We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely couple and a lovely place!”
Review of Gordene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gordene Hotel
Ranked #80 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed here for the Rebellion festival in Blackpool and they didn't bat an eyelid at the array of spectacular hairstyles on show! An absolutely lovely couple who instantly made us feel welcome from the off. Room was perfect for our needs and breakfast was brilliant! Highly recommend this place to people. Hope to see these guys again next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeonaMcboner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 265 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed at the Gordene Hotel during the first week of August. We were in Blackpool for Rebellion Festival and wanted somewhere that was located towards that end of the town, close to The North Pier and The Winter Gardens. For that purpose this hotel was fantastically located, right near the heart of the town and a short walk without being too close. The Central Pier is also close as well as the pubs, clubs and bars. Like 99% of guest houses in Blackpool there isn’t any parking but literally a 2 minute walk away is a huge car park. Our car was parked there for 5 days and the cost was £20 (you have to pay this in pound coins) and it was safe all during those 5 days.
The guest house itself is ran by Alan and Donna and you really will not meet a friendlier couple in Blackpool, they are attentive but leave you alone, not strict and extremely welcoming.
The room we booked was a double and it was en suite, the beds were extremely comfortable and if it wasn’t for the laws of this country I would have stole the pillow, the best nights sleep I have had in months. The rooms were clean and spacious enough for us. Sink in a corner, toilet and shower in a separate room. The rooms also had TV, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and tea and coffee facilities as well as fresh towels when needed. Oh and a bowl of sweets. Really good room in a quiet guesthouse.
The breakfast was of a really good quality, choice of cereals, juice, tea or coffee, toast and full English, tasted great and cooked by Donna fresh and served by Alan. Again attentive and always ensuring that if you wanted more then you could have more.
All in all a place we would return to, well ran, clean, hospitable and very very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

i took 14 girls upto blackpool on a hen weekend. they didnt stay at the Gordene as they dont take stag or hen does and i was struggling to find somewhere to park my minibus but the owner came with me and found me a spot, very helpful and time consuming, he went the extra mile to sort this problem out, thankyou. the hotel was very clean, the room was warm and spacious, the shower was warm with plenty of pressure... the breakfast was fantastic, lots of choice of cereal, orange juice, coffee and tea, eggs, good bacon, sausage, beans, tomatoes, mushrooms and very attentive, asking if we wanted more of anything. good chinese takeaway around the corner and 5 minute walk to the pictures,,, walking distance to the front... loved the place and will recomend it to anyone... if anybody can find a fault in this place then they are just crazy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdw64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just returned home from 2 days at the Gordene. Donna and Alan were brilliant and made us feel welcome from the moment we checked in. The room was spotless and the breakfasts were great and tailored to what you wanted and not precooked (they even catered for a request for two boiled eggs). Other guests were really friendly too. All I can say is we will be back if Donna and Alan will have us! Highly recommended hotel with the personal touch (even down to the sweets in the room, which Gary raided!)

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lowerash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

just returned from a 3 night stay and can honestly say from the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by both Donna and Alan ( and Donnas mum) they were very friendly and nothing was too much bother to them. The rooms are immaculate and comfortable and were kept well stocked with tea/ coffee etc.
The "full English" was well cooked and presented with endless tea/coffee and toast on offer.
Excellent location with just a short walk to the front and other amenities and far enough away from hens and stags to allow a peaceful nights sleep !!
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Blackpool as i couldn't fault anything really..good luck with your future Donna and Alan...hopefully see you both again next time !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnhay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night, close to Winter Gardens where we attended an event.

A nice welcome and good directions to a nearby car park a few minutes away.

Donna was very helpful the whole time, we had a triple room, was a bit tight but for one night was fine.

Breakfast plentiful and tasty enough.

We went to the Pleasure Beach the next day so checked out early, overall a good stay, the place is family friendly and we heard no noise during our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broooce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just returned from our stay at the gordene with our two children, booked into a family room which was fully stocked with tea,coffee,biscuits and sweets for kids,room was cozy and clean. Breakfast was lovely and overall place was clean and tidy. We found donna very pleasant and easy to approach and lovely to talk to and contrary to what we had read in a previous review we found Alan to be nothing less than charming,polite and very friendly. Both donna and alan were great with the children. Would we come again-certainly! Ps little ellie says hello

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannanadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#90 of 861 in Blackpool
92 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trentham Guest House
Trentham Guest House
#44 of 861 in Blackpool
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westbourne House
Westbourne House
#28 of 861 in Blackpool
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Arlingtons
Arlingtons
#26 of 861 in Blackpool
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#6 of 861 in Blackpool
797 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grange House Hotel
Grange House Hotel
#59 of 861 in Blackpool
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gordene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gordene Hotel

Address: 7 Havelock Street, Blackpool FY1 4BN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: $62 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gordene Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gordene hotel, open all year for bed and breakfast in central Blackpool. A warm and friendly guest house catering for couples, families and senior citizens. ( no stag & hens or single sex groups). LOcated in central Blackpool, close to Blackpool Tower, Winter Gardens, Sealife Centre, Hounds Hill Shopping centre, the beautiful promenade, with its brand new comedy carpet.All prices include breakfast. All rooms are en-suite, they each have tv's with free view, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities, iron & ironing board, alarm clock. Linen and towels included.We have a licensed residents bar open daily fom 7pm, serving a range of drinks and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gordene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing