We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cram packed with old guests at all times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I will give an honest review of the Norbreck Castle. Positives. Upon arrival we found that my disabled mother and i had been split between the ground floor and the 4th floor. And as her carer this was not going to work for us, My mothers double room on the ground floor were not only dated but were the smallest hotel rooms ever! And was not disabled friendly. The twin room on the 4th floor was slightly bigger but not much better. After speaking to a very helpful member of staff on reception we were moved it was a bit of an improvement. The food was decent considering the amount of guests at the hotel, there was plenty of choice and enough food for all but not enough seating for everyone!! The chairs in the dining room were often covered in food and god knows what you found if you placed your hands underneath to move you chair towards the table!! The dining hall was cram packed and there was hardly any room at the tables or between them. The drinks were expensive at the bar. The rest of the hotel was positively disgusting with peeling paint and wallpaper all over the place. The carpets were filthy and your feet stuck to them? It was very noisy all of the time for us The hotel is positioned near the beach but about 3 miles from the main piers, transport is reasonably priced and regular. I would not choose to come here again but tried to make the best of a bad hotel! It needs massive improvements.

Room Tip: Go some where else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,961)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,450 - 3,456 of 5,961 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

we stayed in the norbreck hotel for 2 nights.when we went to check in the receptionst was rude kept us waiting and wasn't willing to help told us to come back at 3 left our bags in a unlocked room when we got our key the room was filthy skirting boards door frames dusty carpet was filthy with black stains and the sink was in bedroom not in bathroom I booked for a executive double I got a horrid room the food was awful it was cold the breakdast eggs under cooked enternaiment wasn't the best there was no postitve about the whole stay. reception in hotel industry is important they need to go on a course for learning customer service will not book or stay there again and will definetly not recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: don't go to the norbreck castle hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alisonbarbour01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I will give an honest review of the Norbreck Castle. Positives and negatives and there are some positives despite some of the reviews.
Upon arrival we found that our group had been split between the 1st floor and the 4th floor. The double rooms on the 1st floor were not only dated but were the smallest hotel rooms ever! The beds were not even 3/4 let alone double. The toilet in one of the rooms wouldn't flush and half of the window handles had fallen off making opening the windows impossible!! The twin room on the 4th floor was slightly bigger but not much better. I must say the bed sheets and the bathrooms although dated were clean. After speaking to a very helpful member of staff on reception we were all moved across to the Windsor wing into triple rooms which were a vast improvement with fully opening windows and walk in wet rooms with working toilets. The beds were really comfortable much better than Travelodge beds!
The food was decent considering the amount of guests at the hotel, there was plenty of choice and enough food for all.
The pool was great and the kids used it many times. My eldest daughter particularly enjoyed the Jacuzzi
The hotel houses a small cinema although we didn't use this and also a small games room.
Across the road was an off licence, a convenience store and a sandwich shop. The drinks were expensive at the bar but were cheaper during happy hour although this was particularly early at 3-5pm.
The rest of the hotel was positively disgusting with peeling paint and wallpaper all over the place. The carpets were filthy and your feet stuck to them!! The chairs in the dining room were often covered in food and god knows what you found if you placed your hands underneath to move you chair towards the table!! The dining hall was cram packed and there was hardly any room at the tables or between them.
The hotel is positioned near the beach but about 3 miles from the main piers, transport is reasonably priced and regular.
I would not choose to come here again but tried to make the best of a bad hotel! It needs massive improvements.

Room Tip: go for the triple everytime!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for the Ireland West Music TV weekend. After seeing the other reviews we were very worried. No need to have been we were on the top floor and the room was clean, the bathroom was immaculate as were the towels. The room was cleaned every day. The staff were lovely and friendly and worked very hard. the bar area is very tired, the restaurant was OK as was the food? As someone else said if your posh go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for balmoral suite top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishdancer1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for the 4th time in 2 years and as always, "excellent service" from all staff. Clean rooms, food ....ish. "I'll be back" However avoid room 773 which had pigeon mess on the windows (outside) which should have been cleaned off before the netting was installed. Asked for some fly spray which never arrived.
WHY does it have to be scrambled egg every morning, ... I HATE scrambled eggs!
Supposedly baked beans, mostly tomato sauce.
How about some boiled potatoes in the evenings?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This large hotel is run down and filthy, in serious need a a refurb. Dirty and the staff don't care about customer service. Breakfast was overcooked, greasy and served 7 to 9.30am, each day a massive line to wait in to get into restaurant, breakfast was therefor served in the corridor! Lots of food trays empty, no forks. When I told the man serving he said forks are not his department. Night time entertainment was poor, no outside acts coming in, just there own entertainment team. Music stopped to play bingo half way through evening. Children told to sit silently for this, more than an hour! The entertainment room/ club was never opened as rented out for wedding and birthday functions. So entertainment in the conservatory (same corridor as breakfast) came back from swimming to find 'cleaner' had taken all the towels and not replaced them. We went to a different hotel down the road to watch there show. Amazing! Advise you to book at the Cliffes hotel instead.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinaFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Arrived at hotel after booking a family room for 2 adults and 10 year old child . we were given a key to a cupboard with a double bed in , i rang reception to ask if we were all to sleep in the double bed , they said they would send another bed up . durrrrrrr , no room for another bed . went back to reception where they said no other rooms were available and there was nothing they could do . No help was given what so ever . It used to be a lovely hotel ,but i wouldnt recommend it now .

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank valmenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#32 of 73 in Blackpool
3,887 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
530 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $40 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing