We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B !”
Review of The Howard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Howard Hotel
Ranked #437 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great B & B !”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break with my daughter at this lovely Hotel! It is in a very good position for shops etc bus and tram stop right outside ,very good value , comfy beds, great breakfast ,nice and clean and a real "home from home". I would like to thank the owners for a very enjoyable stay and see you again soon,
Jenny and Jacqui x

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylaceholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small family run hotel on Blackpool Prom, Good position on north shore not to far from town. Only stayed one night as we were attending a function in Blackpool. Friendly hotel, good value, and nice breakfast. We didn't have a sea view room but it was clean and suitable for our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hnt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a night here as I have never been to Blackpool before .As it was a bank holiday weekend lots of places were booked so took a punt on a very reasonably priced hotel thinking it might be awful but it turned out to be a very good choice .
The Howard is a perfect spot for a short stay as it is a short walk to the centre We had a twin room ,clean,comfortable beds etc .The staff were very helpful and friendly and the small bar area meant you could sit and have a drink looking out at the very cold ,grey [in May!! ] sea .
I would recommend it for anyone needing a good, v central base.

Room Tip: I think a sea view room would be good but as we were out it didn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night as my wife and I were attending a birthday party at the nearby Claremont Hotel. On arrival we were met at the door by Vernon the owner and greeted. A very quick check-in, at the same time informing us what the breakfast choices are so that it can be ready for us when we arrived for breakfast.
We had room 6 which is a sea facing room. The room was clean and very tidy. Enough wardrobe and drawer space, a comfy bed and a small but prctical en suite. The room had a tv with what is now the norm in all categories of hotels these days (standard digital channels).
Downstairs there is a small bar which I think is opened on request, which we did, and we had a nice drink while talking with the owner of the hotel. Also in the same area is a nice sun lounge with a tv in the corner, where guests can watch the sun set whilst enjoying a drink from the bar.
The breakfast was plentiful, which included a full English!!!!
Overall my wife and I had a wonderful stay and will recommend it to family and friends.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel over the Easter Break.
The hotel is located on the seafront, and we were lucky enough to get a room with a Sea View.
The room was very clean, the bed lovely and comfy and the room warm.
Vernon the owner was pleasant along with his son Tim, who was around to serve us our drinks in the bar upon arrival. The breakfast was good and on Easter Sunday a small easter egg was presented to all guests, which was a lovely touch.
Will definately return later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is a family hotel and the owners are very friendly and helpful. The bedroom was very small but clean and freshly painted. The bathroom was cosy. The breakfasts were good and plentiful. We had a sea view so good view of lighted trams and illuminations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2012. We arrived on the Thursday evening and were greeted by Vernon, with a smile and a joke. We couldnt fault the hotel. Room clean with plenty of space for clothes etc and warm, which was needed during our stay!! The bed was cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was delightful, you get a choice from full english to cornflakes etc. We had the full english and it was not swimming in grease, and was presented very well,toast is plentiful and coffee etc. Vernon was always on hand to give you travel tips, and places of interest. Parking was right outside, tho we didnt use the car at all during our stay. It is placed well too,just by the North Pier, a tram stop just outside tho the main town is easily walked. We would recommend this b&b to anyone staying in Blackpool, and would go back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah_sheps1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#35 of 69 in Blackpool
3,973 reviews
0.4 mi away
North Ocean Hotel
North Ocean Hotel
#3 of 69 in Blackpool
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#38 of 69 in Blackpool
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parisienne Hotel
Parisienne Hotel
#63 of 69 in Blackpool
662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Hotel
Claremont Hotel
#19 of 69 in Blackpool
1,489 reviews
0.1 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#50 of 69 in Blackpool
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Howard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Howard Hotel

Property: The Howard Hotel
Address: 292 North Promenade, Blackpool FY1 2EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #437 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Howard Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Howard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing