We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel twice in a week, first time with 4 couples on a golf & spa weekends, what great value. 5 course carvery in Bucca De Beppo Restaurant, was delicious, breakfast was excellent. Rooms were large and clean, and modern, with comfy beds. 2nd time we came with the children, swimming pool, indoor and outdoor, kids had a great time, would definitely stay again, friendly staff, quick check, Starbucks coffee shop, bar serving food plus the restaurant

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicshep4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi "Nicshep4",

Thank you for your recent review/s of Village Blackpool.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed both of your stays with us and that adults and children had such a great time.

We do try and cater for all and its lovely to hear that a good time was had by all.

We do hope that if you are in the Blackpool area again you come back and visit us?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,255 - 3,261 of 4,092 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a spa day the the De vere today, I cannot recommend the Spa enough, from the staff, to the treatments and the facilities. We came out of the spa feeling really relaxed and rejuvenated. As we had not eaten all day we decided to have dinner at the victory bar. BIG MISTAKE. The staff behind the bar clearly did not want to be there, its not hard to crack a smile is it!!! We ordered nachos to share as a starter with two burgers to follow. Not exactly rocket science. After what seemed like a lifetime of waiting, and having to move tables due the cackling drunken golf wag at the table behind, we eventually got our meals...with the starter and the main all coming out at the same time. We decided it was too much hassle to send it back so had them together. Nachos were mediocre, but the burger was horrendous. Dry and stale bun which was that brittle it fell apart as soon as you touched it. The burger, if it can be described as that was a nasty,dry and shriveled effort which was to me, inedible. I expressed this and received a refund. I then went for a burger at Mcdonalds, it is a poor state of affairs when a Mcdonalds processed burger is significantly better quality than one from a 4 star hotel! Sort it out victory. All in all a good day, just don't bank on the food being any good!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi "Marie F",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I am sorry to hear that after such a great spa day you were disappointed with the food and service within Victory Pub. I will pass your feedback to both our Food & Beverage Manager and Executive Chef.

I will also pass on your lovely comments to our Spa Manager and her team.

If you would like to discuss your issues further then please do not hesitate to contact me at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed for two nights in Febuary half term with my fiancée. The staff are pleasant and the hotel looks impressive as you arrive (even if those speed bumps as you drive down to the hotel car park are a little harsh and unecessary).
The hotel itself is not the best village hotel I have stayed in and does in parts seem a little tired - however for the price we paid I think it was well worth it. Breakfast was excellent as were the staff and the rooms were standard Village fair and cleaned to a high standard.
It costs about 6 pound for a taxi to Blackpool itself but if you think of parking costs, fuel etc I think this is the best way to get into town.
Hotel is very busy with guest using the leisure facilities but these guests didn't interfere with us having a good time. If I was to go to Blackpool again I wouldn't hesitate returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleythe3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi "ashleythe3rd",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that both you and your fiancé enjoyed your recent stay with us. It sounds like you enjoy staying at Village Hotels and its great that if you are in the Blackpool area again that you would stay with us.

We do hope that you will return to Village Blackpool again soon.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed over for one night after attending the LBV Red Rose Business awards
The room was excellently furnished in a contemporary style
The bed was large and very comfortable and we slept well
As there were many guests at the hotel who were attending the awards evening, the
Management provided a complementary champagne and canape party and arranged for
taxis to ferry us to the Wnter Gardens
An excellent service!
The breakfast was extremely good and all the staff were very helpful and courteous.
Will definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi "Josephine S",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

I love the title of your review ... we are pleased that you enjoyed the champagne and canapés before attending the awards and that you thoroughly enjoyed your overnight stay. Your comments will be passed to the team on site.

We do hope that you do come back and stay with us again.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a 'Living Social' deal so thought we would try the restaurant. We live in the St Annes area but its tricky to get to the Hotel by bus, have to change but we thought we would try it anyway. Staff were really friendly and tried hard, full marks to them. the food was really nice, had calamari then Pizza both excellent, good portions so could not manage a sweet and the red wine Barola was really good. Definitely worth visiting the restaurant if you are staying at the hotel. Would try again on a good day in summer as I think we have found a bus route involving a walkable distance from Devonshire square area. PS I have just done ratings for the restaurant as we were not staying at the hotel, although I have been to the spa before and it is good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi "Allan R",

Thank you for your recent review of our Main Restaurant.

I know that the team within the restaurant will be thrilled with your comments.

I do know that there are bus stops directly across from the hotel and also at Blackpool Victoria Hospital so not sure if this would be an option for you in the future?

We do hope you will return and have a meal with us again.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last week for 2 nights whilst we stayed in Blackpool and we cannot fault it! We actually stayed in the De Vere in Newcastle the previous weekend and much prefer this one! Our room was so comfortable and we had a great view of the outside pool from our window. The staff were very friendly on arrival and helpful.

We went in the swimming pool and spa etc and stayed there for hours, its just a very relaxing place to be. The outside pool is heated so we were in that in the beginning of March!

We both have no complaints and have both said we will definitely be returning next time we come to Blackpool. It is in a great location and is right next to the zoo if you would like to go there. Had two great nights sleep there, the bed is so cosy and the room is a perfect temperature but you do have heating and air conditioning if not. TV is great with lots of channels, plenty to do in the hotel when having a night in. Well worth the money! Thanks!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnybumboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Hi "bunnybumboo",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that both you and your boyfriend had such a great time and loved the room that you were allocated overlooking the outdoor pool and also had the opportunity to utilise it.

I will ensure that the team on site are aware of your positive comments and we look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have stayed here many times as we have family in nearby Lytham St. Annes. The last stay was in February on my birthday, my husband paid for an upgrade to an Upper Class room as a surprise. The room overlooked the golf course but was quite small for an upgraded room, the only difference that we could see was the Starbuck drinks package, toiletries, Sky Movie package and the Bose docking station for an iPod. The hanging space for our clothes was compromised by the drawer unit underneath that meant that our clothes were crumpled at the bottom. The room decor is quite gloomy and I found it difficult to dry my hair and apply make up in the poor light. The iPod docking station was excellent though.

We have previously eaten in the main restaurant (Buca di Beppo) and do not rate it at all, poor selection, small portions, expensive for what you get but nice surroundings which are spoilt by surly staff, so opted to eat in the Victory Pub and Kitchen. We had some vouchers which were given to us on arrival that we tried to use in the Victory Pub but when we presented them we were told that they were not valid (the vouchers are very misleading, the logo matched but the name of the bar didn't).

The Breakfast was good, plenty of items, all hot and nicely cooked, the toaster (which they have replaced from the usual slooooow hotel toasters) had a bit of a problem as a piece of bread had lodged in it causing it to smoke very badly and the staff had to take it away for a short while to clear it but no problem.

The Starbucks at the front of the hotel is very nice where you can relax with friends/family and chill out. We looked at the leisure facilities and swimming pool, they looked inviting but didn't use them.

In the evening on the check-in desk, I noticed that there was a website for Upper Class residents that included special offers, I asked the receptionist what it was and she apologised for not telling us about when we checked in, I tried to access it but was unable to so returned to the check-in desk and asked if there was a problem with it, she told me she would call head office in the morning to investigate, we were leaving the next day and she assured us she would e-mail us on our return home, and she did, and explained there had been a problem with the website which was a shame as we may have used some of the offers while we were there

We would stay here again because the surroundings and environment are very pleasant but in reality the hotel has no real competition and we feel that the management is complacent and don't need to try too hard.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walki_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Hi "Walki_1",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We are pleased that you did enjoy your overall stay, but would like to apologise that you were not informed of all offers available on your arrival.

We do have alternative upgraded rooms which I would be more than happy to advise you on should you return to hotel in the near future.

Please do not hesitate to contact me direct at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

I will also ensure that the Management team on site are also aware of you feedback which is appreciated.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,255 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#28 of 73 in Blackpool
3,375 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,244 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $45 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing