We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Withnell Hotel

The Withnell Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Withnell Hotel
Ranked #341 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Withnell for 1 night during the illuminations. We booked 3 rooms. We had a double room with a cot in for our 1 year old daughter and was on the 1st floor. We got around an hours sleep alnight due to the bar being left open alnight. After going down and complaining around 2 in the morning they carried on with there music, singing and laughing and joking until 4.45am then we managed to get a hour or so sleep until 7ish. My sister stayed in the family room which was big enough for 5 but it was really cold so they was unable to shower and the children had to come to our room to get washed and dressed. Breakfast was ok, but items were cold when we got it. Before leaving we complained about the noise and basically was told that because the guests in the bar area until the early hours were regulars and celebrating a birthday that was the reason why this had happened. We were also told that it had happened before. What kind of hotel runs just to please their regulars. After paying£170 we feel we were robbed! We will never ever be staying there again and would advise anybody with families or going for a quiet relaxing stay to stay here. Lack of sleep and a tired baby/children doesn't go down to well in Blackpool!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alw1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
After reading the expected trip advisor review all I can do is apologise once again.
We don't only look after our regulars, we look after all of our guests.
The heating is on in the hotel, if there was a problem with the heating we should have been informed and we would have rectified the situation.
I take on board this constructive critism about the occasional noise from the bar below, we will now not be using this room to accommodate small children when there are occasional celebrations in the bar.
I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay here but as you can see from our other reviews, we do look after our guests and they do enjoy there stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
14
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Prime location just off the Golden Mile and 2 minutes away from the pleasure beach and water park. Greeted with a warm welcome and told to leave my car on the road and the landlord would park it in their locked carpark at the rear, immediately impressed with his skill at parking, very tight space! The room was small but clean with tea/coffee, en suite shower room, wc, sink, wardrobe, bedside table. Bar area again, small but only because of a pool table taking up most of the room. Breakfast was choice of kelloggs cereals, tea/coffee/ orange, toast and full English with good quality Bacon and sausage.

I would stay at the Withnell again because it was well located without being really close to clubs and pubs, although there is a couple within the vicinity the main nightlife is a 10 minute walkaway minimum, good clean value accommodation

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubytuesday0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay , and a pleasure having you all here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This has to be one of the best hotels I have stayed in at Blackpool. On arrival we where made very welcome, the owners could not have been more friendly and helpful, and even carried our luggage to our room for us. The room was very clean and tidy and a good size since there was a group of 5 staying in one room. The location could not have been better as it was right by the pleasure beach, the water park, the beach, and a convenience store right round the corner. Breakfast was fantastic, and as a fussy eater, I was asked what I wanted before hand, and alternatives where given for foods I didn't like. Overall I cannot say anything bad about my stay, and look forward to staying again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Whoever wrote such bad comments obviously went to a different hotel! When me an the girls arrived we were greeted and helped to carry our luggage inside. Very friendly welcome, looked clean an tidy, went to our room which was immaculate, fresh towels, clean linen, clean bathroom! The owners were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast was lovely too, hot, good food! Tea, coffee and orange juice in constant supply. Had a brilliant time an the only bad point i have to make is that we stayed one night instead of two!! Look forward to next year momma blackpool & pops!!! Lv kelly :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellymariepoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Staff wonderful & couldn't do more for you.
For a group of 5 girls all staying in one room for a hen night we were made so welcome and would definatly stay again. How someone can say its filthy is beyond me. They obviously are being ridiculous. For the money you pay and the type of hotel it is you couldn't ask for more for what you are paying. If you want 5 star experience book ya self in to the ritz.
You will not be disappointed here if all you want is a clean & friendly place to get your head down after a good weekend away.
***** lovely

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulu12__x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you so much for this lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is the most filthiest hotel i have ever stayed in. We stayed in room 4. The window ledges were sticky and dusty. The wall paper was ripped. One of the windows had a big crack in it. The headboard was broken. The kettle and cups were filthy. In the bathroom there was a strange slippy tiled ledge you had to stand on to enter the filthy shower. It was so dangerous. The carpet in the bathroom smelled strongly of urine. when the bathroom steamed up there appeared a message on the mirror which proves it hadnt been cleaned.

We thought it couldnt get any worse until we went down to breakfast. The cups hadnt been washed and had tea dreggs and suger in the bottom of them. The side plates had toast crumbs and dried in egg on them and we hadnt even used them. There was a lipstick mark on the filthy glasses we were given for our orange juice.

We will never stay here again and will be taking this further

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kymberliScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
I have already wrote a very truthful comment about this review but it was removed as this individual as sent me and one of my customers some very nasty personal messages through this site, I have reported this and nothing as been done. This individual booked a double room and was shown this before checking in. She appeared happy with it and was given every opportunity to express any grievances at the time, and would have been fully refunded yet chose to wait until her return home to write misjudged accusations.. Furthermore, she can be forgiven for sitting at a table for breakfast which had already been used that morning by other guests but had not at the time been set again.. There were other set tables available but lacking the vision or intellect needed to move to a set table, once again she chose to wait until her return to conjure up paragraphs of hate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the wanderer
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for a weekend thought it was cheap and cheerful but on reflection the next time I visit Blackpool I will stay at a hotel further from the seafront mainly due to the amount of drunken youths and louts causing affray so found that I was having to get back early, admittedly this is no thought of the hotel, as I was on business I was unable to try the facilities so i have give them top marks. the bed i had was way too soft and had a dip in the middle
The room was o.k. as was the ensuite and breakfast but wouldn’t return mainly due to the location

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maxiwills, Owner at The Withnell Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#122 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindene Hotel
Lindene Hotel
#272 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#216 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#345 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#459 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Withnell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Withnell Hotel

Property: The Withnell Hotel
Address: 17 Withnell Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Withnell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Withnell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing