of customers and only a couple of people to serve them.

Have a nice day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hentoon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Ok now let's have an evaluation here !! . What exactly did you pay?? Have you never heard of you get what you pay for?. The Hotel is a dump !! simples !! The staff are very nice under the circumstances. They have to put up with all the crap they get from the customers, they cannot afford to walk out they need jobs. The drink is watered down, FACT ,but I do scratch my head at that because most of the men were out there tree, one way or another. The rooms are dated, but the sheets are clean, and our bathroom was spotless (hair free). There is a queue in the dining room, if you want waiter service. then go to a hotel where you pay for such a service.I we thought the food was good. If we had paid thousands for this break I would have went off my head !! but break it down. £159.00
Bus return travel, pass into The National £48.00. 2 nights Dinner, 2 Breakfast,,, work it out yourself !! it ain't gonna be THE RITZ. .However I have to say that BLACK ! POOL ! it'self is just that BLACK.. !!! Basic is what you pay and very basic is what you get !!

Room Tip: I don't think there is one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

5 April 14 Sat evening Arrived to be given a room smelt of damp odour, wallpaper peeling off walls , paint flaking from ceiling . went directly back to reception to be told nothing they could or the manager. See why you pay on arrival.
Won't be going near a Brittania Hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank StevengT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Where do I start, checked into hotel, reception staff are rude and very unhelpful, reception area is disgusting and dirty, our room god where do I start, carpet covered in large brown stains, furniture old and tatty, ripped old leather sofa, bathroom had not been cleaned hairs in the bath and over toilet, only 2 towels in room for 4 people although towels were that dirty wouldn't use them to dry a dog with it, 3 electric points in room 1 used for the kettle and 1 for the TV which is that old and covered in brown flaky things on the bottom it was unusable, wardrobe stinks so couldn't put any clothes in it, hallway outside room stank of urine and human waste. Food disgusting only eat here if u have no other option, do not come here with children or all female party as we were all female group and 4 times during night men tried to get into our room, drunk half naked men walking down corridor in morning and party in the room next to us all night, oh and can't forget being woke up by a bruised and battered man banging on door at 5.30am!! Wouldn't even stay here again if they offered us a free week.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann12357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Disgusting hotel, very very dirty - you can see past the out dated decor but not the dirt.
Staff rude.
Had NO sleep at all & checked out after 1 dreadful night.
They have offers on that attract idiots who spoil normal peoples stay!!!
NEVER AGAIN - so disappointed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsjtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

One out of all the staff polite. Serious issues with customer service. Room we booked didnt get instead stuck surrounded by drunks going to the national. Waterpipe running through room noisy. Heat unbearable. Food rubbish. Totally let down by the whole experience srayed one
night and booked out moved to St Annes for peace!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyorchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,728 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,931 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing