We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #69 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
north east
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Generally it was ok, we got a very cheap booking was around £230 for 3 nights stay with breakfast and evening meal for a family of 4. The rooms were tired and very old decor but were suitable and clean. The evening entertainment was your typical blackpool sing along with a guy on a keyboard lol funnily this added to the charm although if you are on a late dinner seating it does ruin your enjoyment of teatime when you can hear it from the bar whilst trying to talk! so dreadful it was comical! We went with our 2 young children and my little girl loved it so much she wants to go back this year! The breakfast is self service,fresh and hot and lots of choice, the evening meal if you go half board is a 3 course meal,kids ate free when we booked.It is again what you pay for, the food in evening was nothing special and a little bland but was hot and there was a kids menu.
Staff were generally polite and helpful, it is annoying that if you wish to pay by debit card for items they can only do it by holding a set amount on your card which if you do not use that held amount you have to wait 3 days for it to be released once holiday finishes! so its easier to remember to take cash!
Hotel is a good walk away from main attractions but we enjoyed the walk along the prom as weather was nice and it does have the advantage of being away from the loud part of town at night.
Mostly pensioners staying at this hotel but there was a few families and it is child friendly.
I would stay again if going to Blackpool but unfortunately a few days in blackpool now costs as much as a stay abroad and the prices for the attractions have rocked since we last visited.
Parking is also limited at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ljmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    336
    351
    335
    838
See reviews for
577
812
50
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (632)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

this hotel is not worth staying in its dirty and the staff Are very rudeit is fithey dirty not clean touch could right your name in the dirt cob webs all over Chris had big goes in them you could not see out of the windows in the room they did move us but. the second room not much better then we went in the bar well i seen some dirt in my time muck all over the windows cloth 2keep out of drafts just stuck in them cod wed having from the curtains dirt smear all over the windows you could wright your name in the dirt on the window not a nice place 2 dray

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had already pre paid £130 for a sea view room and when we arrived we were shoved right to the back of the hotel on the first floor there was no view as you couldn't even see out of the windows, went back to reception to ask them to move us to the room we had paid for and were told they could t move us because they had no rooms available, when we had already paid in full for the sea view room, they gave us a key to go look at another room to see if that was any better, yes it did have a view, of the car park!! And was also the size of a small box room, they said they could move us to a sea view room the next morning if we would prefer and also offered a free bottle of wine, the bedroom wasn't clean to any kind of standard, there were hairs in the bath the shower curtian was pink from the bottom to about a quarter of the way up which is disgusting and the room was dusty, the next morning we moved to a sea view room we were told the room wasn't ready but we could go up and put our bags in there, as we walked into the room the room attendant from house keeping came in with an attitude because she hadnt finished cleaning the room and even after we explained we were just leaving out bags she rolled her eyes and walked out, the second evening we went down to the bar and waiting around ten minutes for somebody to even come over to serve us and even when she did she was also rude, on checkout a member of housekeeping was behind the desk swearing to another member of staff, as I work in a 4 star hotel I would certainly not expect to come into contact wih people with such bad attitudes and the cleanliness was shocking! Only good thing about it was location, 5 minutes on the tram to the centre, can't honestly think of anything good to say about the hotel itself! Very disappointing

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

went to the savoy for a break with wife first impressions ok checking staff good went up to room by stairs as the one lift was busy room in need off update bathroom tidy and clean but bathroom window had no curtain for privacy windows in hotel badly need cleaned bar staff ignorant and would not get a job any where else would not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank albafoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This as got to be the worst hotel we have stayed in, windows stuffed with paper to stop draughs plaster on surfaces whats fallen off from round windows dirty bedrooms that need a good deep clean, bedrooms stink of cig smoke, we complained about this as I have a serious lung complaint and on oxygen they said they would defog the room and never did staff not very helpful although dining room staff where. I certainly don't recommend this hotel. Bed linen was clean .

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabetth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

after only reading the reviews on trip advisor after the time i could have cancelled my booking , i drove to blackpool wondering what on earth to expect, but when we arrived the girls on reception were very quick at attending to us we were given our room no and card to open door with after a few minutes of not being able to open door a member of staff told us to put it in and out very quickly ha ha, anyway after gaining entry we found the room to be adequate the bed was ok and we found more pillows in the wardrobe there was only one cup for us to have a cup of tea the following morning so we asked for another one but alas it never materialised. The following morning we went down for breakfast and there was a que for tables but we waited and were rewarded with a very nice breakfast it is self service so you can have as much as you want , we only paid 35.00 pounds for the night for both of us, so come on what on earth do you want, if you go away just to sit in your rooms then that is rather sad, go away and enjoy yourself and not just to complain, yes it wants updating and decorating but its not that bad

Room Tip: we didnt pay for a sea view so consequently didnt get one and had no view at all apart from other p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tom2663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent...uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

i was there 10 may 2013.....on arriving there i found the hotel a little outdated....a lift that carried only 3 people...and only went to 3rd floor....i was on 4th floor, so it was carrying bag up a flight of stairs...the plus side was location... right on sea front....bar prices were ok....rooms were small but adequate.....but breakfast was superb..with every choice you could find....so on the whole "they could do better" but was reasonable priced

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrisoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,027 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,806 reviews
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#47 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing