We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentically Thai”
Review of Boonnak Thai

Boonnak Thai
Ranked #75 of 735 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Authentically Thai”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Thai food nearly always disappoints in the UK; not here.

I like my Thai food to be authentic. This gem in Blackpool delivers.

Take a look in the window-they now have an extra menu of "Traditional Thai" dishes in addition to their normal menu. When you go in they don't give you this particular menu but ask for it.

I chose a starter of spicy beef salad from their regular menu and pork-stuffed omelette as a main course from the traditional Thai menu, with rice.

Thai food is all about balance of flavours and the execution of both dishes was perfect.

The traditional menu adds an extra dimension to this already fine restaurant and sets it apart from its competitors.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    56
    19
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food I've Ever Had”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is turning into my little regular and for good reason, the food, wine and service is A+. If you like Tai, or just good food served with a smile then Boonak is for you. I can personally recomend the Tai Green Curry, the fried ice cream and the white zinfendel Rose wine. A little piece of heaven in the heart of Blackpool.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“In Blackpool for day and really pleased we found this restaurant”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The staff were really friendly and food was lovely. We had the lunch time special and both really enjoyed it. We are looking forward to going back next time we are in Blackpool.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent food and staff couldn't have been friendlier. Had Groupon voucher which provided amazing value. Went for birthday meal and would definitely return. Often eat Thai food and this was faultless. Loved the mixed starter, seafood mains and great choice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JAFFA_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not good!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Normally got to Wah Wah's across the road but decided to try Boonnak instead. None of my party enjoyed their food. Too much oil used in cooking made everything very greasy, very tasteless food (seasoning wouldn't go a miss) and there must have only been a quarter of a chicken breast used between two of us. Complained to the waiter, the manageress then came over to tell us that that's how it should be cooked and then the waitress asked us if we enjoyed our food as she cleared our full plates - charged £49.30 for an early bird special that we didn't even eat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonnakthai, Front Office Manager at Boonnak Thai, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
To be honest Mr Butty Boys

Thank you for your kind to leave this comment for us.Regarding to your main dish you had stir fry noodle as never had complaint anyway we keep you comment to improve in our Restaurant and we have many great choice for you to try if you don't know what you should have about Thai food,let's ask our staff to help and guide you.To have this opportunity explain about you bill,3 person of you group so an Early Bird 10.50x3=31.50 but we not include one main dish that you don't want it so delete by 5.55 total is 25.95 and include one bottle of wine £ 16.95,2 glasses of alcohol mixed drink £6.40 total amount £ 49.30.This is a genuine say.We very impress to serve you group on that day,hope we have next chance to serve you again.

Kind regards

Boonnak Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boonnak Thai also viewed

 

Been to Boonnak Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing