We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Norbreck Castle Hotel
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed December 14, 2011

This would have been the 4th time we have come to the Norbreck for a Christmas break. This time we were very disappointed with the hotel as of previous times. The bedroom was a good size, but smelt of smoke. The first night the bar area was cold we went to bed early just to get warm. They do not give you enough towels nor milk so we had to get them ourselves. We brought our own tea bags because the tea in the hotel is discusting. We were told we had to go for dinner at 5.45pm which I found out why all the waiters had to go into one of the ballrooms and help serve there. They were packing everything up in the dining area basically trying to get us out. The swimming pool was most enjoyable and the staff helpful. I know you only get what you pay for, but at the end of the day when you are their for your only Christmas party with your family you have to make the most of it. I think I will be trying another hotel next year.

Room Tip: There is no tip because the hotel cannot afford to do the hotel up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gail_bowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,851 - 4,857 of 6,119 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2011

This is the 2nd time I have been here and can't really fault it. I have been twice for the Christmas party that is held with a few friends and the evening is absolutely brilliant!

The hotel is a bit run down and dated but it's so big its not surprising, especially in the economic climate.

I will definitely be coming along next year!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEATHERM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

As self appointed spokesperson for a group of 8 people i just had to share with you the excellent time we all had on Saturday night at the Norbreck's Christmas Party Night. The Norcalympia room was especially well decorated, was warm colourful and considering there was 600+ people there on the night it was extremely welcoming. The 4 course meal was very good-hot and tasty, effeciently served by attentive staff although not all of us agreed about the tinned carrots, but apart from that minor detail, top value for money. On the night the regular host/compere, the famous Lionel Vinyl was unable to attend due to an unfortunate accident the previous night, however the stand-in, Barry, was an excellent replacement who certainly got the party started. The entertainment for the evening was top quality with great music for all ages and i hope they get booked for next year because all of our party agreed it was an altogether fabulous night out and we all would recommend this hotel without question.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cookers633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

28th Nov - 3rd Dec 2011.DBB
We were allocated the room we requested.
Food excellent and plentiful.

Receptionists most helpful and efficient, all minor problems quickly resolved.

Swimming pool and facilities we found most enjoyable (usually on our own).. Staff there most helpful even to adjusting the hot tub to my needs.Thank you to staff.

O.K. parts of the hotel need upgrading but prices reflect that and at the end of the day you are not buying the furnishings.

Only negative feedback regards coffee and tea from large thermos urns after evening meal. It was always luke warm -,never had a hot drink,so we ended up making our own in our room. Problem solved for us.

We booked a return for March 2012,

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Having read some of the reviews of this HoteI it was with some trepidation that I stayed in the Norbreck at the begining of December l. I normally stay at hotels costing twice as much as this, we were competing in a ballroom dance competition at the Hotel, hence our staying there. The Hotel actually has two huge ballrooms which would compete with the Tower and the Winter Gardens.
On arrival we found the Hotel clean but a little worn around the edges. The reception staff were wonderful and humouress, yet professional.
The Hotel is vast and is situated outside Blackpool centre. Its an £8 taxi ride into the centre, there is a direct line in reception to a local private hire firm. There is a bus and tram stop right outside.
We paid a little extra for a superior room. This had a sea view and was large with a large bathroom, it had free standing art deco furniture (reproduction from the 1960's) it was clean and very importantly - warm. You control the temperature from a radiator thermostat and its on 24/7 which is better than some of the more expensive Blackpool Hotels. Nice touch :) The normal rooms are similar just a little smaller and no sea view. There is a restauraunt which has to be pre booked. We didn't use it, but friends who did were happy with it. We had breakfast. The scrambled egg is powdered and tasteless. On the plus side there is ample bacon, sausage and black pudding along with cereal etc, its self service.
During our stay there were gale force winds and at times it was very breezy in public areas making it cold and unpleasant. I'm not sure why this was, it needs to be attended to as the result of this was our group not wishing to drink at the bar, which is a revenue loser for the Hotel.
The staff were pleasant and really make the place enjoyable. The Hotel specialises in themed breaks. There was also cabaret type entertainment. For the price they charge this Hotel represents good value.

Room Tip: Its worth upgrading to a superior room for the size alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rumba2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Just got back from stopping at Norbreck Castle for the weekend.My family and i couldnt believe how different the hotel was to the photos.Now where do i start....Everychair was stained,the carpets needed a good clean , the place was dirty.Our bedroom was a good size but the bed sheets didnt fit the beds, had to wash the top of the kettle and cups before using them, water and wind came through the window all night as it didnt shut right ( so glad the heating worked ) and the bottom of the bathroom door fell off.At our evening meal the food was cold and they took it all away before we had finished eating.Breakfast was OK.Would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

just got back from norbreck 3 day all inclusive the room was fine the food was good the free bar was great had a great time staff and and every thing about the hotel was spot on if you want a five star hotel pay the prices the rooms are basic but clean the swimming pool and spa was great met some lovely people there going again friday 16th december 3 days i would recomend to any one who whats a cheap and cheerful break away

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ny44Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norbreck_Castle, Manager at Norbreck Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2011

Dea 4yNNHull,

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest and balanced feedback with reference to your stay and experiences at the Norbreck Castle Hotel. It is pleasing to hear that you found your stay with us enjoyable. We, here at the Norbreck Castle Hotel, pride ourselves on offering a fun and vibrant atmosphere to all our guests at competitive rates. It is through constructive comments, such as yours, that we aim to continue to improve our standards and the services which we offer.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write your review and everyone here at the Norbreck looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


The Norbreck Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
3.5 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
4,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
1.9 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
897 reviews
1.6 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norbreck Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norbreck Castle Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range: $26 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Norbreck Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Norbreck Castle Hotel is a fun and vibrant enviroment especially at weekends and during holiday periods. The Hotel overlooks the seafront on the North Shore, and is close to Blackpools' major attractions and entertainment. This stunning Castle like hotel offers a warm welcome to the famous Seaside Resort of Blackpool.The hotel has 480 bedrooms, many with sea views that offer a comfortable and relaxing stay. All tastefully decorated, rooms are en-suite and offer TV, Telephone, Hairdryer and Tea & Coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Norbreck Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norbreck Castle Blackpool
Norbreck Hotel
Hotel Norbreck Castle
Norbreck Castle Hotel Blackpool
Castle Hotel Norbreck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing