We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a joke”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #66 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a joke”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

i took my girls for a little break away on the 27th may we booked the savoy because it looked nice and clean when we arrived we were given r key and told were the room was we went up entered the room at first i thought mmmm sea view untill i got close to the window and realised they were rotten then as i looked around i noticed wall paper hanging off wall masking tape holding a window frame together it was an absolute joke when i asked to be moved there was no more rooms available also u couldnt watch the television so i would strongly advise anybody wanting to stay there think again the place needs shutting down and breakfast was rank

Room Tip: dont choose a room in this hotel!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    336
    355
    340
    847
See reviews for
585
819
50
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Along with about 35 others we arrived by coach at 12.30pm. Rooms not ready till 3.pm.Usual check round revealed a once top class hotel in need of refurbishing and a Good clean. Room was a reasonable size with 2 single beds and clean bedding. Two frosted windows,one sealed the other permanently half open. Air con exhausting close by was a soothing in-flight experience, till just after midnight. Evening meals were buffet style,soup, salad, main course and sweet with coffee and tea.Nice choice, well prepares - enjoyed. Fortunately no one sneezed otherwise we would all have been covered in dust. Obviously not cleaned for ages.Entertainment every night was the same guy,playing his organ,singing and running the £2 a card Bingo.I've heard better singing but he was a good "all round" entertainer.Breakfast was good,self service with a good selection of cereal, salad, and fried food. Dust and last nights droppings still there. Stayed 3 nights, looked under bed second night and found TV controller , a cig lighter and missing washbasin glass? Shower was broken but bath OK.Kettle was fully automatic being able to switch its-self on and off at random. We had a good laugh at most of the problems, the price was very reasonable courtesy of National Holidays and I would risk it again.

Room Tip: Have a look before you lug your cases up them stairs and along them corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Its a medium priced hotel, the facilities reflect this.
However the staff are excellent and always are, i have stayed here many times since 1998 and Brittania have certainly improved it.
we can all fing fault, but just enjoy you stay, and the breakfast is well worth waitng for

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Badger541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at The Savoy (Blackpool) for 1 night in April 2013 with the intention of staying longer, but thankfully we only confirmed the 1 night as we certainly didn't want to stay longer.
We had stayed at the hotel approximately 4-5 years previosuly and enjoyed the visit, but I'm afraid we would not stay there again unless the hotel had a major revamp.

All the communal areas were clean, presentable and the staff seemed polite and helpful but that stopped when we got to the rooms.
The rooms looked like they had been tidied, but not cleaned, in some time either. They were full of cobwebs, cracks in the walls half an inch thick, a bath that was stained and dirty with mould on the sealant and mildew/mould on the net curtains as well as being torn. The bed was hard and springs were pretrouding through the mattress, and to top it off despite tempratures outside being close to zero the room was baking due to the heating on full with no way of reducing it.
We also requested our room to be non-smoking, with a spa bath and a sea view, well someone had been smoking in it or nearby as we could smell it and there was no spa bath, so one out of three was all we got.
We told the receptionist we were not happy and were told there was not much he could do about it and he didn't seemed bothered.
We asked if we could move to another room but he said he had nothing else available as they were fully booked.
Getting no where with the receptionist we asked to speak to the manager but were told that he was serving dinner (due to staff cuts) and would not be able available to speak to for a number of hours. Upon asking for the manager the receptionist seemed that he wanted to be more helpful and he miraculously found that there were in fact 2 vacant rooms available!
However when we looked at them they were smaller than ours, just as dirty and looking onto a brick wall so we decided that the rooms we were in were the lesser of 2 evils.
We stayed just 1 night before booking into another hotel for another 2 nights and enjoyed our stay there.
After returning home I emailed my complaint to Brittania (hotel owners) who responded saying the hotel itself would reply within 28 days. After 6 weeks with no response I emailed again and within days a letter arrived saying simply "thank you for you feedback and sorry you were not happy".
I would definately avoid this hotel unless they have a major revamp as it was not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

If first impressions matter, we should have ran for the hills. When we walked into the room it smelt foisty, the bathroom smelt as if the toilet hadn't had a good clean in gods knows how long and there were dead things on the carpet. The breakfast itself was alright, if you could actually find a table to sit at. The staff were not proactive at all about clearing the tables. People were queuing for tables and I could see at least half a dozen that only needed clearing and resetting. After a busy day wandering about we were looking forward to a pint and some good entertainment. What a disappointment! We got An old geezer, whose idea of entertaining us, was to sing the wrong words to the wrong tunes, so you couldn't even try and sing along to block his voice out as you didn't have a clue what it was supposed to be. Then, just when we thought we were home safe, we went to bed the night before leaving to find they had a party in the function room directly below our room. when I called down at 11:20pm I was told it was going on til midnight and basically to deal with it. when I called back at 12:25am to enquire when it would be stopping the reply I got was; Oh, is it still going on? Seems to be an ongoing theme in this 'hotel' that no-one knows what's going on. The music finally stopped at 1:30am. I didn't bother complaining again as I thought what's the point? Will never stop here again. You make your own mind up, but stay at your peril!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just had a two night stay at this hotel what can I say it exceeded our expectations. The room was a large double room with big bathroom and inner reception hall, bigger than most we've stay in. We had a beautiful sea view. The room was spotless, there was no tea bags or milk but a notice to dial 5 if any was needed and within 5 minutes housekeeping arrived with supplies.
Breakfast was the best we've had. There was every kind of cereal, fruit, bread. there was cooked meat and cheese. All juices, tea coffee. Then full English breakfast. Choice was just excellent.
There was some noise from traffic and it would have been quieter than usual as it was a monday and tuesday night but we were in Blackpool. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor double room with sea view. But on the road side so expect reasonable tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed for two nights in a twin room with a sea view. Paid very little and the rooms and decor reflected this. However the breakfast was really good and the staff very friendly. The views from our room were magnificent and the tram and bus stop was right outside the hotel! We enjoyed our stay but spent little time in the actual room. On the whole I think we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cal_wolves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing