We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend This To Everyone, Great!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The South Lea Hotel
Ranked #225 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
newcastle
2 reviews
“Recommend This To Everyone, Great!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Booked after seeing reviews on Tripadvisor and I have to say we were not disppointed. The Hotel was lovely and clean, the rooms were spotless and the hosts Jeff and Carol were very welcoming. The breakfast was excellent with a choice of fruits, cereals as well as full english we didn't know when to stop! I would recommend ths hotel to anyone, especially if you want a good view of the lights because ths place is right on the seafront. We've already booked!

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, good clean rooms, good food
  • Disliked — haveing to go home
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank longtallbobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
38
29
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Stayed at the South Lea for the first time and it won't be our last. Great welcome, Fantastic room and hearty breakfast. Jeff & Carol are great hosts and great company while having a quiet drink in the cozy bar at night. Just don't get Jeff talking about the Laundry!! Highly recomended !!!

  • Liked — Liked everything about it!!
  • Disliked — Jeff's Laundry stories, Ha Ha !!!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

We found this hotel by accident, and it has to be the best accident ever. From the first moment we stepped in, we were made to feel so welcome and at home. The owners, Carol and Jeff, are the nicest people you could wish to meet, and will go out of their way to make sure you have the best time possible. The bar is a wonderful place to wind down after a busy day walking around the amusements, and the breakfast is as good as you could ask for. We have been back several times since, and Im sure we will be back many more times in the future, if they will have us that is!
Many thanks, Hayley, Tim and Shaun, Stockport, England

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockportfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2008

We went to Blackpool for the weekend, South-lea Hotel is in a great location.

Jeff and Carol are very friendly and you are made to feel very welcome, the food was excellent and the hotel is clean to the highest standard.

Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank morrisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Back again to this little gem and just as good as the last time I stayed. Jeff and Carol cannot do enough for you, they even offered to run me and my partner into town for our night out! The place is spotless and the breakfast is very tasty with plenty of choice. Well done again!

  • Liked — The Cleanliness and Service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank minegirlSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

A Little Gem,

On a business trip to Blackpool, myself and a college stayed at The South Lea Hotel, and we had to report back about the high standards of luxury and spacious rooms, the quality levels throughout The South Lea Hotel were very high
The owners Carol and Jeff were fantastic, very helpful and the attention they paid to details that made this place stand out from the rest
To sum it up, The location and ambiance is very good and I would recommend a stay here to anyone and I will be returning soon with my family

M Mushen
Leicester

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Wickedmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2008

Situated just off the main road and opposite Gynn Square, the view from the conservatory is good you can sit in comfort and look at the lights. The landlords Jeff and Carol make you feel at home are very helpful. the rooms are spotless and clean especially the room we were in the premier suite.

Spoilt for choice at breakfast with a full English plenty of fresh fruit and choice of cereals. an evening meal if you want it

A short bus ride to the town, this is an excellent hotel with a relaxed atmosphere a gem of a place Im glad I found it and will definitely book for next year.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank casparharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
2.5 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 127 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#324 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
3.2 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The South Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The South Lea Hotel

Property: The South Lea Hotel
Address: 4 Willshaw Road | Gynn Gardens, Blackpool FY2 9SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The South Lea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's high standard cosy rooms and low prices we offer excellent value. The superb North Shore location with lovely sea views in the heart of Gynn Square,the South-Lea Hotel is a special place for families and couples to explore and relax. We are a only 50 yards away from the tram station with easy access to Blackpool. All our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee making facilities. We take great pride in the standard of our rooms and the service we offer and look forward to welcoming you soon. There is a £10 deposit per room for towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The South Lea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing