We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dump”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #66 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
SOUTH LANARKSHIRE
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What a dump”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

In all the the reviews that i have added to this site i have always tried even when hard to provide positives. I have now found one where there is nothing decent to say about what in its day was probably a grand old building.
On arrival we were given our room on finding it towards the rear of the building the smell of cooking oil was overwhellming. Room two the floor below just as bad room 3 the attic small room with paper begining to peal from the walls.
The chair in the room was stained and the towels had seen much better days.
The soft furnishings in the landings as you can see from the photos were disgusting.
Breakfast was buffet and quality was poor to average.
I saw people at the reception asking for refunds and wanting to leave early. The entertainer i only wish i could post the video i took on the phone was awfull couldnt sing and tone deaf.
One of the party i was in described marks on his sheets on arrival as someone had gone over his bed on a skate board with dirty wheels.
I was asked by the maid if i needed anything refreshed in the room i asked for fresh towels and i woulod swear the only thing she did was fold the towel up presenting it as a replacement. Bed was not made either.
I have used other Britania Hotels in the past and i have never had anything bad to say about them. They are usually a reputable company but this hotel is a dump and i think they should get rid of it from their portfolio.

Room Tip: Sorry but best advice dont go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMIVVY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,051 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    339
    357
    343
    855
See reviews for
595
826
51
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Very small car park, but parked on nearby public car park (£10 per day). Went to reception where a gentleman was complaining about the parking facilities, I supported this gentleman as the 3 reception staff were saying there was no reimbursements for public parking. Eventually manager came and sorted out a parking space on their car park.
First room stunk of stale cigarette smoke, so we asked for a move which was on the top floor, stained carpet, peeling wallpaper, smell from bathroom. We had booked for my niece's wedding there so 2 nights @ £100 per night.
As we felt it wasn't upto an acceptable standard we decided to go home and commute to the wedding, even though all our family were staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: No refunds in advance booking, so before booking ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Savoy 2-5 Nov and after spending three very uncomfortable nights decided to investigate my bed. I discovered the most horrificly filthy, stained and rotted mattress that was full of holes and with a split down the side with all the stuffing falling out. How this ever got past the housekeeping staff I can't imagine. Won't be booking with Britannia Hotels again !!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 3374 and all rooms above 2nd floor as this is the extent of the lift.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The wife and I booked and paid months in advance supposedly at a special price without any chance of a refund. Unfortunately the hotel is very tired, wall paper and paint peeling off the walls an ceilings. The Bed room window that looked onto a wall rattled all the time, so had to wedge it with paper to enable us to get to sleep in the very small double bed (only 5 ft wide) Bedside cabinet only on one side of bed, so had to use the floor on the other side to put my things. The curtains were very tatty and linings ripped.. TV was very old and BBC was in black and white. Believe at one time there had been a bath/shower, but bath leaving only the shower cubicle. As for the shower it rained harder than the water from the shower, not enough power to wash your hair. When complained engineer came and said it is working, could be low pressure when other people are showering. Alas on final morning shower door fell off onto the wife, pinning her against the wall. When we complained at the Reception the wife said she was traumatised following the incident, only to get a reply from the young girl wearing her outdoor coat "that is a big word". She didn't ask if she was ok or not, but the room cleaner did ask the wife if she was ok. Couldn't fault the catering it was excellent and the waiters very helpful. Overall not an hotel I will use again, previously we had stayed at Norbreck Castle but opted for Savoy because it was nearer the town. Luckily with the bad weather the bus and tram stops were virtually outside the hotel.. My daughter was with us and her room appeared to have been refurbed because it had a bath with shower, but she had to complain on two occasions about loud tv noise from floor above..... Definitely needs a full refurb........

Room Tip: Possibly book 214 sooner than 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Savoy from 15th to 19th October 2012. The superior room booked was excellent with a sea view and separate sitting and bedroom areas. The staff were extremely friendly and helpul if asked for something out of the ordinary. A bulb which was not working in the room was repalced immediately it was requested. The food in the restaurant was good and offered an excellent choice, the waitress service was good.

Room Tip: ring up and speak to reception before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macmerry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

my friends and i stayed here having booked a coach trip to blackpool. the hotel was lovely, our family room very spacious and the jacuzzi bath and shower an excellent bonus. the staff were very helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was good as well, on the seafront, with tram stop just across the road. we did have to turn down the radiator as it was very warm in the hotel, but our overall stay was very enjoyable x

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Savoy on three previous occasions over the years, but sadly after this last visit it will now be our last. For parking and position you cannot fault the hotel, nice part of the North shore, easy bus and tram stops, so nothing has changed there. The attitude of the younger members of waiting on staff i was taken aback by, rude and have a could not care less attitude, absolutely shocking the way i was spoken to when asking for a table at breakfast, which by the way is on large round tables where it is a free for all who sits where, (ala Butlins). The hotel is aimed at the older generation not a young family like ourselves, the food was appalling and not one of us ate our evening meal. The bar staff were lovely and friendly being more mature members of staff. Also this is the first hotel i have ever stayed in where i could not order anything from my room before going down to pay for it first, stunning eh?
The rooms were also dated and if you are used to nice flat screen tv's at home and all mod cons then you are in for a shock when you open the doors here, dated crt box shape tv on a piece of angle iron bolted to the wall, my nans old wardrobe in the corner of the room and a table and chairs i saw on Antiques Roadshow the other week, without the price tag to match.
Summing up, dated hotel in need of a lot of money throwing it at to appeal to the younger generation, all the young (teen) members of staff going on a training course in learning how to speak to paying customers, or get someone in who actually wants to work.
Ok for a night if its just a bed you are after as some good one night offers can be found online.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton about half a mile further south
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 70 in Blackpool
3,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 70 in Blackpool
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 70 in Blackpool
971 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#35 of 70 in Blackpool
1,007 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing