We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please remember its a 2 star hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #69 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Cumbria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Please remember its a 2 star hotel!”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

So stayed at the Norbreck last night, after reading what everyone was saying, I was a bit sceptical, but do you know what, if you take into account it's a 2 star hotel, then it's ok.
Yes there are things wrong, there is dirt in the bedrooms by the pipes that some tools off a hoover would clean up.
Yes there is only one lift in certain parts of the hotel. Yes the entertainment is very camp show.
But there are also some very good points.....
The staff I spoke to were all helpful and pleasant.
The food was good, plenty of choice, there was a long queue in the morning, but perhaps it would help if they set up a reservation system like they do for the evening meal.
The beds were comfy, with white bedding.
The main bathroom facilities were clean, with white towels.
The bar tariff was not that indifferent to a normal pub. The main smell I got was the chlorine off the swimming pool, which is situated in the centre of the hotel, close to the entertainment area, so therefore it can be smelt all over.
The hotel was very busy, but it's the time of year, overall I felt it was fine for a cheap 1 night stay, and I wouldn't have any problems recommending it, as long as the person knew it was a 2 star!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank xpandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    797
    1,139
    884
    2,395
See reviews for
1,744
1,852
127
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,489)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a seasoned traveller I must say having read previous reviews regarding the condition of the hotel and bedrooms I was very apprehensive to actually stay at this hotel but as it was part of a coach package decided to chance it. The photos on trip advisor we could relate to in part i.e. I dont know if a window cleaner is ever engaged by the owners but apart from that the room was clean and the bed was clean and comfy. The bathroom was also acceptable. Furniture was dated but apart from that 'fit for purpose'. The food was acceptable and much better than I thought it would be and the waiting staff were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Our room was 353 and although this did not look out over the sea it overlooked a large roof that was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jofman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Good value for money budget hotel. The hotel is just beginning to be refurbished.My room had been refurbished.Bed linen and towels very clean, room clean and warm.Food plain but plentiful with some choice
Buffet style restaurant .Public areas do need refurbishing but are in the process of being done
Con; s far from town centre , Table and chairs in restaurant very close together difficulty in moving between especially when carrying food and more so for the elderly and disabled, staff
Pro; s Very large car park Almost full on my visit .entertainment each evening, happy hour each evening staff ver helpful problems dealt with quickly
Although apprehensive on arrival overall i was pleasantly surprised and so were most of my fellow coach travellers
I would return again.
IF you want a five star hotel with five star service and prices then do not go here
In my opinion the hotel does not deserve its previous poor reviews
Very very good value for money!!

Room Tip: Before travelling ring hotel and ask for nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TREVOR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Nova de Cacela, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Norbreck is a tired and out of date hotel. Whilst the room is clean and the beds reasonably comfortable the style and substance of the room does not belong in the 21st century.
Queuing for breakfast reminds me of Army days queuing at the cookhouse. The food at breakfast is good but looks disgusting when the food is slopped all over the hot plate towards the end of service. Getting a cup of tea or coffee to go with breakfast is hard work!
The reception area looks dirty, unkempt and worn out.
The smell in the hotel alternates between sewerage and newly painted rooms! I suppose the saying that you get what you pay for rings true for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked a wee last minute deal for 1 night (normally book premier inn but no rooms). Receptionist said i can give you a family room with a sea view BIG JOKE when we got to room you could hardly see out the windows plus it overlooked an old derelict castle. at breakfast the place was absolutely heaving although food was goof. We only paid £50 for B&B for 4 thank god as it said the room was normally £175!!! Glad only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jogranatbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

a dirty filthy hole, was met on arival with the stench of mold throughout the reception, when we got to our room (372) the mold smell continued, black mold was up the wall by the toilet area and all around the shower. filth behind the wardrobe that could not of been cleaned in ? yrs, unruley yobs running around the corridors setting fire alarms off at 01:30AM , the outrageous stench of sewage in copper jacks bar that only drove people out baulking in disgust. mass produced military style/quality food,

Room Tip: i will never set foot in there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank stephen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We were just staying the 1 night but my god 1 night in this hotel is enough! looks great from the outside but the corridors looked like something from the Overlook Hotel (in the Shining) there was workmen in and they had blocked the lift so no one knew where it was. We arrived by coach and got there at 2.15pm but couldn't check in till 3.30pm, we queued from 3.15pm and eventually got to our room at 4pm. beds were so lumpy the springs were sticking out,the floors creaked real bad, the windows were filthy the toilet flush sounded like a space ship taking off. the hotel is 2-3 mile away from the pleasure beach but the tram just outside is really good value if you buy an all day ticket (£3.50) we didnt stay for the buffet style supper as they served from 6.30pm and to be honest we didnt really want to stay any longer than necessary. Blackpool however was great a lively busy town and the lights were great. we got back tired after a long journey and a busy afternoon/night then were told by the staff that we have to vacate the room by 10.30am the next morning for the housekeepers/cleaners? Does it take all day?? The best part of the hotel was the breakfast (a lot of choice) if you want to go to blackpool and have a nice break go and enjoy but dont go to this hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
4.9 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing