We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall poor hotel for price paid!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Blackpool

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Blackpool
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overall poor hotel for price paid!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me and my friend (both 23 years old) booked 2 nights stay in this hotel as a healthworks spa package. The spa treatment was brilliant and leisure facilities were fab apart from that it was poorer than expected. We are not fussy when staying in hotels/b & b's but thought the de vere would be of been a higher standard than some places we have stayed in Blackpool for a lower price (we was wrong) as mentioned on other reviews the rooms were very dark which we didn't mind too much, There was little niggles such as chips out of the bath which we also did not mind. However the 1st night stay was awful, the beds was very very uncomfortable and probably had 2 hours sleep over the whole night stay!!! we checked out early with a full refund for the second night stay and booked into a B & B which we stayed in last year which was fab :-) The evening meal was disgusting as the food was bland and not as described, drinks were expensive which is expected at these branches but one good thing was the breakfast was nice, however we was unsure whether that was because we was one of the first ones down at breakfast as mentioned earlier we was awake fully by half 5 and was waiting around for management to come in at 9am to refund our second night stay,

Room Tip: We was in a standard twin as there was no twin plus rooms when we booked (I don't know if the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chloemanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    944
    677
    297
    190
See reviews for
777
1,236
83
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Arrived in our room and thought that none of the lights worked then realised they were energy saving and take a while to warm up. However, once they warmed up the room is very dark which is not good when you need to get ready for a night out. The bathroom hasn't been planned very well I had to practically stand in the toilet to get out if the shower and the extractor was useless. I had to clear the mirror to use it as everything was so steamed up and the extractor fan was next to useless. I did like the decor in the room but the lighting needs looking at. Breakfast was ok and there was a good selection but people kept having to wait for items to be topped up. Overall the hotel is nice but just needs a few things fixing to make it upto standard of a de vere hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dixonyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed 2 nights with 1 round of golf.Hotel was very good with all our party of 22 men,no complaints.Rooms very spacious and clean.Two double beds in our twin room.Bathroom very modern with a bath and walkin shower.
Self serve breakfast which was very good with plenty of choice.staff during breakfast were on hand to clear tables.
Hotel was full on the Saturday so all the staff were kept on their toes.
Hotel as a swimming pool and squash courts(we did not use)
The golf course bar was well run and the bar food was ideal for a hungry golfer and very resonable (£3 for a burger)
The only down point was that the golf course was very wet after the previous nights rain.The greens were ok but the rest of the course was very very wet and most of our group were left with dirty trousers.
The course does not drain at all well so keep away if the weather has been poor.
Good deals available for groups but need to haggle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nywlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Room fitted with energy saving bulbs, great but the room is too dark to get in when you first arrive until they warm up. Food terrible, but in fairness part of an event and catering for aprox 70.

Did not like having to go past sweaty squash players in the viewing gallery to get to the bar. Especially as they were quite ignorant and blocked the passage way

On positive it was quite clean and the breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blackpool hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived on a very cold & wet weekend but were greeted with a warm welcome which was the highlight of the stay as the room was dark & depressing & we might have well been staying at a premier inn as we felt the standard of the hotel was not "devere standard". Breakfast was not only extremely busy but the plastic table cloths left a lot to be desired & seeing fellow guests accidentally knocking food onto the floor & then putting back onto the serving table for unsuspecting guests to eat put us off eating from the continental breakfast table. This hotel was adequate but definately not worth the price charged

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Accommodation basic but Ok
Outdoor swimming pool excellent especially at night, lying in warm water looking at the stars is special!
Food in main restaurant is mediocre to poor. But good burgers in bar

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Now a DeVere Village hotel we stayed here 21st October for one night as a couple with one child so we could have a couple of days exploring Blackpool.
The location is perfect for being near enough to the sights of Blackpool but enough distance to get some peace and quiet.
We were given a room on the first floor but was right by the air conditioning unit and was too noisy so we moved to a room at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor.
Room was nice enough and clean but was not huge and we were surprised there were no little extras such as biscuits or toiletries, small things but can make your stay extra special.
Room was also dark with no big bright overhead light, just dull lamps, not great in October!
Staff were friendly enough, and the hotel was clean.
Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice and we didn't have to queue for a table.
We used the pool area which was nice and the Outdoor pool is amazing, like a giant bath!
We were disappointed with the evening meals we ordered in the pub area, the children's meal was awful - pizza but it was tiny and more like a piece of pitta bread with a bit of cheese and ham toasted on top - not worth the money - avoid!
Overall we had a good stay and the spa area and location made up for what the hotel lacks in other areas.

Room Tip: Ask for the front of the hotel unless staying on a Sunday night as the recycling bins are emptied at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklelexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 72 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Blackpool (Beach) Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Blackpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Blackpool

Property: Village Hotel Blackpool
Address: East Park Drive, Blackpool FY3 8LL, England (Formerly De Vere Herons Reach)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Village Hotel Blackpool 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Blackpool is set in 236 acres of Fylde coast countryside, the hotel is the perfect base for a relaxing leisure break with the splendour of the Trough of Bowland and the Lake District only an hours drive. There's all the fun of the Pleasure Beach, piers and Golden Mile just minutes away offering something for everyone. Village Hotel Blackpool has 174 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, 3 Squash Courts, 3 Tennis Courts, Indoor and Outdoor Swimming Pools, Championship Golf Course, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Village Hotel Blackpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Herons Reach Blackpool
Herons Reach Hotel Blackpool
Blackpool De Hotel Vere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing