We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveler rating
112
119
75
49
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
119
75
49
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews booked through blackpool promotions free travel pass mystery hotel central hotel mon fri new carpet food was lovely hotel staff every evening staying at this hotel coral island beans last weekend bar prices couldn't fault single bed see you next year
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 410 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2017

Stayed here for the one night and was quite satisfied with what we got. A friendly welcome at reception for a start. The room was nothing special but did the job. It was clean and had facilities such as TV and kettle. During the afternoon there is a drinks promotion which is great value. The bar area is quite spacious and in the evening there was entertainment which I wouldn't describe as classic but it was good enough to help the evening pass by. The breakfast was good and there are plenty of staff on hand to help. All in all I thought it was good value and I would return

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank HorseOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you very much for your excellent review. We are all thrilled to learn you had a great holiday at the Royal Alexandra. We are pleased you were comfortable in you found our daytime promotion to be of excellent value and it's really great you enjoyed our nightly entertainment - we have some fantastic cabaret artists visiting us throughout the season. Thank you for your comments on our breakfast - we will pass on your comments to our restaurant team who i'm sure will be delighted with the feedback. Thank you once again for your review, it means a lot to us - we'll look forward to welcoming you on a future holiday to Blackpool, best wishes

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Firstly ,this place could be a metaphor for Blackpool itself...
Tired... rundown neglected.....
Having said that you have to put it into context...we paid £100 for 4 nights / 5 days DBB basis with us driving down ourselves...and the hotel gave us free travel passes for Blackpool Transport (face value £4.50) so basically £15.50 per night per person.....

The B and B (its never a hotel in a million years) is ideally situated and the staff on the whole are fantastic and very helpful...but they are fighting a losing battle Im afraid.
We had a family room.....allegedly its one of the 'refurbished' rooms...which made us wonder just how bad the unrefurbished rooms must be!
It wasnt great...main points were the room wasnt very clean...( the shower cubicle had been given a cursory wipe down ) but there was still soap stains and hair on the top of the shower unit when I got in...pretty manky to be honest...and I found last years price list covered in dust ontop of the wardrobe unit....housekeeping isnt the best if Im honest.
Also, a wee note to the hotel.....who ever your maintenance guy is , you want to bag him...Ive never seen wet walls in a bathroom so badly fitted and Ive just did mine in my own house and Im not a joiner! Also the fit of the door and the frame was outrageous, both the toilet door and the main door...and no lock on the toilet door! ,!! again wee daft things that somehow made the room feel pretty rotten.
The breakfasts are ok although on the small side...evening meals were on the whole good and the staff kindly gave our wee boy something from the menu each evening which was nice.
There was entertainment down in the basement bar every evening....Im not entirely sure why this was as no other b and b in the street had anything on...but suffice to say it wasnt our cup of tea and while we can appreciate that it might appeal to a different clientele why did it have to be so loud when there was only a handful of people there?
The woman on the first night sounded like a AC/DC concert and we could clearly hear it on the top floor at the rear of the building and that was with us asking for a quiet room...which they did do to be fair.
For that reason I would probably suggest its not really suited to families with little ones as it does go on quite late into the night.
Overall I wouldnt return to The Royal Alexandra as its just too tired and rundown and not really suitble for children but for the money we paid it was acceptable for a wee cheap break.
We booked through Blackpool Promotions.....as a 'mystery hotel deal'......for future refrence there is no mystery....its always The Royal Alexandria if you chose this deal!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Bert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry to learn the Royal Alexandra didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. The Royal Alexandra is our best value hotel and offers budget value for money accommodation. We do note you booked the mystery hotel deal at £100pp for 5 days dinner, bed and breakfast with a free Blackpool travel pass - this we feel is extremely good value for money and one of the best value peak season holiday packages in Blackpool. I feel you have been mis informed by stating 'It's always the Royal Alexandra' on a mystery hotel deal - on these packages you are allocated your hotel 3 days prior to arrival - and your accommodation can be any of our fantastic hotels featured online. In regards to your newly refurbished family room - we are sorry you were not fully satisfied with your room, as you mention this room is part of our ongoing refurbishments and was recently completed to a high standard - with the Royal Alexandra being at full capacity throughout the summer months and many guests staying in that room - we have not received any previous complaints regarding the standard of accommodation on offer in our refurbished rooms so it is unusual to receive negative feedback however we do thank you for your feedback. In regards to room cleanliness - these matters are usually dealt with immediately once staff are notified, management will always endeavour to resolve any room cleanliness matters promptly - we do apologise deeply as it is certainly not our usual excellent standard, we will speak with our housekeeping team to ensure our usual excellent standard is maintained. The Royal Hotels are advertised live music venues and although we do try our best to provide a good nightly programme for all - we do understand our entertainment isn't for everybody, we are however happy that once notified of your dissatisfaction due to the noise from our cabaret lounge - you were allocated another more suitable room further away. We do hope you will choose the Royal Hotels for a future holiday to Blackpool and thank you once again for your review.

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

No parking for the hotel park in a car park no were near the hotel at a cost of £14 for 12h the hotel smelt as soon as u walked in the rooms are so out dated .
For what we paid the view was of scaffolding and bk of house .will never stay at this place again

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 271dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Dear Guest, we are sad to learn you are not fully satisfied with your recent holiday at the Royal Alexandra. We do kindly ask our guests to please notify us immediately of any issues so they can be resolved at the time - following your dissatisfaction with your room, we may have offered another more suitable room to yourselves should one be available at the time. Unfortunately notifying us after your holiday doesn't give us the opportunity to make right and ensure your holiday is the best it can be. In regards to decor: The Royal Alexandra is currently underway with refurbishment and many of our guest bedrooms are now complete however the remainder of works will be completed over the quieter months. In reference to car parking - there are many pay and display car parks in the area - one being Church Street Car Park which is a 5 minute walk which offers 24hr parking for £8.50. We do hope you will re consider staying with us again in the future, all the best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Stayed here for a week with my family and enjoyed our stay. staff was very friendly, food was beautiful entertainment on night time could be a little better but was ok. Perfect location for everything

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mwaggi_963406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Dear Guest, many thanks for your excellent review - we are very happy to hear you and your family had an enjoyable visit to the Royal Alexandra and it's great you were looked after by our friendly staff. Thank you also for your great comments on our food - Vito and his team in our restaurant will be delighted to hear of your feedback. In reference to entertainment- we do try and provide a schedule suitable for all however we do understand it isn't for everybody, guest feedback is very important to us as it is through guest comments we monitor so we can aim to improve in the future. All in all it is brilliant to hear of your wonderful holiday and we hope you will choose us again for a future holiday to Blackpool, best wishes

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017

This hotel was great the entire staff were brilliant we loved are stay there thank you very much we stayed from 23rd to 26 October entertainment was great breakfast was good the room was good my family really enjoyed staying there

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackpoolPromotions, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Alexandra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for your very kind review - we are thrilled to learn you had a wonderful holiday with us and it's great our staff made your stay so special - the whole team work extremely hard so we're pleased you were well looked after. It's also great you enjoyed our nightly entertainment and found our food to be of excellent standard, thank you so much for your comments. Please do come and see us again soon, all the very best

GUEST RELATIONS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews