We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel I've stayed at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel I've stayed at.”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The first room we were put in should be decommissioned. Upon complaining at reception they advised it should have been taken out of service and swapped our room. The rooms were dirty, moldy around the windows. Carpets were thread bare. Clean bedding was on saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dicko1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    805
    1,152
    894
    2,415
See reviews for
1,770
1,863
130
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have attended an annual reunion at this hotel for many years and it has always been a low quality hotel but we have 'put up' with the rubbish hotel because we enjoyed seeing old friends. It would seem that the hotel does not appreciate loyalty as they put us on the back with a view of the rear car park, gave us a lumpy bed with a dirty room. Although we and some others 'switched' rooms - our room was near a cardboard compressor and we had no sleep. The food was 'dire' even at the gala dinner. The hotel was absolutely packed out with hundreds of people on a pilgrimage and they obviously couldn't cope. This year has been the straw that has broke the camels back and we will never never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have been twice to the norbreck castle hotel is a lovely place to stay the people and staff were lovely the food is great the pictures and the arcade were great for the kids they loved it the pool was so relaxing and so the stream room we loved it in there it's a lovely drive into fleetwood and a lovely walk to the fair is great the Pepsi max was wonderful and the promenade is also a lovely walk we will be going back in may again.
We hoped this helped you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexefcbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Don't know what people are complaining about! Hey if you want 5 star, then pay for 5 star!
Some people you just can't please. I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions with family and friends, and I think it's great value for money.
Based on the north side, but transport available right outside the hotel, plus we prefer the beach this far down in the summer, as it is much quieter.
Good variety of food, swimming pool, great stay for us, and we will be back very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim_85_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

what a disgrace after taking doctors orders to relax and take a break from my hectic work life i went to Blackpool and stayed at the Hotel it pains me to say that i can t think of any positive things to say the staff were grumpy and could t care less the room was dirty it was that bad i would go into it as pubic hair was in the plug and it looked like it had t been cleaned for a long time i was not able to sleep as the walls were that thin you could hear everything that was happening next door breakfast was disgusting and manic the entertainment was shambolic and while i was there iv been eaten to death by flees. Never again

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Degeneration1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went on a Monday for three nights Very large and quite busy hotel. Stayed in room 815. This room had a hard double bed one bedside table double wardrobe and at the bottom of bed a fitted dressing table. I did ish the extra bedside table So i had somewhere for my cuppa. This particular room was quite dark this was due to the view from the window being a brick wall. The bathroom was not very big but surprisingly had a spa bath and the shower was excellent. The room was adequate for our needs but would have liked a view even if it couldn't have been a sea view. Breakfast was serve yourself and there was cereals, fruit and English breakfast. Choice of egg was scrambled, not my cup of tea but I could understand due to the size of the hotel that it would be easier to serve this. I found the reception staff of the hotel very pleasant. Inside the hotel was a small cinema that showed four films a day e.g war horse, shrek, There was entertainment on. i try to give a full description so if you go there you will know what to expect. Overall the rooms were clean and bins were emptied and tea and coffee filled up each day. I would definately book to stay there again. With it being out of town a the beach opposite we had. Lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,906 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,094 reviews
4.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 70 in Blackpool
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#29 of 70 in Blackpool
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Property: Norbreck Castle Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing