We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”
Review of The Lonsdale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lonsdale Hotel
Ranked #86 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best B&B”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in late May 2013. We had a gorgeous king size room with the room opening out to a deck which meant we could look down towards ocean. The decor in our room & the rest of the B&B was amazing (probably one of the nicest we stayed in during our 6 week holiday) and very quiet with no internal noise. The breakfast was very tasty. Both Steve & Carl were very friendly hosts and more than happy to offer advice on local restaurants and attractions. Great having a secured car park as well.

Room Tip: Edwardian King Size room is very spacious with deck looking down street to waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
171
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Steve and Karl's hardwork is easy to spot from the beautiful and spotless interiors to the effortless service. All I can do is echo all the other reviews and advise anyone thinking of booking to book quickly to avoid the disappointment of missing a gem.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WiganPettit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Spent 3 nights with Stephen and Carl in June on review recommendations thru Tripadvisor. Believe me everyone is telling truth and more about this wonderful residence. The hosts just know how to go that "extra mile" effortlessly. Our room was amazing. From the little extras: fridge, ice, iron, board, wine glasses, fan, cd player/radio, hairdryer, biscuits, hot chocolate, Tea, Coffee, fab fluffy towels and toiletries. If that's not enough there's more! Private large balcony with furniture, plants and view of the sea. AND if that's not enough there's still more! On arrival your car is whisked away to a private garage, luggage taken to your room and all this less than 2 mins to the seafront!!! I could go on and on, so I will ! Breakfast as the best ever. Every mouthful was full of flavour and cooked to perfection. The hotel décor is superb and likes others have commented on that grand piano is fabulous, especially when Stephen plays so professional. I could be here all day but must leave some mysteries for other guests to enjoy - and believe me there are many more! I cannot wait to return to this hedonistics haven. Recommend, recommend, recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetly United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The best B & B I have ever styed in. The hosts, Carl and Stephen , couldn't do enough to help us. The breakfast was great. The room was luxurious and very comfortable with all our requirements catered for. The hotel decor was wonderful , with a fantastic 100 year old Grand piano as a centerpiece. When we stay in Blackpool again , this will definately be where we stop!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Just arrived home from a fabulous three nights stay in the beautiful Lonsdale, our second visit here and it was every bit as wonderful as the first time. We would like to thank Steve and Carl so much for their first class hospitality from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. They are two perfect gentlemen unrivalled in what they do with such good grace and manners too.
From the moment you walk through the front door all you will see is just exquisite decor everywhere with a warm and cosy atmosphere. The rooms are stunning, immaculate and spotless. Breakfast is delicious the location couldn't be any better it is simply just perfect in every way.
Anyone visiting Blackpool must visit here you would be mad not too. We feel so lucky to have found this hotel and to have met the fine owners, can't wait for a third visit.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

First time staying at this hotel, Karl and Steve were amazing.. Very attentive and very, very warm and welcoming... We stayed in the regency room and it was very comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean... Breakfast was superb!... Secure parking... Will be going back... Definitely recommended... Would win "4 a bed" hands down (channel 4 TV programme!) Alex Politski would grin like a Cheshire Cat if she visited this hotel... Thank you to Karl and Steve....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at this lovely hotel and cannot recommend it highly enough!
Before booking I read many reviews which mentioned the decor, cleanliness and friendly welcome and was delighted to find that every word was true.
From the minute we pulled up outside the hotel Stephen and Karl could not have been more welcoming. They made us all feel that we had come to stay with friends, especially as they asked our names when we arrived and then used them throughout the weekend - a small thing but important to us.
We were shown to the secure car parking where we left our car safely for the weekend. Karl carried our bags to our rooms which were beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, as was all of the hotel. Everything was of a high standard, thick plush carpets, antique furniture, crisp white sheets, luxury curtains, large bathroom with a well lit mirror - great for putting on makeup!
The dining room was also beautifully decorated and thoughtfully laid out for breakfast with everything of a very high standard. The breakfast was delicious and just the right amount. The high quality of the food they buy was obvious, even the bread for the toast was not just the basic 'no frills' variety which we have had in most of the hotels we have stayed in.
Throughout the weekend Stephen and Karl were the ideal hosts, friendly, helpful, interested in our plans and whether we had a good time.
We have stayed in large hotel chains and also other small hotels, and I would have to say the Lonsdale is the best. It has lovely rooms, it is beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean, everything is of a very high standard, but above all Stephen and Karl are brilliant hosts and made us feel like friends coming to stay in their house. We have all had a wonderful weekend and would recommend this hotel to anyone holidaying in Blackpool.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimst281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
Tiffany's Hotel Blackpool
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
1,516 reviews
2.5 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#16 of 69 in Blackpool
982 reviews
0.1 mi away
De-Lovely
De-Lovely
#77 of 858 in Blackpool
444 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Edenfield Guest House
The Edenfield Guest House
#78 of 858 in Blackpool
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lonsdale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lonsdale Hotel

Property: The Lonsdale Hotel
Address: 25 Cocker Street, Blackpool FY1 2BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lonsdale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing