We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear, the bad reviews must be taken seriously - mispelt hotel, try HOVEL!”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Having looked for a hotel to stay in on a journey we decided to risk the Savoy as it would be our first Blackpool hotel. Before going any further I have to say that the staff were proffesional, nice & very helpful (except the breakfast waitress who ignored us this morning because we dared to enter the dining room when it should have been open).

Reception - having to fight through 10 smokers stood INSIDE the tiny doorway put my back up & tainted our clothes & children. The receptionist was lovely, very polite & informed us of breakfast times etc.

The decor - tired, dirty & not appealing - public areas had chairs & chaise longe that were stained, torn & broken. the tables & bar were sticky & grimy & the overall atmosphere was one of not being cleaned regularly. I thought it was perhaps from new years eve but teh grime was ingrained.

The room - Gosh! I thought the decor was from the 60's, the beds badly made and surfaces had ring marks from crockery & badly stained. The bathroom floor was dirty, I have a question for the GM - what is your head housekeeper doing? Do you know? No random room checks? No SOP's in place? Having been in hospitality for 25 years & worked in 5 star & local hotels this was dire!

CAUTION- the smoking ban does not cover hotel rooms - so as a family we were alloctaed a room on th smoking floor!!! This was changed at 10.30pm by a very polite & helpful staff though why we were put there in the first place baffles me.

Atmosphere - very oldy worldy (almost carry on/falty towers) with dogs allowed in rooms (and to bark at 1am). The ambience was odd, almost last flings of a bygone era.

Breakfast - ample, though served by a very disgruntled member of staff who ignored us as I have already said. The service areas were dirty from the previous day, with spilt juice having dried into sticky puddles, the cereal dispensers were coated in yesterdays detritis & the bistro needs some serious deep cleaning.

All in all I have to say that most of the staff need to be commended, forget teh budget pricing - BUDGET IS WHAT YOU GET, and stay elsewhere. I have to wonder if the owners of hotels read these reviews?

Take heed folks, very poor indeed

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel - seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SetonSteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 2,199 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2011

The worst hotel iv ever stayed in would not recommend to anybody! Dirty rooms, paper hanging off wall, no view out of windows, nettin on windows is black when its supposed be white, cracks all over the walls, dust all over the place and ignorent staff who don't care about there guests at all before I even checked in the receptionist was treating a bunch of old people like dirt and didn't care about what they had to say. DO NOT STAY HERE I WARN U!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHillin1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Booked at last minute at very reasonable rate. Room ok but very dated with a few lights out in the bathroom. However sea view so nice view of the illuminations. Breakfast was not particularly appealing as congealed and dining room packed. The hotel was full of senior citizens on coach trips so at 48 I felt like a spring chicken!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lambertruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

booked overnight dinner bed and breakfast could not book in till3pm booked in at 3.10 told there was only spaces for 6 and 6.30 for meal. went down at 6.30 about 40 people sat in room 2 waiting on staff. ordered roast beef yorkshire pudding and char grilled gammon waited quite awhile the waitress disappeared eventually brought meals which were cold requested hot meal. brought back 10 min later hot but inedible beef tough gammon incinerated veg just mush we then over heard her telling someone the chefs gone for night out presumbly she was doing food. At breakfast we went down for 8am when it opened the waitress was sat talking to a couple at one of the other tables where she remained throughout our breakfast which was buffet and again cold the bacon was so dry looked like it had been reheated many times.If the hotel dont want to offer good quality food then I suggest they just do rooms definatly wouldnt reccomend this hotel .funnily enough at no point were we asked if evrything was ok even when we checked out probably didnt want to hear reply

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yorkie076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

husband booked this as a suprise for our anniversary. on arrival we were given our room key. the room had a double bed, a single bed and bunk beds in the room. windows were obsured glass. it was more like a cell than a hotel room. my husband asked if there was anything else available and we were given another room. in the room was bunk beds and a single bed with another room with a double bed in it. this was quite nice and at least we had a view out the window. the hotel was busy with people of the older generation dressed in cowboy hats. when we tried to run the bath no water came out of hot tap. we rang reception and again offered to move us. we viewed 4 different rooms and decided to keep our room but have a bath in one of the other rooms with the promise our tap would be fixed.it never got fixed. my advice stay away if u under 60

Room Tip: choose another hotel unless 60+ and into cowboys and indians and organ players
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

We booked 3 nights at The Savoy, and after reading many of the reviews were quite concerned. The welcome we received was warm and friendly, our room was a decent size,and had two bay windows, the beds were very clean and comfortable. The staff in the bars and restaurant were all happy and pleasant, there were several choices for our evening meal, it was well served and presented.There was plenty of choice for breakfast, the bacon and the fried bread were the best we had been offered in any hotel.Even though the hotel was very busy, it was well organised, and efficient,It is an old building, and could do with a renovation, but we would have no problem returning to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LAKEDISTRICTTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

One or two points that you might want to know.
The reception is warm and welcoming, the large hotel s positioned on the North promenade at Gynn Square about a mile from the town centre. The food wasnt bad and the staff were pleasant, but choose a room carefully.....ask for a room on the "outside" (street or front) because if your unlucky enough to be allocated a room on the "inner" part of the building you will be over the kitchens and a HUGE ventilating fan that is exceptionally noisy right upto 2 in the morning.
We were in a room that when we opened a window the force of the fan sucked up the curtains. The room itself was adequate but needs attention. To be fair, the hotel is being refurbished but I dont see how they can overcome the noise/fan factor.

Theres limited parking, but theres a "pay" carpark on the street at the side of the hotel, but dont park anywhere on the promenade or you will most definately get a ticket! Theres trams and buses right outside the hotel to get you about, so if your lucky enough to get a carparking spot use the public transport or you will lose your space. Hop on a tram to Cleveleys or Fleetwood for an afternoon out, although there isnt much at either place to attract the younger generation.

Room Tip: avoid the inner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worrascam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Village Hotel Blackpool
Village Hotel Blackpool
#31 of 73 in Blackpool
4,104 reviews
0 mi away
Maples Hotel
Maples Hotel
#24 of 73 in Blackpool
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#61 of 73 in Blackpool
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: Queens Promenade, Blackpool FY2 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $45 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Britannia Savoy Hotel Blackpool is a popular and intimate Blackpool hotel, located on the quieter North Shore. It is nearby many of Blackpool's famous attractions and sits proudly overlooking the beach so if you are looking for Blackpool hotels on the seafront then consider the Savoy - fantastic location and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing