We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend break 18/10/12” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oakwood Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oakwood Guest House
Ranked #394 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend break 18/10/12”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here with my 85 year old mum, Chris and Ken were really welcoming and friendly , gave us advice on where to eat and entertainment to suit us. We asked to stay a extra night and it wasn't a problem. A couple of days after I returned home I realised I had mislaid my diary , the very next day I received an envelope with it in from Chris and Ken , I was really grateful . I would highly recommend oakwood to anyone staying in Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroleady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    7
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
11
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Travelled for a Monday to Friday stay in April with my partner and 3 children. Hope the following review is useful for any potential guests.

HOSTS

Chris and Ken were the perfect hosts nothing was too much trouble. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we were all made too feel welcome. We were offered advice on the local area money of coupons for local businesses etc. They gave that personal touch that alot of places lack.

ROOMS

The rooms provided everything we needed for our short stay in Blackpool. The rooms were very clean provided comfortable and a perfect base for our stay as we tended just to sleep and get ready before spending the day out and about.

BREAKFAST

Well a breakfast at the Oakwood set us up for the day and this is amazing as my kids and myself usually need fed every 4 hours but we lasted until teatime for 4 days. There was a selection of cereals and we were provided with orange juice tea/coffee and a yummy cooked breakfast. The Kids were provided with a special kids breakfast that went down a treat everyday. Also we got enough toast each day to feed an army as soon as a toast rack was empty another was on the table to the point one of the boys was nicknamed the toast monster.

OVERALL

Next time we visit Blackpool there is only one place we will be booking and that's the Oakwood. Love spending time in Blackpool and even better when you come across a little gem like the Oakwood.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimjams_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

The motto Arrive as a Guest and leave as a Friend is very true.
Ken & Chris go that extra mile to make you welcome
Rooms are clean, beds comfy with a good English breakfast to start your day
My third stay and will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#212 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#342 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#460 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,974 reviews
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
BEST WESTERN Carlton Hotel
#36 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Big Blue Hotel
The Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakwood Guest House

Property: The Oakwood Guest House
Address: 18 Shaw Road, Blackpool FY1 6HB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #394 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing