We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Reviewed February 19, 2013

stayed for two nights with friends hotel was nice but evening meal let it down. The beef was over cooked veg dried out potatoes not cooked not much choice on salad bar waited ages for drinks. Did complain and asked for the manager but never came. Following night went in to Victory Bar another let down ran out of steak and ribs. Ordered scampi that came burnt others in party ordered fish that was not done chips hard. Staff said it was down to new chef from Poland who did not speak English. Front of house staff very nice and helpful asked for manager again but still no show. Pool and gym could not fault it shame about the food

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,639 - 3,645 of 4,106 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked this hotel for valentines weekend as a group on and was absolutely over the moon from start to finish.
The lady on reception was excellent, friendly and a pleasure to see.
We up graded to the upper deck and couldnt of been happier, the bed was immense, the television and sky movies excellent. The view of the golf course was lovely.
We were booked in for evening meal at 6.30pm and arrived slightly late, which was not a problem for any member of staff, we were seated quickly and our drinks order was taken, unfortunately the drink which i wanted wasnt available so a replacement was given, free of charge.
Our meal arrived quickly, I must admit, some of the food was not the best that have ever tasted, but again not the worst, it was hot, well presented, served quickly. The staff were pleasant.
We had the most relaxing stay in the most comfortable bed and in the morning enjoyed a delicious breakfast. If I had to complain about anything it would be that there wasnt any cheeses or meats with breakfast, but this is only because i do not eat a cooked breakfast.
We were amazed with the hot outdoor pool, wow. We felt like we were on holiday.
We instantly looked on our departure for the next time that we will be able to visit again.
I really cannot understand the bad reviews, Im not sure what people actually expect.
Well done Herons Reach and all the staff.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upper deck to experience luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0l2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

booked for two nights 16/17 feb 10 min wait to get booked in then there would be getting in after a coach party !!!

booked upper deck room which was very comfortable enjoyed the sky tv, bose ipod dock and the view of the golf course was great well for me anyway the bed was very comfy had a very good nights sleep.

bathroom was a bit small but i found this made it more cozy.

food :- didnt eat in restuarant due to bad reports but ate in the victory pub on site it does have a limited menu but depending on how fussy people are they should find something eat be it pizza burger or scampi or may be a club sandwich the food in the victory was enjoyed by
us both and we would certainly stay again we have stayed in de vere villages before with no complaint and this was no didderent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here for one night. I have stayed at other village hotels, although very similar, this one does have a dark decor (lots of brown). Staff very friendly and helpful, slight wear and tear in places. Facilities (pool & gym) are good. Breakfast was a bit manic, had to queue to get in restaurant too small for size of hotel. Did not eat at the hotel in the evening, every village hotel I have stayed in the evening meal has been very poor. I noticed the comments here have been the same, in fact they are just repeating the same problems as the other village hotels. I really do not understand how this can be! Otherwise, I really like this hotel and would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Was looking forward to staying here but from when we arrived Very poor service and the reception staff was very cocky!! Even though we got it cheaper than it should have been I still dont think it lives up to what we thought. The food was horrendous, veg was burnt and dry and the beef was very dry also!! We will definitely not be staying again! Although we must say the rooms were very clean. The drinks are very expensive also, £3.70 for a lemonade!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozneggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

From the queue at check in from checking out the staff here were definitely not what you would expect from the hotel chain. The upper deck rooms at the extra cost not sure they are worth the extra, especially when there is no Starbucks coffee in the room when this is one of the selling points of the upper deck room, it took 3times to of asking to get the coffee! We ate at the buca restaurant on the first night of the stay, we had a table booked at 8pm the que was 20 minutes to be seated even though booked, and again getting to the drinks and food order was pain full. My main chicken supreme wasn't cooked the chicken was cold and when I left a full plate it was just taken away without question, my partners pizza base wasn't cooked either it had the un cooked dough when sliced. The waitress had a terrible attitude and needed to be trained in customer service and less of her attitude. When we complained about the dinner the receptionist had the not my problem it's duty managers job, and she took the issues and lets say we are still waiting for her to come back to us, not the de vere as you would expect, Cheadle and Farnborough as much better. To say after this experience we never ate in the hotel again during our 2night stay. Other guests had similar experiences.
The fitness suite and outdoor heated pool were fabulous
The victory pub, was a little like a weather spoons, un polished.
This experience will not put us off the group but it has out us off visiting here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cvh1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend booked us in for two nights the weekend of valentines. On arrival the hotel looked lovely and when we arrived in our room everything was so expected, neat and tidy we even had free hot chocolate and biscotti. The gym was nice and spacious with plenty machines. The pool and spa good too. This was all complimentary which was great.

The second night we decided to eat in the Buca Italian restaurant! WOW!!!!! Absolutely appalling. My boyfriend ordered the Flat Iron steak which was chewy and tasteless to say the least. I ordered the chicken supreme which was basically a frozen chicken Kiev! I asked to swap it for a pizza I was that disappointed.

The hotels restaurant branding tricks you into thinking it will be great. Don't be fouled. We stayed t the village hotel in Farnborough which was absolutely amazing and this is probably the reason why my boyfriend chose the same hotel chain in Blackpool.

It didn't spoil my weekend but we will not be coming back for sure - we will continue the rest of our evening in the victory bar!

The Mitchell's :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie_170586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,261 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,376 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blackpool FC Hotel
Blackpool FC Hotel
#10 of 73 in Blackpool
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,245 reviews
2 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
549 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#17 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range: $45 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing