We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORSE THAN A CAVE!!”
Review of Northlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northlands Hotel
Ranked #783 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WORSE THAN A CAVE!!”
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Lads enjoyed the bar. Maybe I am a snob but I couldnt sleep in those beds and I checked out early. Beds were damp and disgusting with no mattress protectors. We slept on top of the beds in our clothes rather than make contact with the filthy sheets. I looked in the drawer of the bed and it was black with mould. No hot water in taps. Kettle didnt work. View from window over flat roof full of junk/fag ends/discarded takeaways. The worst place I have ever stayed in and I will NEVER go back there again. It should be condemned. Awful place. This isnt a joke, but people are actually allowed to take their PIGEONS on holiday with them!! There is a sign in the window!!

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank slabsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    25
    9
    9
    80
See reviews for
18
15
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2010

The best thing about this establishment is the location First impressions when entering building was a foisty smell and not very clean. We arrived at 2.00 pm Saturday afternoon and within 15 mins we were allocated our rooms which was a good point . When entering the room it smelled fresher than the foyer. In it there was a double bed and bunk beds. When the bottom bunk was sat on it was extremely noisy from the old springs, the double bed springs were nearly protruding through the mattress which did not have a cover on, the bed clothes were not clean. This to me was unacceptable the mattress was very uncomfortable, I slept intermittently, and because the bed clothes looked as if they hadn't been washed I slept on top of the covers in my clothes Fortunately I was only staying one night so I put up with the situation ,if it had been any longer I would have moved to another hotel. Two other members of the party, in two different rooms, complained about the damp and smell in the rooms. On the plus side the staff were helpful and very pleasant which makes a lot of difference. I stayed in a boarding house in 1979 when my son was a tiny baby which was more up to date and cleaner than this one. This could be a nice place to stay but needs to be brought into the 21st century I see that the current owners have just taken over I am afraid they re going to have a lot of work and expense to bring this place up to par. Also the price of £30 per night does not reflect what we got . Two adults and one child can stay in Durham Castle for £56 bed and breakfast - no comparison I wont be staying here again and would not recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slaley56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
midlands
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2009

ideal location for shops, entertainment and everthing within easy walking distance.Blackpool is moving slowly in to the 21st century at last. with new shops and traffic free areas and much cleaner than from other years.
owners Wayne and Tamara were friendly and helpful but.............. breakfast arrived cold and unnapetising ... i did not want baked beans but was not offered an alternative like tomato or mushrooms though tea and coffee and toast was plentiful.
our twin beddded room was cramped my husband and i took it in turns to
get dressed/ undressed,no chair in the room and no hooks to hang wet raincoats/ jackets. i was wary of the wardrobe which was a bit unstable.
fortunately we did not let this spoil our weekend break

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornishelves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2009

As soon as we got to the hotel we was made welcome and its a very friendly enviroment, the owners wayne and tamara who had only taken over in october are really friendly and provide a great service, this hotel is great for families, groups hens and stags and its an all round hotel and is 10/10 for everything, great bar, very clean and the rooms are top quality, if you are looking for a place in blackpool, the northlands hotel is the place to be and has a great location

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macca_NFFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2009

On booking were advised that there was a stag party in at the same time since I needed accomodation for two teenagers. The welcome was friendly and we were shown to our rooms immediately. The rooms were small but functional for with en suite shower and loo and plenty of clothes hanging and drawer space. Tea and coffee making facilities were available as was a hairdrier and electric socket for phone chargers etc. and we were accomodated thoughtfully in that we were separated from the stag party as best Wayne and Tamara could manage. The lounge/bar was comfortable and had the usual gaming machines, pool table and tv. The bar was reasonably priced and fairly well stocked. Wayne and Tamara were friendly and helpful hosts. Breakfast was served between 9 and 9.30 in a well presented dining room and was enough to set you up for the day. A wide choice of cereal, cooked breakfast, toast and jams, tea, coffee and juice were on offer. The hotel is situated very near to the busy central pier and is in easy reach of the town centre for shops and bars. The sea front is not far away and the pleasure beach was about a 20 minute walk along the promenade or a short tram ride from either the tower or central pier pick up points. The only negative was the lack of car parking at the hotel itself, but a few hundred yards away at the bottom of the road is a large municipal car park which cost in excess of £20 to park from Friday evening to Tuesday morning. Overall the hotel was a good choice for us and we would certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trancesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2008

Had a great time at the Northlands for a hen weekend they made us feel very welcome and the bar was open until the early hours. Rooms clean and the hotel is great for access to the tower and nightlife would book again.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
Thank dizzydorawales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2007

Located very close to the tower, shops and bars. Couldn't ask for a much better location. Friendly welcome on arrival. Room was small but very clean and comfortable. Bar prices are fair considering how late it stayed open.
Will stay here again if in Blackpool.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timttrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#228 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.7 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#92 of 127 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#324 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
1.8 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northlands Hotel

Property: Northlands Hotel
Address: 31-33 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #783 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Northlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing