We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible, terrible food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013 whilst visiting family in Blackpool, having found a great groupon offer. Upon arrival we were really impressed with the building and grounds. Unfortunately we were put in a room right next to the outside pool & rather loud pump right outside. They did kindly move us to another room which was better. The rooms are really dark, there is no main light in the room which I find strange - you have to go found the whole room turning every lamp on possible to get a good amount of light! I didn't realise the hotel allowed dogs and we did have a barking dog over in a room across the hall from us. We couldn't use the spa/swimming facilities due to public children swimming lessons and because of these, the reception and Starbucks was full of loud kids the majority of the day, but didn't bother us too much with our room far from reception and being out most the day. On the Sat evening we used our groupon offer for a 3 course meal, what a treat!! NOT! Literally the worst food I have ever eaten! Starter as dry, our slow cooked lamb was dry, tasteless and like horse meat. The chips were all burnt and gravy completely tasteless, I asked for mint sauce hoping it would give it a bit of taste, didn't have any, asked for ketchup, didnt get bought any! Lastly my boyfriends ice cream came out melted and my 'Baked Cheesecake with a Raspberry & Hazlenut Sauce' came out in the form of a lemon parfait!!! I am not one to complain usually, but on this occasion we felt we had to make the manager at the restaurant aware of our disappointment, after all it is a Devere hotel and usually means quality!! When I said the cheesecake was so far away from actually being a cheesecake - it didn't even have a cheesecake base!! - the manager said "it did used to have a base!".... think they need to check what they are selling to people. I wondered if we got bad food because we were groupon but she assured me every got the same menu. Tell you what, I'd feel sick if I had paid nearly £23 for that meal!! Long and short of it, I'd stay at the hotel again with another groupon deal but would definitely eat elsewhere!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the first floor, next to the outdoor pool pump
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samthehobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,813 - 3,819 of 4,294 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

check in was fine. we had booked a family room but there was no bedding for the fold down bed, had to ask reception twice, it eventually arrived after my daughters bedtime. had a snack in the bar and they forgot to bring two of our meals. The staff were very apologetic and offered to order more but as it had taken so long to arrive we just got a refund as we were wanting to go swimming and children are only allowed in the pool until 7pm.
the breakfast was ok, plenty of choice.
We have stayed at many village hotels as we usually find it good value however, herons reach did not live up to our expectations on this occasion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam_tal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Ok so not quite literally, but I have stayed here 2 or 3 nights a week since July 2012 so it feels a bit like a home from home. Key plus points
+ The staff always have my card ready for a quick check in, with a smile.
+ The combination of Starbucks, bar, other quiet sitting areas offer a choice of environment.
+ Bar usually has some atmosphere. With Sky football, locals pop in after the gym.
+ Bar food appears limited but staff are happy to mix and match anything on the menu.
+ Pool and gym offer a great place to unwind before hitting the the bar, decent range of beer.
+ Overall a really friendly comfortable environment.
Only a couple of grips
- Italian restaurant was to up to much until recently, new chef so may try again.
- Double doors at front make lobby very cold in winter, this really needs sorting.
Recommend any business traveller gives it a try and it's always popular with the tourists in half term and summer who surprisingly, don't get in the way but just add a bit of atmosphere.
Tim Pearson
Feb '13

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timinknutsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

we got this deal through groupns so cant moan to much as it was only 117.00 for 2 nights bed breakfast and eveing meal on first night. only stayed 1 night though, the food is awfull had the carvery the starters were watery and on a round table under a chandellier ,dont no how they get away with that with the health and safty.The breakfast was o.k The rooms are quite nice bed really comfy.the staff nead a lesson in smilling and customer service one nice girl on reception the staff in the starbucks in there are really friendly.The outdoor pool is nice and warm the steam room and sauna were out of order so couldnt use them. a lift was out of order and get this even tables were out of order in the pub bit.Dont think we would stay there again all the village hotels seem the same now going down hill ok if you need a bed for the night at cheap price

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deniseLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Booked two rooms, bed, breakfast and evening meal at Herons Reach for a family get together - accommodation was just ok - looked a little tired but clean and the leisure facility was excellent with knowledgeable staff. However, the food was very poor - the evening meal proved disasterous - restricted to a carvery which looked to have been 'under the lamp' since lunch and most unappetising ! The breakfast was just about ok but not very hot and the crockery had a grubby / sandy surface. The situation was drawn to the attention of the hotel reception on departure who promised 'to let the Chef know'. On return home did e mail the hotel chain at head office and to date, not even an acknowledgement.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeODerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a good hotel. The rooms are modern and comfortable with everything you need for a stay of a couple of nights. The leisure facilities a fantastic with a superb gym and indoor pool. We weren't there long enough to sample treatments though and it was far too cold to venture out to the outdoor pool even though the steam rising from it told us it is heated. The best bit is the Italian/American restaurant Beppo's. What great surroundings.
But, what about some forward planning Mr manager? Around 150 of us were there for a charity event on the Saturday evening so you knew the hotel would be busy. The wait just to book in was very silly with the queue stretching out of the front door and almost down the steps outside. Two reception staff were inadequate. Same at Beppo's for breakfast. My wife waited twenty minutes for some bacon and sausages to be cooked and some of the people in the queue simply had had enough and lost it with one of the members of staff. Get a grip.
Could do better.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank standleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Met with another couple so men could golf and ladies shop. The guys had found an exceptionally good deal, for dinner, bed and breakfast and a round of golf for 2. Because of the excellent deal, we had the basic room, similar to but not as good as a Premiere Inn room. The bed was good, but the pillows were dreadful, there was no mirror on the dressing table /desk (Our friends did have a free standing one provided), the lighting was poor for all purposes. It was also very difficult to set the heating and ventilation, maybe if we had been there longer we would have found a way. On arrival, the room was cold. During the night, it became too warm and airless, so we did not have a good nights rest. The bathroom worked and was adequate.
There was a separate menu for those on the special deals or there was an allowance against the A La Carte menu. The food was of "pub grub" standard both in the choices offered and preparation, but that said, it was OK. Breakfast was self service with a good selection of items. At both dinner and breakfast, the service was good, all the staff encountered were friendly and efficient.
We did not use the pools, but they were attractive and well used by all age groups. The golf was excellent, unfortunately Blackpool does not have good shopping facilities and the town is rather run down and uninviting.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyGB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,332 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#9 of 73 in Blackpool
916 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,424 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $60 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing