We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities, but beware of unauthorised charges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked 2 rooms via booking.com. One room was fine although there's no air-con so can very hot. Other room was booked with a child - no bedding provided and it was a problem getting hold of some. The hotel also charged credit card for a 'third room' with another night's stay - this was taken without my prior knowledge so I had hassle in trying to get this sorted out. Breakfast was ok. The pool was a good amenity.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mint44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi "tandlb",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool.

We were sorry to hear that you had some issues during your stay, in particular with bedding for your child and also with a charge made to your credit card. I do hope that both issues were rectified for you swiftly?

If you do wish to discuss these issues further with me, please do not hesitate to contact me direct via email at Janine.whur@devere-hotels.com

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,260 - 3,266 of 3,887 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with grandchildren. A very nice stay. The room was spacious with 2 double beds. The only thing is the rooms are quite dark. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. The zoo is right next door and Stanley park is across the road. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianec53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi "Dianec53",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel with your grandchildren, we do hope you will return to the hotel in the near future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having read some reviews on here i was surprised, as i had stayed at the Herons Reach in the past, and had always found the hotel to be good. Thank goodness the bad reviews on here were false. All the staff i encountered were helpful and polite, I was there on a dinner, B&B basis, the room was clean and tidy, although a little to warm even with the window open. Dinner was as good as it gets, with the sweet the star of the show, Great waitress. Breakfast was great Full English, black pudding outstanding, polite and efficient staff, and call me old fashioned but i like being show to my table, even if i wait a couple of minutes. On checkout Amanda on reception made sure our stay had been enjoyable, and dispatched us on our way with a smile. Well done Village staff we had a great stay and will be back, as will our friends. EXCELLENT

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi "gorbash_13",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased that your stay was faultless and great news that you will return and visit us again in the near future ... we will look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a relaxing 2 day weekend stay at De Vere Herons View Urban Village, Blackpool, which is about 10 minutes by bus off the Promenade. Due to this, you'd never know you were in Blackpool at all if you hadn't followed the sign posts to Blackpool Zoo which is right next door.
We arrived early Friday evening having battled with the inevitable M6 traffic. Before we left the Midlands we had a call from De Vere to ask if we wanted to book a table for dinner as they were filling up for the evening - a very nice touch.
After a quick look around and a swift drink on the patio, we went into dinner.
The hotel has a Italian restaurant, we had booked a package including Breakfast and Evening meal, the deal offers a set 3 course menu or allows you to mix and match up to £14.50 each enabling any surplus to be room chargable. So plenty of choice to be had.
On top of the restaurant there is a bar in which you could chose to dine, this option we tried the following evening. This was not as pleasurable as our order was taken wrong, once it was corrected, my food came out with the wrong sauce on it. Further frustration was the hour it took for our food to arrive. Possibly Saturday night volume of clients may be partly the reason.
When we were booking, I mistakingly selected the Upper Deck room option, which gave us a premium room. This cost an extra £20 which I was told wasn't worth it. As this was our first visit I cannot comment as having nothing to compare it to, but the room was very nice.
One improvement would be the addition of air conditioning although I guess that for 40 weeks of the year it'd not be an essential?
There was a slight hum of an aircon unit from the bar but our tiredness soon got us off to sleep.
The Village had both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, both of which we took advantage of, spa facilities that we wanted to but never got around to, and an on site Starbucks which supplied the tea & coffee for our room.
The staff we had contact with were all very attentive, courteous and seemed happy to help. We took a trip into Blackpool Saturday morning, the No. 20 bus takes you in from the main road and for £4.50 you can get a day ticket that lets you travel the trams as well.
I recommend the comedy mural that is laid on the promenade floor outside the Tower if you want to spend a good hour having a laugh.
Blackpool sea front is exactly what you would expect, cheap and cheerful and quite often run down and tacky. Herons View demonstrated that there is another side to the pride of Lancashire - It's Blackpool Jim, but not as we know it

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluenozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi "Bluenozee",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Hotel and Blackpool in general.

We apologise for the issue you did encounter within in the Pub with your meal ... I hope this was rectified for you?

We do hope that you will stay with us again should you return to Blackpool?

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Went here just recently for a 2 day break - lovely hotel just far enough out of the hustle and bustle of Blackpool - the weather was glorious and we were just over the road from Stanley Park so had a nice walk out without having to get in the car. Hotel staff were lovely and polite nothing too much trouble,we had trouble with the TV but a guy was up at the room within minutes to sort it out. My hubby enjoyed the indoor and outdoor pool whilst I used the Spa facilities - again the staff were lovely and everywhere was lovely and clean. Would definitely stay here again for a short break - for families the Blackpool Zoo is next door too ! Italian restaurant was good and fairly price, the Victory pub was okay for pub grub ....albeit they served me the wrong meal - but hey I was relaxing - it was nice and I decided to just go with the flow and eat it !

Room Tip: We were asked if we would like to upgrade our room for an 'Upper Deck' which was very nice h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi "Karen L",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are pleased that you utilised the facilities whilst staying at the hotel and it sounds like you had a lovely time.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel again.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Situated in well-kept grounds close to Stanley Park and Blackpool Zoo, we found this close enough to the main attractions but far enough away from all the hubbub. It's a long walk (about 45 mins) so ask at reception for the bus timetable or book a taxi. The room was okay, although far too hot because of the weather - could do with a fan being provided! The leisure facilities are fantastic, especially the outdoor pool which is heated and surrounded by sun loungers. There's also an indoor pool, sauna, steam room, gym and fitness classes. There's an Italian restaurant, a pub kitchen and a Starbucks. Breakfast was a buffet with both cooked and continental and is served in the Italian restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Hi "darphilip",

Thank you for your recent review of Village Blackpool,

Great to hear that you enjoyed using our facilities during your stay. We apologise that your room was uncomfortable due to the heat, we do provide fans via Reception and am sorry you were not made aware of this.

We do hope you will return to the hotel in the very near future.

Thanks,

Janine Whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nice hotel more a 3+ than a 4 , rooms not much different from a premier inn having said that leisure facilities were great , the victory pub good with large portions of food , . Breakfast good but busy would recommend if you want away from the buzz a taxi costs £7.80 . The only down side is they try and get you to upgrade while waiting on your room heard them asking everyone while we were waiting even though we were only 10min early

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jwhur, Guest Relations Manager at Village Hotel Blackpool, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Hi "Caroline E",

Thank you for your recent review of Herons' Reach.

We are glad that you did enjoy your overall stay and would hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the near future.

Thanks,

Janine whur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,161 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
877 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 73 in Blackpool
1,044 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $56 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing