We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel tired and needs a refurb”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The wife and I booked and paid months in advance supposedly at a special price without any chance of a refund. Unfortunately the hotel is very tired, wall paper and paint peeling off the walls an ceilings. The Bed room window that looked onto a wall rattled all the time, so had to wedge it with paper to enable us to get to sleep in the very small double bed (only 5 ft wide) Bedside cabinet only on one side of bed, so had to use the floor on the other side to put my things. The curtains were very tatty and linings ripped.. TV was very old and BBC was in black and white. Believe at one time there had been a bath/shower, but bath leaving only the shower cubicle. As for the shower it rained harder than the water from the shower, not enough power to wash your hair. When complained engineer came and said it is working, could be low pressure when other people are showering. Alas on final morning shower door fell off onto the wife, pinning her against the wall. When we complained at the Reception the wife said she was traumatised following the incident, only to get a reply from the young girl wearing her outdoor coat "that is a big word". She didn't ask if she was ok or not, but the room cleaner did ask the wife if she was ok. Couldn't fault the catering it was excellent and the waiters very helpful. Overall not an hotel I will use again, previously we had stayed at Norbreck Castle but opted for Savoy because it was nearer the town. Luckily with the bad weather the bus and tram stops were virtually outside the hotel.. My daughter was with us and her room appeared to have been refurbed because it had a bath with shower, but she had to complain on two occasions about loud tv noise from floor above..... Definitely needs a full refurb........

Room Tip: Possibly book 214 sooner than 217
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,587 - 1,593 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Savoy from 15th to 19th October 2012. The superior room booked was excellent with a sea view and separate sitting and bedroom areas. The staff were extremely friendly and helpul if asked for something out of the ordinary. A bulb which was not working in the room was repalced immediately it was requested. The food in the restaurant was good and offered an excellent choice, the waitress service was good.

Room Tip: ring up and speak to reception before you travel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

my friends and i stayed here having booked a coach trip to blackpool. the hotel was lovely, our family room very spacious and the jacuzzi bath and shower an excellent bonus. the staff were very helpful, and the rooms were clean and comfortable, the location was good as well, on the seafront, with tram stop just across the road. we did have to turn down the radiator as it was very warm in the hotel, but our overall stay was very enjoyable x

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggsk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We have stayed at the Savoy on three previous occasions over the years, but sadly after this last visit it will now be our last. For parking and position you cannot fault the hotel, nice part of the North shore, easy bus and tram stops, so nothing has changed there. The attitude of the younger members of waiting on staff i was taken aback by, rude and have a could not care less attitude, absolutely shocking the way i was spoken to when asking for a table at breakfast, which by the way is on large round tables where it is a free for all who sits where, (ala Butlins). The hotel is aimed at the older generation not a young family like ourselves, the food was appalling and not one of us ate our evening meal. The bar staff were lovely and friendly being more mature members of staff. Also this is the first hotel i have ever stayed in where i could not order anything from my room before going down to pay for it first, stunning eh?
The rooms were also dated and if you are used to nice flat screen tv's at home and all mod cons then you are in for a shock when you open the doors here, dated crt box shape tv on a piece of angle iron bolted to the wall, my nans old wardrobe in the corner of the room and a table and chairs i saw on Antiques Roadshow the other week, without the price tag to match.
Summing up, dated hotel in need of a lot of money throwing it at to appeal to the younger generation, all the young (teen) members of staff going on a training course in learning how to speak to paying customers, or get someone in who actually wants to work.
Ok for a night if its just a bed you are after as some good one night offers can be found online.

Room Tip: Try the Hilton about half a mile further south
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

After booking to stay at the metropole hotel as it was more central we recieved a phone call to say it was full and would we go to the savoy about a mile walk from the centre. We went to the Savoy and had a good stay For what we paid it was value for money breakfast,evening meal and a free bottle of wine.A large victorian hotel in need of updating in places and general repairs A bonus to this hotel is free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sujo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Despite the numerous adverse comments in the Trip Advisor reviews, we chose to stay at the Savoy because of its prominent, seafront location on the north shore, with available parking, availability of rooms and reasonable half-board rates - and surely it could not be as bad as previous guests had described.
First impression was not good. The entrance ramp and corridor from the car park to reception was grubby, the windows dirty with too much evidence of debris from smokers. However, the reception staff were welcoming, cheerful, efficient and friendly, which was a better start.
For a two night midweek break we booked a family and double room. These were conveniently adjacent, on the third floor at the rear. If you raised the frosted sash windows the few inches possible, to see out, one had a view of drab walls and windows over abundant pigeon and seagull poo on the ledges. The lace curtains needed a good wash, being dirty and mouldy.
The rooms themselves were adequate for a couple of nights, although in need of a freshening up and a carpet deep clean. The springs in the mattresses had seen better days, although we actually all slept well, once the windows had been opened to try to reduce the sauna-like temperatures [even though the radiators were not on]. The family room was particularly large with two double beds and bunk beds too. The double room was much less spacious. In both rooms the ensuite bathrooms were acceptable, with good showers. There were no nice touches like a bath mat on the floor, although there was a non-slip mat in the bath itself. The thin towels were small in number and size.
We enjoyed a breakfast and dinner meal package in the Gilbert Restaurant, looking a little tired in places. Breakfast was totally self service [even tea and coffee], but was fine for those with a good appetite - the sausages particularly recommended. The plates were always hot which was appreciated. Dinner needed to be booked in advance and was served at different times so that the few staff on duty could cope with the numbers, although service was often slow. One suspected that the staff, although they tried hard, lacked decent training. Food was enjoyable and of a good quality with a reasonable choice of items on the menu. Drinks had to be obtained from the bar and if one was unwise to use a credit card a £2 supplement was added. Room cards seemed to have different coloured stamps on them indicating whether items could be charged to the room account or not - but it was not clear what criteria was used to decide on this.
Evening musical entertainment was provided in the main lounge and this was enjoyed by the coach parties using the hotel as their base. They seemed to opt for early meal sittings and were soon installed in the lounge seats.
Overall we had a good break in Blackpool, enjoying some mild and sunny October weather. The illuminations were great [best seen on foot], the Tower Circus entertaining [despite the absence of the water finale], the Tower Ballroom fun [the children enjoyed the organ music and watching the dancers], the trams were enjoyed [but the adults missed the old style trams, although there were some historic trams running at night] and the trip up the tower itself was memorable especially with the 4D experience beforehand.
It would be difficult to recommend the hotel to others, but if one can cope with "seen better days" shabby and a slow lift that only holds three people, one could enjoy a short stay in this well-located, externally impressive Britannia hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps try an upgrade?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were not sure what to expect and reading some reviews but we found a warm welcome at the savoy. Our family room had two double beds and bunkbeds so more than enough for the 4 of us. Our room wad clean and very nice and warm. We had breakfast and dinner and both meals were spectacular with plenty of food and choice. The kids loved the food too. We even had a complimentary bottle on wine. All in all we could not fault this hotel and will definately stay again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#23 of 73 in Blackpool
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
4,225 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#4 of 73 in Blackpool
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $37 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing